1993 Nissan Bluebird Reviews

1993 Nissan Bluebird ses 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance144000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

An all round excellent car

Faults:

The internal boot release never worked.

General Comments:

This was definitely the best car I have ever owned.

The car was faultless in it's impressive looks and handling. The SES model had a modest factory fitted body kit and spoiler and some nice 15 inch alloys. The interior was spacious, comfortable and unfortunately only vaguely sporty.

The engine was smooth, responsive and quick, although noisy in the cabin. The 2.0 engine was thirsty around town.

Routine servicing was the only expense incurred.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2006

25th Jul 2006, 04:55

I've owned a 1993 SES Bluebird Manual for the last four years, I agree it's not very sporty, but overall I have been very pleased with this car, it's just had it's service at 252,000 km, and apart from getting a new clutch a year ago, and CV boots on the front recently, this car has lived up to lots of wear.

By my changing the oil regularly, I've had no oil leaks or temperpature problems, as I use mine for my work and drive 50-80 km a day. So overall I like this Nissan model, and look forward to putting another 50,000 on the clock with hassle free motoring.

10th Aug 2006, 02:36

The internal boot release not working could be caused by the "disable mechanism". There's a little lever on the side of the lock mechanism, which disables the internal release. We put up with no internal release for almost a year before asking the dealer to have a look at it - they "fixed" it in about 10 seconds!

15th Aug 2006, 00:27

Thank you for you comment on the boot release, I've put up with it for about two years now of not having a boot release working and by reading your comment on the taking it to the dealer, I had a fiddle around and now it works, thank you very much, other than the cost of replacing parts I have had no other problems with the car.

1993 Nissan Bluebird ARX 1.8 DOHC injected from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC injected Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

Electric window master switches broke.

General Comments:

Value for money is incredible, this car is ten plus years old and has the same features as a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2005

1993 Nissan Bluebird SSS 2.4 Unleaded from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Unleaded Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91255 kilometres
Most recent distance111211 kilometres

Summary:

More than meets the eye..

Faults:

Rear disk pads needed to be replace just short of 500k's after original purchase.

General Comments:

This car is an awesome drive. The head-up display is great during day and night and is a definite conversation starter when it comes to a discussion about the features of cars.

Very distinct shape, but the name is not exactly inspiring. The name "Altima" from the U. S version would have been a killer in Australia..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

1993 Nissan Bluebird sss 2.4 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

A sensible performance sleeper

Faults:

So far nothing major.

The engine bay is very clean, and there are no hints of any type of leaks, of any kind.

The cassette player doesn't like to play all types of tapes, and tends to malfunction when it gets too hot.

The CD player also doesn't like to work until it has cooled. These things usually occur after getting into the car after it has been parked in the sun for a period of time.

General Comments:

The bluebird is extremely comfortable, and a very underrated vehicle.

I feel that it is the best medium sized vehicle in it's class for it's time, and even today performs better than a lot of the current medium sized vehicles.

It is very quiet and comfortable, and is somewhat of a 'sleeper' for the uninitiated.

The interior is superb, with excellent materials. All controls are easy to reach, and logical in there placement.

The head-up display for the speedometer is very practical, and it is a mystery to me why this feature never caught on, it is very convenient.

The fuel economy is a revelation for the performance the vehicle offers. I routinely achieve well under 8.0L/1ookm from the 60L fuel tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews