Nissan Axxess Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Nissan Axxess from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carNissan Axxess

Faults:

Timing chain was repaired one year by the previous owner who is my brother in law at a cost of approximately $1000, the next year the timing chain went again and cost us $1000.

This vehicle "ticks", but according to the mechanic this is normal??

The next week the starter went and the cost was another $1000 as they appariently have to lift the motor to get at it.

The only door that works is the driver's side door, the others will not unlock. If you carry passengers, they have to climb over the stick shift, or sit in the back as if they are riding in a cab. This vehicle also loves gas!

I understand that it is a older van and that repairs are sometimes necessary, but this seems to be a very common problem. I would not ever buy an Axxess ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

29th Aug 2004, 21:16

It finally died of a horrible death on the highway - :)

26th Dec 2004, 18:20

I love this van. I also had a bad starter, and I replaced it myself for 60.00. Oh, I did not have to remove the engine. I bought it brand new in 1990, and the starter was the only problem I ever had, other than buying new tires from time to time. This is the best dual sliding door minivan in the 90's.

1990 Nissan Axxess XE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Bargain for a small van, but somewhat unreliable

Faults:

Tailshaft seal broke 60,000 miles.

Timing chain jumped at 85,000; top end rebuilt.

AWD transfer clutch started locking up at about 80,000; lived with it for a while because it only affected tight turns when the tranny was very hot.

Rear struts blown by 90,000; lived with it.

Transmission bearings shot by 95,000; dealer rebuilt and installed a new AWD transfer clutch while it was apart.

105,000 miles: Couldn't stand the bouncy rear anymore; discovered a Nissan dealer in British Columbia that took care of them and a complete brake job for half what it would have cost in the US.

General Comments:

We live near enough to the Canadian border to make it worthwhile to take the car there for repairs and service. The Axxess was sold there through the 1995 model year, but only as a 1990 in the US. Canadian dealers are more familiar with it, and parts and labor are much cheaper.

We like the size and utility of the vehicle so much that we've put up with several expensive repairs just to keep it. It's been paid off long ago, so we've still come out ahead compared to trading it on a new van or wagon, which could easily run to $30K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2001

3rd Feb 2006, 11:59

I share the same history of problems with my Axxess, including a jumping timing chain and a noisy rear end. After 100 thous miles, the engine lost compression and the body rusted out. Rust in the wheel wells makes it impossible to sell. Like this Axxess owner I kept mine for this long because it was inexpensive to operate and very practical. My 1995 is now worth nothing and I no one wants to buy it.

7th Jan 2008, 22:15

Our Axxess has soldiered on for 137,000 miles despite minor accidents and years of sitting outdoors. All wheel drive is terrific, it's fun to drive, totally reliable. All we have had to replace is radiators and tires. One of the best investments we ever made, and still going strong.

25th May 2009, 18:47

I have the same kind of Nissan Axxess 1995. It has 322,000km on it. The only problem I have now is the rear struts are gone. The rest it is running great. I love it.

2nd Jul 2009, 20:52

I am having a difficult time keeping my Axxess on the road; the parts are pricey, and I got mine 4th hand, so it's full of rust.. but I love it SO MUCH... If there were anyone out there willing to part with their Axxess - especially if you have been the only owner, I would like to buy it.

Contact opinionatrix on twitter (my opinionated little sister!)

9th Dec 2012, 18:46

OMG - that's ME Opinionatrix - .... and I am about to buy another Nissan Axxess!

1991 Nissan Axxess from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance251000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Axxess

Summary:

So so, buy with low mileage and sell it soon

Faults:

Key lock on the hatchback.

Automatic door locks on the two rear-seat doors.

A guide that holds the timing chain went at about 242000 km and the car stopped. It cost well over $2000CAD to fix it.

The brake master cylinder went recently.

Fuel pump had a short in it and continued to blow a fuse. Replaced it.

General Comments:

I think this would be a half-decent vehicle up to about 175000 km. After that I would not want one if it were free. It has caused me nothing but headaches. I like Nissan for the most part. But I think they skimped on this model. I will never buy another Axxess.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

10th Jul 2001, 17:48

With that kind of mileage, some things are expected to go. When I buy a second hand car I immediately change the cambelt (or check the timing chain and guides), all the belts, give it a tune, new fuel and air filters, service the auto tranny. No car gets to that mileage without needing any repairs.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews