2005 Nissan Altima 3.5 SE MT 3.5 V6 from North America


A poor mans BMW


Car is almost perfect, except for the squeaking from the instrument bezel.

General Comments:

AWESOME, for the money I paid for the car you cannot find something better in a new car.

Acceleration, WOW, I can break every speed limit in the city in 2nd gear.

Handles like a 4 door 350Z.

Gas mileage is excellent.

Car looks absolutely amazing in black on black leather.

The interior is top notch, minus the dash squeak.

Manual transmission is buttery smooth, don't bother with the always inferior auto transmission, and think of the benefits, wife/girlfreind wont be able to drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2005

3rd May 2005, 19:46

1) Please name a front wheel drive BMW. (Minis don't count)

2) That was a very sexist remark. Plenty of women drive standards. (With that attitude you won't have a wife or a girlfriend.)

5th May 2005, 16:58

You are so critical (above). When he says a poor man's BMW he doesn't actually mean it can replace it. Besides BMW is more or less a status symbol since you're most likely not going to be racing down the street over 100mph. And the other part is not sexist. I hate people who say such stupid things. The fact is, most woman cannot drive manual because they do not care and it's a hassle. A lot of guys drive it to fulfill the masculine hegemonic stereotype (meaning it's regarded as manly so guys drive manual in order to appeal to society). Women are not subjected to this and yes I know some women do drive stick. I had to pretty much force my girlfriend how to drive stick in case I'm incapacitated.

2005 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL 2.5 from North America


Comfortable and roomy


The driver's seat back came unstapled and was fixed under warranty.

The driver's side tweeter in the A-pillar went out and was replaced under warranty.

Both minor problems at best!

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable. Being the SL model, it has leather, the Bose sound system, and all the trimmings. Both front and rear seats can fit almost anyone and that's saying a lot since this is a "mid-size" sedan! It has nice manners on the road and handles well for an SL model (as opposed to the SE).

The performance is OK from a 4-cylinder (which is the same as in the Sentra SE-R Spec V, by the way!) but the gas mileage leaves something to be desired. The previous car to this was an Olds Intrigue (plagued by problems!) with a 3.5 V6 with 200+ HP and got better gas mileage. This car averages a bit less than 30 on the highway whereas the Olds averaged 31+ on the highway. Its not too bad for a mid-size car, but its got some room for improvement. I guess that's why it has a 20 gallon tank!

Overall, the car doesn't leave much to be asked for. It has good looks, plenty of passenger room, enough get up and go, and the quality of the interior is great.

I would recommend this purchase to anyone in the market for this type of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2005

6th Feb 2005, 08:50

Sorry, this should go into the 2005 Altima section as it is, in fact, a 2005 Altima. We purchased it in April 2004, however.

2005 Nissan Altima SE 3.5 V6 from North America


This car is the best value for the money


Not a thing!

If there are any complications with this car in the next 3 years the warranty will take care of it.

General Comments:

This car has outrageous power for a mid-side sedan.

It sticks to the road, due to the 17 inch wheels, I assume.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

2005 Nissan Altima S.E. 3.5 from North America


Excellent value and no one should be disappointed with this vehicle


This car has surpassed all expectations.

General Comments:

The car is rock solid with excellent torque and handling.

Seats could use some side bolstering to keep you more secure.

Mildly surprised that the stock tires perform as well as they have.

I don't understand the reason behind a CANCEL button for the cruise control when an off on button is also available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

29th Apr 2005, 09:24

The cancel button is so that you can resume it again; if you turn off cruise entirely, you can't resume. It is just as if you tap the brakes with cruise on. Hope this helps.