2003 Nissan Altima Reviews - Page 10 of 17

2003 Nissan Altima S from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

It sucks

Faults:

I purchased my new 2003 Nissan Altima in August 2002.

I took the car in for more than the 9 suggested, manufactured recalls, ranging anywhere to cold starts to emissions problems.

January 2007, I was driving my car about 65mph, and the car just shut off completely. Needless to say that could have caused major bodily harm to myself or another motorist. And the only resolution I've been given by Nissan is that I need a new engine at my expense of $5000.00.

General Comments:

2003 Nissan Altimas have bad engines that need to be addressed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2007

31st Jul 2007, 10:31

Have you had any resolution? The same thing has happened to me!

2003 Nissan Altima 2.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33174 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

The car just lost power with my wife driving down the road. She had to get out and push it to the side of the road with my 8 year old steering. When I got there it started, but since it had died and the service engine soon light was on, we decided to take it to the Nissan dealership that night. I was driving it across the intersection to enter the dealership and it died on me. Scary! The dealership called the next day and told me that it had 2 recalls, the headlights and the ECM reprogram. The problem with the ECM could cause the car to loose power and crash the guy said. Only problem was that they said my CAM & Crank Shaft sensors had to be replaced?? Even though my car only has 33,174 miles it was 3.5 years old so not covered. Cost me $213. I filed a complaint with Nissan and got a call back from some Tech type guy who was very sorry for the problem, but Nissan could do nothing since the ECM recall could not cause the sensors to go bad, yea right. He even admitted that they had numerious problems with the CAM & Crank sensors and it was extreemely dangerous. He suggested that I file a complaint with the NHTSA which I did. He said that if enough people complained maybe Nissan would do something. I haven't heard anything back that's why I writing this now.

General Comments:

This car looks good on the outside, but inside you can see where they got cheap. The Altima was not my first or second choice, but it was what my wife wanted. After experiencing what we have and reading a lot of reviews on this and other problems with the 2003 Altima, I wish we had not bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2007

2003 Nissan Altima S 2.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance69000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Worth it if you have a well built one.

Faults:

Driver side mirror casing fell off one day. $160 to replace.

Car only came with one key, dealer wouldn't cut a new one, $164 to replace.

In a previous unknown accident, not claimed by insurance. An estimated $1000 worth of damage done to the rear end. I found out after buying the car, that the trunk still leaked in the rain. $500 to fix.

Centre console latch broke, $1.27 for part, and $27 for labour fees.

The CD player wouldn't properly advance some songs, after advancing, it would just go back to the last place on the previous song.

The interior light would flicker at times when the door was open.

The "I" in "ALTIMA" was missing on the trunk, but all the letters were moved and properly spaced out so it was harder to notice.

General Comments:

A very nice car to drive, and very quick for a 4 cylinder engine, however, too many problems for me to continue putting money into it. I also found the cup holders to be too large. Maybe we don't make our drinks big enough in Canada?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th January, 2007

2003 Nissan Altima 2.5 S 2.5 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Waste of money, more headaches then it is worth

Faults:

My wife bought her first 2003 Nissan Altima and she totalled it 15,000 miles later. The car saved her life so she decided to get another one. BIG MISTAKE.

Well the car now has 82,000 miles on it and it has been a nightmare. Not counting the 5 times the car was in for recalls I have had a number of other issues to pay for.

I have had to put 3 sets of brakes on the car and 2 sets of tires. The exhaust manifold cracked and the catalytic converter rotted out and had to pay $1000.00 for it to be replaced. The alternator is starting to go and that is $600.00 to replace.

Now I have had the Service engine light come on and went to Auto Zone and they said it was the Crank Shaft sensor. As someone stated previously $21.99 to replace well guess what it doesn't fix it forever. now I got the light back on and I am told it is the processor. Guess how much that costs. I am still making monthly payments on the car and it is costing me so much extra. Guess what I am getting rid of this car and am never buying anoth Nissan again. POS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2006

19th Apr 2007, 12:18

I would agree with you. I am currently going through the same problem with my 2003 Nissan Altima. I have had several recalls repaired and right now my Catalytic Converter has gone bad and needs to be repaired. I have replaced brakes several times. This car does seem to be a nightmare.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 57 reviews