2003 Nissan Altima Reviews - Page 16 of 17

2003 Nissan Altima SE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1100 miles
Most recent distance19200 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great value and dependable

Faults:

Only problem I had was the brake rotors needed resurfacing at 7,000 miles - covered under warranty.

General Comments:

This car is a sleeper. Aside from the engine which is a thrill, it is a very roomy and comfortable vehicle.

Reliability has been excellent.

A great value for us - $23,800 purchase price (with an extended full coverage warranty with no deductible) and 0.9% financing!

Overall gas mileage is 23.

Our only complaint is the requirement for premium unleaded. The same engine (with higher horsepower & torque) is in the Maxima and it requires regular unleaded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

8th May 2005, 07:41

I had to take my 2003 Altima in for warped rotters two times already -- both times 6 months apart. Both times were covered under warranty, however, I was told that the next time this happens the warranty will have run out. The service techs suspect it will happen again. I was told this was unexpected and isolated. I only have 32K miles on it. I would not buy another Nissan.

17th Jan 2006, 20:10

I have an 02 maxima, it will not run correctly on regular fuel. Midgrade is a minimum in the car. Runs terrible on regular. Awesome car though, worth every penny.

2003 Nissan Altima LX 2.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Nissan has a winner

Faults:

Musty smell from the ventilation system when on defrost. Purchased some Wynne's spray to kill the smell and or mildew in the evaporator.

General Comments:

Better performance than our '01 Accord.

Very comfortable for my tall frame. The telescopic steering wheel really helps. I can have the seat right back and pull the wheel back for a comfortable driving position.

Good fuel economy.

Roomy interior and trunk.

Quiet on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2005

2003 Nissan Altima 2.5 s 2.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance59700 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Troblesome vehicle

Faults:

OEM tires- Continental contact touring totally unacceptable after 25,000 kms... poor traction, high level of road noise.. replaced at my own expense.

Engine started consuming copious amounts of oil- as it turned out & after 2 months Nissan Canada replaced the entire engine- including manifolds

Cloth interior very low quality.

Manual shift linkage is not tight compared to earlier & cheaper vehicles I have owned.

General Comments:

Must say that the dealer- Doner Nissan in Newmarket have been more than congenial.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th March, 2005

2003 Nissan Altima 2.5S 2.5 Ltr 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Ltr 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Very good looks and a pleasure to drive

Faults:

Had a problem starting from cold once only, which seemed to be flooding.

General Comments:

The 4cyl engine is more than enough and a good mix of power and economy.

Driving is enjoyable as it holds the road well, has quiet ride and room like you would have in an Impala, but with better looks and finish.

The stock tires at 20k become poor in the snow and thus purchased top of the line Michelin's which made a big difference overall.

The heating is not great for cold Canada winters and the dealer offered to put in a higher level thermostat, which I am yet to do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2005

2003 Nissan Altima S 2.5L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance37650 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Would not buy another 2003 Altima

Faults:

Car simply won't start.

General Comments:

Vehicle sporadically won't start. It used to be a isolated problem, but it is becoming more prevalent. It doesn't matter if the car sat all night, or if you just turned it off 10 minutes ago. The only way to get the vehicle to start is to pump and flood the engine, and then hold the pedal to the floor, Sometimes this works right away, and sometimes you have to wait 5 or 10 minutes. Back to the dealer 5 times and they can't find any problems. Very uncomfortable feeling not knowing if your car will start in the morning or after work. I feel this may be a widespread problem with the 2.5L engine, but Nissan won't admit it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2005

31st Jan 2005, 18:10

I had the same problem. The car would not start and then after giving the car gas the engine flooded. I had the car towed to Nissan and they replaced all the spark plugs and change the oil and charge me $315 CANADIAN. The spark plugs were not under warranty. They could not find a problem with anything else.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 57 reviews