1989 Nissan Bluebird Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1989 Nissan Bluebird LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance87750 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Excellent second hand buy

Faults:

Windscreen wiper linkage failed. This was fixed by removing the linkage, drilling the joints and inserting split pins to hold them together.

New radiator.

Drivers seat a bit saggy.

2 wheel bearings replaced.

New cam belt at 58,000 miles as a precaution.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable but slightly underpowered with a 1.6 engine.

Comfortable.

Bodywork still in good condition.

Cheap to run & maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

1989 Nissan Bluebird GS 1.8 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance78600 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

An excellent long-term investment

Faults:

New windscreen wiper motor.

Two new batteries.

Two new alternators.

Radiator reconditioned.

New petrol pump.

All gaskets replaced.

One stereo speaker doesn't work.

General Comments:

Electric windows and interior still in perfect condition.

Never fails to start!

A doddle to drive.

Don't want a new car (I've had it from new) but it's becoming a money-pit!

Likes to cruise at 90 still.

Still crazy after all these years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

3rd Jun 2004, 05:09

It is interesting that you had to have new alternator, I have just had mine replaced. Also had to replace the radiator earlier this year. I know exactly what you mean, I don't want a new car either, I love my Bird, but it too is becoming a money pit! It's unlikely that I could find a better car for the money I have, but it is becoming a bit tatty. What to do, seems so disloyal to get rid of it.

1989 Nissan Bluebird LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The most reliable car - well worth looking at

Faults:

Absolutly nothing. A couple of services (and that's just 2 in over 40,000 miles), a couple of tyres and some fuel. And maybe a wash or two (no only one!) Brilliant!

General Comments:

Probably the most reliable car that has ever been made. At 183,000 abused miles this thing is still going and it's only got the LITTLE 1.6 engine that does struggle a bit with all that body.

Totally original with FULL service history until I got it. Nothing but the usuals (exhaust etc) have ever been done. Trusting motoring taking me over 300 miles in a light week without a thought. Turn the key and go!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2000

1989 Nissan Bluebird SLX 2.0 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres

Faults:

Nothing special, exhaust replaced, and some other things.

General Comments:

Very nice car to drive, it's not very fast for a 2.0 engine.

The car is very nice to look at, it has that typical '80s look, not like all the cars that drive today with all the round forms in them. And it looks much better than the Primera too!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

1989 Nissan Bluebird GS 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Intergalactic cruiser

Faults:

Window wiper linkage arm broke although very cheap to fix (£10).

MOT spotted CV boots had split (£100).

Nothing else. Service history shows nothing big to report apart from normal wear and tear (brakes etc...)

General Comments:

Extremely reliable and comfy car that is full of toys. Performance could be a bit better but then again the engines are getting on a bit now! Incredibly low insurance (Grp 6) for quite a big engine. This car sniffs petrol such is the great fuel economy! Forget the Escorts and Sierras, get yourself a Bluebird! Though make sure you go for any engine bigger than the 1.6 as I heard this can struggle a bit. If possible go for the later 2.0i or 1.8 turbo either as GSX or Executive guises. Other than that this car is an absolute tank that could probably do more miles than a space shuttle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2000

2nd Aug 2002, 17:08

On my 2nd within 5 years, 1.6 LS & 1.8 GS, old, old motors, but cheap and cheerful transport.

1989 Nissan Bluebird LS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A small car alternative

Faults:

Engine misfiring due to damaged valves - ended up getting 2nd hand/recon engine for bits and pieces. Reason for this, abundant amount of travelling and driving the car hard at high revs!

Typical maintenance, oil change, filter, plugs etc.. Done on regular basis @ 6000 miles.

General Comments:

- Best car yet, dead reliable and so cheap to insure, only group 5! My previous car was a Citroen AX 11 which was costing me more.

- The car's cheap to buy. Got mine for about £850.

- The car is sluggish due to its power to weight ratio.

- It's an alternative to a small car which is what my previous "cars" were, and what I was looking for until I did some research. This car's just as effective if you consider the fuel prices of today!!

- Parts are readily avialable.

- Try to avoid minicabs ones, as they're basically "battered!", speaking from experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

1989 Nissan Bluebird LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance216504 miles

Summary:

It's built like a tank but goes forever.....

Faults:

No major trouble despite the high mileage. The engine is still the original, with only a new power steering pump needed, which wasn't a big deal (£10 from the scrap yard). The most persistant problem has been the window wipe linking arm, now on the third in three years.

General Comments:

Good engined cars which keep on running.....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

1st Jan 2001, 16:38

Yep, I agree with the wiper linkage arm problem, it went on mine as well!! I was speaking to a bloke at the Nissan dealer and he said it is just about the only thing that ever went wrong on a Bluebird!! These cars really are tanks!

22nd Feb 2001, 13:48

Well, I don't know if all the readers before have had the same kind of problem with the wiper arm link. I had a similar problem in which the arm got dismounted from the motor to the wiper itself. All I had to do was snap it into the joint and I have had no problems with it ever since (that was almost two years ago).

26th Jul 2001, 07:49

I had the same problem with mine, the connector snapped and needed to be replaced. Other than that, its 11 years old, done 85k and its the only things that's needed fixing on it ever. Touch wood.

3rd May 2005, 12:39

Our old bird has been just great in general, but being a bit "long in the tooth" we have had to replace small bits and peaces. The wiper arm linkage has been running with a rubber band "fix" around the ball joint to keep if from falling out. The rubber band hardly needs replacement more often that once as month. I'm considering actually fixing it someday...

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 22 reviews