Nissan Cherry Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1985 Nissan Cherry Turbo 1.5 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Bonkers, mad, get one before they all go to the scrapyard

Faults:

Almost nothing went wrong, just a heater fan.

Occasional cutting out caused by the engine ECU plug under the passenger seat. A very common problem on these cars, that's how I bought it as a non runner. Tried the plug, hey presto!

General Comments:

Absolutely bonkers acceleration, hold your breath & pray in the corners, the handling was somewhat erratic. De-badge one, put on a grandad hat & burn up just about everything at the lights. The most entertaining car I've ever had.

Would love another, rare in the UK when new, tin worm means they're as rare as hen's teeth now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2001

20th Dec 2006, 08:10

Hi, It's a great car in deed. I own a Nissan Langley turbo, and the engine (E15T) is very sweet.

Can you send me some pictures of your car? I can do the same.

You say your car is rare, how rare is it? I mean, what is its value in the market?

(joao_icaro@yahoo.com)

26th Aug 2008, 20:33

"put on a grandad hat & burn up just about everything at the lights"

Hahahah right o!

1984 Nissan Cherry GS 1.3 Carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Carb Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64256 miles
Most recent distance64702 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Top car, comfortable, economic, loads of space, ideal for a family, and ideal for thrashing about

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Got it for £50 from a breakers yard, tatty front arches and valance.

Starts everytime, everything works, minimal internal rust, brakes fine, original wipers still on car, but the best thing is the fuel economy. I have never had an old car which does 380 miles to the tank, I ran the tank dry to clear the crap out and to see how many miles I could get out of it. I've only been driving round town, so not very economically driven. It seems my car refuses to run out, it takes ages to run out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2001

1984 Nissan Cherry GT Turbo 1.5 Turbo from Norway

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired199990 kilometres
Most recent distance201000 kilometres

Summary:

Fast!

Faults:

Well... the shock absorbers were pretty messed up when I first got it, but I've purchased a set of new ones...

Nothing else has gone wrong... It's a reliable, fun, and fast car ;)

General Comments:

This car is fun! It's my first car, and I'm only seventeen... I hope this car lasts for a long time!

Buy one, if you find one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

1984 Nissan Cherry GS 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance112475 miles
Previous carBMW 325i

Summary:

A lovely all round super car!

Faults:

Nothing really, the only real fault with the car was the starter motor pinion wearing out, but that was no problem.

Another thing that has gone wrong is that the bodywork has corroded under the arches, but hey, I ain't complaining.

General Comments:

A highly recommended car, I have owned everything from a BMW to a Rover, but I always find myself affiliated to the Nissan Cherry.

I have owned three in total, a 3 door GS, a 5 door GL and a 5 door GSL. I hope to own a turbo in the future, but they are getting scarcer by the day.

My 3 door has been parked up for about eighteen months now, it's going through a restoration process. Long live the Cherry!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

1983 Nissan Cherry DX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Unsurpassed reliability

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, this car has never let me down in the six years that I have owned it.

At 17 years old the bodywork has suddenly started to corrode, but who can complain about that.

Everyone who rides in it comments on how smooth and quiet the engine sounds, and what it has cost me in not being a particularly economical car fuel wise, I've saved on repair bills. Never had a bill other than MOT and servicing, who can ask for anything else in a car, I'm sure the engine would last forever but the bodywork is going fast so it's time to say goodbye to this Nissan and hopefully hello to another that lasts as long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

1984 Nissan Cherry ZX Turbo 1.5 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carNissan Cherry DX

Summary:

A hugely underated RS KILLER

Faults:

In the space of time I have had the car the pistons have gone and the turbo has packed in. Fifth gear on the gear box went, the starter packed up plus many other faults.

Despite these faults which have all been rectified as and when they occur, the car still drives like new.

General Comments:

This car is hugely underrated in all respects, it is faster than anything in its class. It handles like a dream, and apart from wear and tear the car is hugely reliable now.

I can't see my self ever selling my car as it is in good condition and I think it is worth restoring!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

13th Jun 2002, 14:32

I am a proud new owner of a Nissan Cherry "Milan" from 1985. I am glad to read such great reviews of the Nissan Cherry. Being of female persuasion, I am not privy to all kinds of technical data - but the car sure eats the highway here in Denmark.

I have been scouring the net for any information about this model - the Milan - but can't find any. Is the ZX somewhat the same model?? I know the Milan has a 1500 cc motor.

The perfect story - I bought this car, which is in mint condition, driven by an old lady for 15 years - for an amazingly low price. Any hints on maintenence?? I have only had the car since June 9th, but I love it... Colour is a really neat yellow and black, electric sun-roof, bucket seats, snazzy steering wheel - and thick pile carpet (still intact!!)

Hannah, Denmark

27th Sep 2010, 16:57

The best car I have ever had. Had a blue B plate that went like stink. So wish I hadn't sold it. So rare now. Wish I could find one.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews