13th Jul 2006, 13:34

I am a Nissan owner also I have never owned a Nissan before.

I had several recalls on my car, so I too took my car that morning to the Nissan dealer. My appointment was at 7:30 I never had any problems since I had the car until I took it back for the recalls. now my service enginge light is on. the car putt putt, hesitates to crank, the hand is going to the over heated system. I tried to contact the nissan dealership. they told me that it would cost me to get anything fixed. also the fumes are strong and to top it of I had to sit from 7:30 to 2:30 that day. they kept offering me popcorn and soda, or I could walk down town to get something to eat. okay it was one of those 90 degree days okay, but what I am trying to say is that no problems until I took that car for recalls so the problem is on them.

13th Jul 2006, 15:14


It should be noted that as the guy in the earlier post suggested, the problem with your Nissan is A FAULTY SENSOR. Nissan has issued a recall of this sensor.

29th Jul 2006, 19:13

I own an 2003 Nissan Altima 2.5 S. Last week the service engine soon light appeared. Upon a diagnostic by AutoZone, I was informed that I had a bad thermostat. I changed the thermostat, reset the ECU, and the service engine soon light is still on.

I had AutoZone run another diagnostic, this time trouble code PO1102 is appearing.

Does anyone know what this trouble code is for, and what the fix is?

Thank you in advance.

11th Aug 2006, 01:38

Hey Guys. I need some help..

My vehicle has about 42k miles, it's a 2003 3.5S Altima.

I went out on lunch and came back.. Trying to crank the vehicle..

The vehicle wouldn't start. I ask somebody to jump it, which they did and still the vehicle wouldn't start. I left the car outside. I do all my maintenance on time.

I need some help. Please email me at.. Is Nissan going to cover the repaire cost?


6th Oct 2006, 07:34

I recently purchased a 2006 2.5 special edition with 8 miles on it.

We have about 1500 miles on it right now and it's doing the hard to start thing. what a pain. my wife is going to take it to the dealer today so hopefully they can figure this out since it appears to have been a problem for a while.

Definitely didn't expect this to happen with only 1500 miles on it.

17th Oct 2006, 13:23

I own a 2003 Nissan Altima and have brought it back for all the recalls listed here; had the issue with the cold start/New Jersey. The check engine soon light came on and was told that it was due to me waiting until the car was on E to fill it up with gas. I have to drive it anywhere from 17 to 25 drive cycles for it to go off. I had to take the car in for inspection, it passed everything except for a rear light AND the service engine light. I explained it to them, they said to fix the light, come back and indicate it is due to a drive cycle and it should be fine. I went to Nissan and they want to charge me 90.00 to run diagnostics on it. I went to the Quick Oil Change place, ran a quick diagnostics (for free) and found it has a high rpm/idle... Any way to have this fixed?

19th Oct 2006, 11:57

I have a 2002 3.5 Nissan altima which has had regular maintenance and recalls taken care of. I just took the car to a Nissan service for yet another recall (rear sub frame), until this point I had had no trouble with the car now it will not start, and I have to have it towed to the service department that I believed caused the problem.

9th Nov 2006, 08:11

Well that set! My 2002 altima 2.5s is dead; 130 K

The dealer says I need a new engine. 1 cylinder is dead!

I am still paying for the car every month $450

Nissan won't pay for it; they already charged me $250 to let me know that the computer comes back with 8 false errors!!

I have NO money left to fix it! THANKS NISSAN for selling me a piece of crap!

26th Nov 2006, 11:09

O.K. so here my wife and I sit. 10 hours from home on Sunday of Thanksgiving weekend. This time, my 2003 Altima won't even crank over.

I have had a laundry list of items with this car. The "flooding" issue at least 6 times, of course, the dealership denied anything being wrong. I have had faulty alignments with my tire rotations, of course, the denied any fault.

Now, two hours into our trip home, we stop at a gas station for 10 minutes, just to come out and find that the car is DEAD. I has to be a computer issue because all of the cars functions before were fine. Turn signals were fast and bright, radio, heat...etc. So, wouldn't I have noticed if there was a problem with the alternator? Oh, and to top it all off, I just had a 100 point inspection and they said everything was in tip top shape. With the exception of replacing the sensor recall. What a coincedence that this happened right after they did that.

All I can say is I cannot unload this car fast enough.

13th Dec 2006, 07:49

I have a 2006 Nissan Altima that I bought in July. I have less than 10,000 miles on a new car and it will not start. It was fine Monday when I moved it in the driveway. Tuesday morning it was dead. It is at Nissan now. Hopefully it will be an isolated event.

14th Dec 2006, 19:37


I had today the recall for sub frame. What was the issue, knows anybody??

I have 170000 ks in it. Sometimes check engine comes on and off, but car runs well and gas mileage is OK also.

Code says O2 sensor to replace what can b possible at this mileage. One ABS sensor was replaced recently ~400 CAD with installation.

So hopefully will run another 100000km.

Good luck to all you guys!

22nd Dec 2006, 22:38

I have a 2002 Nissan Altima Se I stared having problems a year ago. whenever the car is idle for more than about five hours I have to let it run before I put it into drive, if not it won't move when I pressed the gas and when it does it slams into gear this car sucks anyone looking to purchase it.. LOL.

31st Dec 2006, 04:09

Hello everyone. I have an 03 S. That 2 years after purchasing has nothing, but problems.

The recall for the Cam and Crank Sensor is not for 2003 and up models. When changing the Cam sensor... you must change the Crank sensor at the same time.

The problem with this car... is the engine monitoring system. Not only do the sensor wreck havoc on the engine... other components (engine) are to blame also. Watch out for that pre-cat... It will break down before 80K depending on driving habits. That is my opinion. I feel that my pre-cat is the main problem leading to all the problems I have had with this vehicle. A clogged pre-cat will change the way your car runs. My first problem was the shuddering, and the car shutting off on the freeway driving 60mph. The sensor (X2) replace worked for a while. The damage had already happened. Had to have #1 cylinder replaced. Soon after the sensor problem... my pre-cat at the O2 sensor suddenly had a leak. Tons of P0300, P0138 error codes. Changed spark plugs, oil and maintained my coolant level. Every now and then the coolant or oil would be low. The engines temp had gone up. The car ran at a much higher temp than before. The car was totally out of whack! Countless trips to several dealerships... resulted in no remedies. It felt like I was teaching the techs!

Nissan OEM Header repair is a costly repair. And does not give you any more performance than you had before. So I replaced the headers. For the same price got tons of performance around the 3k to redline range also a more responsive accelerator.

But now... I am getting a puff of white smoke every now and then when starting the car after it has been driven for several miles. I'm sure I have a leak. And need to replace the head gasket. Which is way too costly for me.

My remedy to all of you that are experiencing the same problems is... if you can, get rid of the car. Unless you do not mind fixing the car every year. If you own a Nissan Altima, you will be experiencing this at some point during ownership. Unfortunately... I have put quite a bit of money into this vehicle and I am not sure yet if I want to get rid of it. I have a lot of aftermarket parts installed after losing faith in Nissan's ability to remedy problems. Unfortantely for us 2003 owners... there are not too many recalls for our problems. Not enough people complain about what is happening to them. The sensor recall stops after 2002. 2003's have the same exact sensor problems, pre-cat problems as previous years. Nissan knows... I will never buy another Nissan vehicle again. I'm somewhat of a gearhead and do not mind servicing, customizing vehicles, but this is too much. Every several weeks something becomes a problem for me. And has nothing to do with aftermarket parts.