2005 Nissan Altima Reviews - Page 6 of 9

2005 Nissan Altima SL 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance97000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

I would buy another in a second!

General Comments:

Very nice car!

It has run well for us through many conditions, and has never had a problem.

The gas mileage is pretty good, and the cabin sound level is very quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2007

2005 Nissan Altima from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Just an alright car

Faults:

Nothing mechanically major has gone wrong with this car yet

However..the paint is VERY cheap and is already flaking off. The transmission has a "skip" to it while shifting between first and second. This has almost gotten me into multiple accidents while driving. If you hit the gas to accelerate there is a hesitation before the car takes off. I brought it to the dealer and they said "they all do that". Also the power window feels as though it is "off track"

I recommend if anyone wants to test drive one of these to really punch it and see if there is a lag in the transmission. The seats are also not too comfortable on long trips.

General Comments:

*Looks nice, and generally rides smooth

*Overall reliable

*Bad paint job

*Transmission lag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th September, 2007

2005 Nissan Altima SL 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong since I bought this car, have been a Honda owner for 20 years, was time for change and have not regretted it.

General Comments:

Likes : Looks, Power, Ride, Quiet.Dislikes: Trans. shift can appear sluggish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2007

2005 Nissan Altima s 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles

Summary:

Not impressed

Faults:

The car will not start.

The car makes a funny smell while driving.

The car was recently towed and stored at an impound. I recently picked up the car after a week and it drove home fine. This morning it would not start and it is the weekend so no dealer to take it to.

General Comments:

It has been a fine car up to this point except the transmission feels like it is slipping when applying the gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st October, 2006

2005 Nissan Altima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance8800 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Enjoyable

Faults:

7500 miles - Flap under front bumper fell off.

8500 miles - Sun Roof Replaced, leaked.

8800 miles - Flap under front bumper fell off.

I am wondering if there is a design flaw with this piece. The Service Dept. says the problem is due to parking near a cement block, but this is not something I do. As you can see, I do not drive much. This has happened to me twice while driving high speeds (60 MPH) on the highway.

General Comments:

I like the car. It has lots of leg room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2006

2005 Nissan Altima S 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I love my altima

Faults:

NOTHING.

General Comments:

I love my Altima. I had a 2003 Honda Civic and wanted a bigger car considering I have 2 kids. I was considering the Honda Accord or Nissan Altima... i just couldn't make up my mind. I love Honda because of their reputation, but Nissan has a good reputation too so I test drove both and the Altima by far I loved. this car is roomy, but like a sports car in the acceleration department. I love my Altima and have had no problems with it and plan to keep it for a long, long time. anyone considering a mid-size car I would recommend an Altima any day!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2006

2005 Nissan Altima S 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 kilometres
Most recent distance34000 kilometres

Summary:

Overall the car looks like the best 4 door sedan on the road!!!

Faults:

This car slips a fair amount when it is raining or snowing.

The door panels rattle when the music is loud.

General Comments:

My new Altima is great!!!

This is my first car I have bought and I am pleased with the performance, comfort, and looks of the car.

Highway driving is awesome because the ride is smooth and it has lots of power.

Overall this car is sporty and has luxury for the amount it costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2005

2005 Nissan Altima from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous cartoyota solara

Faults:

I found a solution for the Altima where it won't start if you shut down the engine within 30 seconds.

Since, all of the fuel (for some reason) isn't burned off in 30 seconds, the engine seems to have excess gas in the engine. So when you shut it off and then come back to it, the engine is flooded with too much fuel. The engine cranks, but doesn't kick over.

So what I did is find some way to force air down the intake. That way air gets into the engine and problem is fixed.

What I did is use a hair dryer that can blow cold air and a plastic bag to connect the hair dryer to the intake. Plus lots of duct tape to tape the two parts together. I had an assistant to do this task. I had him turn on the hair dryer first so it blows air into the engine, and then I cranked the engine. After two tries, the engine kicked over and started. But be careful, lots of air gets sucked in, so your plastic bag may get sucked in also which would be disastrous. Make sure the plastic bag is secure so it doesn't get sucked in. I will not take any responsibility for this idea. You do this at your own risk.

But basically, you need to force some air down into the intake and crank the engine while doing this. It will work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2005

6th Jan 2009, 10:58

Can also pull the fuse or relay for the fuel pump, start the car till its running then put it back in. Turning most cars off within 30 seconds of starting will flood them. Same problem with my Honda, GMC, Mazda and Nissan...

30th Dec 2009, 18:17

I'm not 100% certain with Nissan, but in my Ford Mustang, if I pressed the accelerator pedal to the floor when turning over the motor, no fuel flows from the pump and the motor will simply crank away...

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 33 reviews