1985 Nissan Cherry Turbo 1.5 turbo from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fast, scary and a lot of low cost fun!

Faults:

The car was faultless up until an ignition problem occurred after it was driven into a flooded area of roadway. The car was garaged and stripped in 1991 and still remains in the garage.

General Comments:

Probably the scariest and most exciting car to drive at that time. I've had 3 Nissan Cherry Turbos since and always intended to get the 'one in the garage' back on the road...... maybe one day!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2000

9th Feb 2001, 16:58

I owned a 1986 D Plate Cherry Turbo for 9 years. When I bought it, sorry swapped it, it had got 30,000 miles on the clock, when I sadly traded it in it had got 170,000 miles. It needed a few turbos in that time, but not much else went wrong.

I found Nissan dealerships negative in respect of this car and any problems I did get with it they always advised I get rid of it and buy a new Nissan, unfortunately they didn't make anything that was as exciting and unique to drive.

The drive was exhilerating, yet the looks didn't eminate boy racer, I think I only ever saw one Cherry in skirts and that was a GLS!

One of the reason for trading it in was the fact that not one person could advise me on the conversion to unleaded or super unleaded, Nissan once again uninterested, and everyone else couldn't tell me. Maybe now I wish I had garaged it, but having a garage would have helped.

Getting rid of that car is something I regret doing, driving has just not been the same since. I sold it in April 99 and since that date have never seen another one. Although the one I sold is now living in London, and by the parking fine I recieved a few months ago, is unregistered, untaxed and uninsured, so not it's probably a block of metal...

5th Apr 2001, 15:17

I have owned my Cherry Turbo for 15 years and still not bored with it. Anyone that needs reliable advice should contact the Nissan Turbo Owners Club I know because I run it.

8th Apr 2003, 13:50

Cherry Turbo's are brilliant. I have had mine since 1997 and love it to bits.

Anyone who has owned one will agree, they are ignored/disliked by disbelievers, but once you have driven one you are hooked!

6th Sep 2006, 20:50

I have always owned Nissan Cherry Turbos. The last one I had was for nineteen years, red and black, the best car I've ever owned. I loved it more than my M3 SMG which I have now. Sadly my Cherry Turbo was stolen when I went away on holiday, and I've never seen it since in 2005. I've looked everywhere for a Cherry, but cannot find one as clean as the one I had.

9th Apr 2007, 06:07

Buy this one for £550 01502 530138.

6th Jan 2013, 19:43

Will an E13 manifold fit the Cherry turbo engine? I am putting the turbo engine into my Sunny van, and was wondering if the parts are the same? I know that the gearbox is the same.

30th Sep 2014, 19:44

The gear box is not the same, it's low ratio, and neither is the manifold the same. It will fit, but it's not the same. The engine is not same either... it has dished pistons for low compression.

1984 Nissan Cherry Turbo 1.5 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

GTi performance, Austin Allegro money

Faults:

The only problem I had that could be considered to be a breakdown was the bearings in the water pump, which disintegrated. A crack in the engine block occurred after I unfortunately hit assorted bushes and shrubbery at 50 mph. I replaced the water pump and patched up the cracked block with epoxy resin which worked, to my amazement.

General Comments:

I got this car when I was an 18 year old student. It was the fastest car around for the money, easily beating XR2/3/4s, Capris and Golf GTIs.

Around town it feels like any other Jap hatchback, but once the revs go past 3500 the turbo kicks in with a loud whistle and a big surge of power. Handling is excellent considering the supermarket shopper roots of the car.

It isn't particularly comfortable or refined and people will think your Mum lent it to you, but that doesn't stop you taking enormous pleasure in blowing away Terry/Trevor/etc in his XR whatever.

The only downside of this car is that they are getting nearly impossible to find. Definitely recommended if you can find a reasonable one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

12th Oct 2002, 20:03

I owned a Cherry GTi from 85 to 91. It was a blistering fast car for its size. I kicked its backside for 6 years. Sold it when the Alfa brakes warped and I could not find sensibly priced replacements. Great fun for 6 years. XRs and RSs did not stand a chance against it.

Dave, Scotland.

8th Jun 2013, 17:52

It sounds like you liked your car, but I think they got things the wrong way round. Nissan makes very reliable cars, which are shockingly ugly. Alfa Romeo makes beautiful cars, which are shockingly unreliable. A big Nissan turbo engine in something like an Alfasud Sprint would have been an amazing car.

1983 Nissan Cherry GL 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Exhaust... and me. The car is slowly deteriorating, such as the CV joints starting knocking, but the car just carries on running. Treated properly with regular servicing the car would carry on forever. The engine has started blowing a bit of smoke on startup, but that's just age, and 112,000 miles are on the clock.

General Comments:

Some people say they drive like a tank, or that they're uncomfortable.

I really am at ease with the car, the best car (albeit my first one), reliable, dependable, not very economical, but does its job effectively.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 1999

1984 Nissan Cherry GL 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing much really, I service the car myself, only replaced a burst water pump on Christmas Day with 110,000 on the clock.

Recently lubricant oil leaking into cylinder combustion unit causing plugs to choke once a month, so need to clean it.

Amateur maintennace is fun, since owning from second-hand 7 years ago, I haven't been to a garage for major repair.

General Comments:

Great make of car, unfortunately out of production early in 1985. Good dashboard layout, instrument working till now. Quite comfortable to drive and good suspension. No electrical problems. Never fails to start, rain, snow or shine in the morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998