2005 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL 2.5 from North America

Summary:

Comfortable and roomy

Faults:

The driver's seat back came unstapled and was fixed under warranty.

The driver's side tweeter in the A-pillar went out and was replaced under warranty.

Both minor problems at best!

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable. Being the SL model, it has leather, the Bose sound system, and all the trimmings. Both front and rear seats can fit almost anyone and that's saying a lot since this is a "mid-size" sedan! It has nice manners on the road and handles well for an SL model (as opposed to the SE).

The performance is OK from a 4-cylinder (which is the same as in the Sentra SE-R Spec V, by the way!) but the gas mileage leaves something to be desired. The previous car to this was an Olds Intrigue (plagued by problems!) with a 3.5 V6 with 200+ HP and got better gas mileage. This car averages a bit less than 30 on the highway whereas the Olds averaged 31+ on the highway. Its not too bad for a mid-size car, but its got some room for improvement. I guess that's why it has a 20 gallon tank!

Overall, the car doesn't leave much to be asked for. It has good looks, plenty of passenger room, enough get up and go, and the quality of the interior is great.

I would recommend this purchase to anyone in the market for this type of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2005

6th Feb 2005, 08:50

Sorry, this should go into the 2005 Altima section as it is, in fact, a 2005 Altima. We purchased it in April 2004, however.

2005 Nissan Altima SE 3.5 V6 from North America

Summary:

This car is the best value for the money

Faults:

Not a thing!

If there are any complications with this car in the next 3 years the warranty will take care of it.

General Comments:

This car has outrageous power for a mid-side sedan.

It sticks to the road, due to the 17 inch wheels, I assume.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

2005 Nissan Altima S.E. 3.5 from North America

Summary:

Excellent value and no one should be disappointed with this vehicle

Faults:

This car has surpassed all expectations.

General Comments:

The car is rock solid with excellent torque and handling.

Seats could use some side bolstering to keep you more secure.

Mildly surprised that the stock tires perform as well as they have.

I don't understand the reason behind a CANCEL button for the cruise control when an off on button is also available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

29th Apr 2005, 09:24

The cancel button is so that you can resume it again; if you turn off cruise entirely, you can't resume. It is just as if you tap the brakes with cruise on. Hope this helps.

2005 Nissan Altima from North America

Summary:

I would reconsider buying a Nissan.

Faults:

When braking hard car screeches.

When braking hard car also locks and fishtails because front seems heavy and dips low.

Upon stopping at a light, then hitting the accelerator, the car screeches.

Brakes squeak when slowing down.

When driving on rough surfaces, bridges with steel grating, etc. car is uncontrollable. It seems to glide and float.

Overall performance of car is poor.

General Comments:

The new interior is stylish and very roomy.

The built-in antenna in the window for the radio doesn't work well, there is lots of static.

I have owned 2 previous Altimas which handled great unlike the new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

20th Nov 2011, 19:57

What is wrong with your driving that you have to brake so hard? Sounds like you do this often.

2005 Nissan Altima SE 3.5 V6 from North America

Summary:

A stylish 4 door near luxury sport sedan

Faults:

Absolutely nothing the car is pretty much brand new.

General Comments:

I absolutely love the look of this car and the unbelievable power the 3.5 has and the way it handles like it is on rails yet takes most bumps like they were nothing. The interior is also top rate in ergonomics and style and most importantly comfort. Each day I get into this car and take her on the highway it just brings a smile to my face. The stock bose stereo is also good too, but I am adding an external amplifier and 2 subwoofers which will be perfect. I hope to have this car for years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2004

15th Nov 2004, 19:29

Does anyone have any transmission problems? My Altima has 13,000 miles on it and when its cold it shifts really hard. Any time I accelerate to get on the freeway it seems like the transmission slips and jerks really hard. Just wondering if anyone else has had any problems.

6th Dec 2004, 19:01

Hello I wrote the review I have had similar problems, well not really problems. When I get in the car in real cold weather and start up and drive it shifts a little hard (not too bad though), once it warms up its shifts perfectly. I would just take it to your dealer and have them check it out, otherwise I really love this car, I have put on a little over 5,000 miles with no problems whatsoever.