1989 Nissan Bluebird Reviews

1989 Nissan Bluebird ZX 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired266600 miles
Most recent distance271891 miles

Summary:

Great car, will last for another 20 years

Faults:

Only things that have gone wrong is a leaking shock absorber, flat battery and a Holden Commodore crashing into me.

General Comments:

It has over 270,000 kms on the clock and doesn't smoke or leak. Good condition on the inside for a 20 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2009

1989 Nissan Bluebird GS 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Totally bullet proof and will probably live longer than me!

Faults:

Radiator sprung a leak (wear and tear)

Brake pipes had to be changed (just its age!)

General Comments:

What a brilliant car, I've had quite a few Nissan and earlier Datsun cars, but this is the best yet, totally reliable starts 1st time every time no matter what the weather is like.

Fuel consumption is not that good compared to modern cars, but then it does weigh about as much as your average house! But at least its built to last unlike modern junk!

Very well equipped (electric everything) and very comfortable even after a very long journey, i would trust this car to go anywhere... not bad for a 17yr old car!

Cornering and handling is much better if you fit wider tyres (185/65-14)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2006

1989 Nissan Bluebird LX 2.0 from Finland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance215000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Reliability as it's best!

Faults:

Antiroll bars

Rear shock absorbers (expensive to install)

Front brake cylinders had to be cleaned

Faulty relay

Electric mirrors have broken

Some rust in the body.

General Comments:

I bought this car about five years ago for 3500 euros.

Bullet proof, extremely reliable car. Solid, mechanically very well built car. Runs great in Scandinavian cold winter. Cheap to buy and cheap to run.

Easy to maintain. There is lot of space in the engine room to do minor things yourself. It's a bit noisy on the road and acceleration is poor for a car that has a 2 liter engine (carburetor).

Seats are OK, interior is usual 80's style plastic. The heater is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

1989 Nissan Bluebird LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carToyota Carina

Summary:

Big, comfy and fun

Faults:

Power window mechanisms on driver side died.

Sunroof motor stopped working.

Alternator bearings seized.

General Comments:

Stunningly good old car!

Interior specs make you feel like you're driving an expensive model, but at this age, and THIS price, it's a giggle.

Motorway driving smooth, comfortable and pleasant.

The big hatch can take a lot of stuff, should you need it.

BIG seats with rear split ones that RECLINE!

It's a real BLUEbird, with blue interior and navy blue paint job... not the natty silver ones, but like someone else said... no-one's gonna nick it, are they?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

1989 Nissan Bluebird LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance107500 miles

Faults:

Clutch needed replacing this year.

Alternator light has been on for the last two years, and the garage cannot fix it. Problem is with alternator, not the light.

Occasional preignition problem over the last two years, again no garage has been able to resolve.

Exhaust needed replacing this year (end fell off)

Aerial replaced this year.

Rear window currently taped up as fallen out of runners.

General Comments:

I adore my reliable Bluebird.

It is probably time to stop spending money on it, but I like it too much. I particularly like the fact that it is so big, and the silver colour looks so striking.

My car is always able to find an extra "hoof" in tricky situations. I feel it has a personality.

I am indeed, a girl.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2003

1989 Nissan Bluebird ZX Turbo 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carTriumph Spitfire

Summary:

Good 80s performance bargain, but watch out for expensive problems!

Faults:

The gearbox has just started jumping out of first gear.

The petrol tank has a hole in it.

I had to get the brake lines replaced along with the very expensive rear brake discs (which have an integrated hub).

Drivers electric window works intermittently, sunroof doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick, that turbo boost is fantastic! This also means that the fuel consumption is lamentable, I got about 25mpg on a good run and usually that was nearer 20mpg.

The car was very comfortable inside with excellent inflatable lumbar and side supports in the drivers seat, the driving position was fairly low and reclined too which I like. The interior is very spacious.

Looking back this car was a bad buy, but I saw somewhat naive in gauging how much was actually wrong with the car. I got her for £250 and have probably spent another £1000 over last 8 months and have now decided to cut my losses and get something, more reliable & practical, but not half as much fun - a ford orion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2003

29th Jun 2005, 04:48

Mr. Jackson, The turbo won't let you down! I bought my all black saloon zx turbo for under £500, they are out there, perhaps you just got a bad apple! keep the rice burning.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 22 reviews