1985 Nissan Bluebird Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1985 Nissan Bluebird TRX Series 3 2.0L 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good enough to drive home in

Faults:

Master Cylinder seized replacing at 180000.

Original horn has failed.

Seat-belts starting to deteriorate.

Gauges are intermittent.

Car idles exceptionally high (1.5-2k rpm), despite adjusting the idle control.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable, and hasn't caused me too many problems, considering the amount of driving I do.

The interior looks like a scene out of "Night-Rider" because of the array of lights and controls.

Seats are exceptionally comfortable, and the car handles well, especially around corners.

Visibility is good, and the car is easy to drive, despite the lack of power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

31st Jul 2003, 05:04

I do agree with what you say as I myself was and maybe again an onwer of the BLUEBIRD. I find that you must get a good one to have no MAJOR Problems as I had with mine, They are a great choice of car for easy fixing when things do go wrong.

9th Oct 2004, 19:32

I Own 3 bluebirds and they are all absolute dreams,

BUT for this result I have constantly done all servicing when necessary.

1985 Nissan Bluebird TRX 2.0 Leaded petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Leaded petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Right for it's time

Faults:

Starter Motor replaced after first 6 months of ownership.

Alternator Brushes worn out 1996.

Clutch, Master & Slave Cylinders replaced 1997.

First cracked Cylinder Head 1997. Rebuild included rings.

Carburetor Gaskets replaced 1997.

Second cracked Cylinder Head 1998. Rebuild included rings.

Third cracked Cylinder Head January 2003. Rings not replaced. Doing all works myself, this time.

General Comments:

Car came standard with 60 series 15 inch tyres, and alloy wheels. This has been great for my cars handling.

Prudent purchasing of Tyres during my time of ownership, has probably helped.

The seats offer fantastic comfort, I have travelled up to 14 hours, with breaks of course, and have been mostly comfortable.

The sound system has over the years needed maintaining, speakers work sporadically.

The 'Star Wars' style instrument panel, while visually pleasing at night, I find readings to be sometimes unreliable, particularly the Fuel Level Gague and Alternator Charge Rate. I am thinking about buying regular gagues to install separately, can never have too many gagues.

The Air Conditioning, Yes I have it, does it really make a difference? Yes I use it mainly to unfog my windscreen. Anything more than that on hot Australian Summer days, it does not measure up.

The Engine could use some more of the power that was derived out of it's inspired racing editions.

Trim and Interior, generally speaking quite good for the cars age, 18 Years Old. Interior door handle surrounds are beginning to crumble, perhaps poor garaging on my part has brought this about.

Headlights / Driving Lights - Were a fantastic addition to this car, I used it initially when purchased to do frequent family visits from Canberra to towns such as Dubbo and Albury. Always traveling at night. Cannot recommend this cars lighting system enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2003

31st Aug 2004, 09:32

I sold my Bluebird TRX back in 2002, after having owned it since new back in 1985 I had put over 340,000km. The car was very reliable, I agree it was somewhat underpowered, a mere 75Kw, one thing I noticed the engine CA20 or 21???, works best with NGK resistor plugs. Any other plugs tend to cause the engine to run rough. I Bluebird brings back many fond memories for me I was only 20 and was the first new!! I'd ever owned.

29th Nov 2008, 00:15

The TRX is obviously the sports flagship of the model and Nissan done a good job of it. The dash is something from another era, but works well with the car (when working!) The interior is really nice and the seats are excellent.

My TRX has been converted to EFI running Pintara parts. As it was injected before I bought it I hadn't noticed what difference it made, but it would be running faster than it did in 85!

It is an good car to drive, but it feels like something is stopping it releasing its full potential.

The CA is a mad engine, which revs quite well when mated to a lightweight flywheel.

Everything works well, but has trouble starting due to a crook fuel pump (from a Pintara).

The coils feel a bit sluggish but overall it is a nice car.

14th May 2009, 19:40

I had a series three TRX for my first car. It was loud so that's all that mattered.

Being my first car, it was manual so it was fun to drive in the hills. I recommend them as they're are are a great looking car and affordable.

The ca20 engine is always underrated due to their performance, but fuel economy is excellent. For normal day to day driving, the economy is perfect, that's all that matters, the roads aren't a race track anyway.

For performance I would recommend a ca18det or sr20 swap. Anyway, if you see a nice TRX that is affordable, consider it. They have nice lines and maybe something that will be be sought after in the future.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews