2003 Nissan Altima LS 2.5 from North America


This car is VERY economical and fun to drive


Console storage latch broke, but from heavy use.

Center drink hold cover latch broke, but from heavy use.

General Comments:

The style competes with the German manufacturers for MUCH less cost.

The back seat is very comfortable compared to other mid-size cars.

The Altima handles very good.

However, the factory tires made a ping sound when crossing rail-road tracks and such.

Replaced tires at 60,000 miles with a premium brand and model and the ping noise is gone.

The gas mileage is awesome, reaching 34-35 miles per gallon on long trips and consistently averaging 29-32 in city or town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2006

2003 Nissan Altima S 2.5S from North America


I have owned a 2003 Nissan Altima 2.5S for nearly two years without trouble until the beginning of last winter. The car has a hard start in cold weather as many other reviewers have posted. I do mostly highway miles (about 100 per day) I've had all the recall work done and still have this problem. I'd like to know if anyone has found a solution yet? Does synthetic oil really help? My troubles only occur in cold weather. Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th February, 2006

2003 Nissan Altima 2.5 4 cylinder from North America


Nice looking and reliable car


Replaced tires because of annoying sound.

General Comments:

Perfect car very roomy and fast for being a 4cyl it feels like my last v6 I had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

1st May 2006, 18:01

The factory tires on my Altima made a ping sound that was really annoying. I replaced them with Michelin Hydro-edge tires and have been satisfied since. We love our Altima.

2003 Nissan Altima S 2.5 qr25 from North America


Reliable and strong engine


At 25000 miles, had to change front left speaker.

At 60000, replaced shocks and brakes.

If you take care of your car, your car will be reliable.

General Comments:

This car is just great. It's quick and handles very well. I work at a Chevy / VW dealership, and I can tell you this car handles and performs better than many 6 cyl from Chevy, and it's even faster than a 1.8t from VW.

Although the interior is not as refined as the Passat or Jetta, the Altima is way more reliable than any of them. According to Identifix AIS (Automotive Information Systems) for top-notch reliability data, the Altima is a reliable car, and you will find that the Altima is more reliable than even the Toyota Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

2003 Nissan Altima SL from North America


My 2003 altima is a lemon


My car will sporadically not start. When this first happened, my "starter" was replaced. Approximately 3 weeks after that, my "battery" was replaced. The third time, a month later, the car would not start. I noticed a pattern in that when you attempt to start the car; you do not hear anything. All lights flicker on, but no action/start. After about 15 min., later, I am able to move the gear to neutral, after pressing down on the brake, then, the car will start. I have taken it to the dealership and they are baffled as to what is causing this problem or if there is a fix. The dealership also says they have not seen this problem before and have no other occurrences of this happening. I decided to see what I could find out on the Internet and found your web site which will allow me to vent and share with others to NOT BUY A NISSAN ALTIMA. I have always had a foreign car. The ones I have had in the past, Mitsubishi and Honda have been the most reliable and I thought I would upgrade to a Nissan. I bought this car brand new and am very disappointed in this problem. I intend to write letters and do whatever I can to draw attention to this web site, as well as my experience. I hope no one will sit by idle and allow this to continue, if you have experienced the same.

General Comments:

If you want a reliable vehicle, do not buy a nissan altima.

All of my previously owned vehicles have been foreign cars; all, up to now, have been reliable. this is the first time owning a nissan --- stay away from the altima.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th November, 2005

21st Nov 2005, 20:48

I bought brand new Nissan Altima 2005 and my car is having the same problem. It won't start! It only has 9,000 miles and I am having it towed tomorrow morning. I don't understand. My car is having exactly same symtom as yours. Did you ever find out what the problem was?

3rd Mar 2006, 11:43

I drive a 2003 Nissan Altima 2.5s and have also experienced it not starting properly especially in cold weather. If I keep turning the ignition, it eventually starts, but with a high idling rpm- this levels out after a while though. I recently changed the spark plugs and after a few weeks they were as filthy as the old ones. A mechanic friend looked into it for me and he said that this happens because sometimes the spark plug doesn’t fire properly resulting in it being drenched in fuel. He recommends using only top grade fuel. So now I am using the more expensive fuel and will see what happens.

22nd Jan 2007, 20:18

Hey guys.

This was what I was able to find from Transport Canada's web-site, www.tc.gc.ca, or the U.S. National Highway Transportation Administration (NHTSA) web-site, www.nhtsa.gov.

Transport Canada Recall Number 2003171. Units affected: 30132.

2002-2003: On certain vehicles at extremely cold temperatures, moisture in the fuel tank may freeze and form ice crystals. These ice crystals may obstruct the suction opening of the fuel pump which can prevent the supply of fuel to the engine and cause the engine to stop. Correction: Dealer will install a screen at the suction opening of the fuel pump.

Transport Canada Recall Number 20033267. Units affected: 74143.

2002-2003: On certain vehicles, the circuit board for the crank position sensor may have an improper solder joint. This could cause the Service Engine Soon warning light to come on, create a no start condition, cause reduced engine power, or cause the engine to stop running without warning during vehicle operation. Correction: Dealer will replace the crank position sensors.

This may explain the starting problem with 2003 Altima.

Good luck.