1999 Nissan Frontier XE everything 2.4L from North America

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

The head liner has began to hang down (I just used thumb tacks to hold it up)

General Comments:

I love this truck. Its fun to drive and kinda quick for a small 4cyl, it could use a 6th gear. The suspension is great it handles like a car. I load 3 dirt bikes in the back often and it handles it fine. The seats are uncomfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2007

25th Sep 2008, 16:46

I now have 89k miles on this truck and have no problems. I used it to pull 3500lb in a 6x10 enclosed trailer from Maryland to California and it handled it. Gas mileage avg 25.

1999 Nissan Frontier from North America

Summary:

The Frontier's strong points are reliability, price, and rugged good looks (for a 4x2)

Faults:

Plastic body trim on the tailgate panel started peeling off after a winter in Amherst, MA. Vent fan broke after about 50k miles and only works now in the highest blower position (haven't had it looked at). Clutch had to be replaced after only about 75K miles. Fan belt makes a lot of noise. Factory radio lost all lights (but still worked) after about 50k miles.

General Comments:

The ride is comfortable compared to my old Toyota truck, but it seems a little stiff compared to other compact trucks built after 2000. Overall quality is pretty good... nothing is loose or rattling. I agree with a previous poster that the truck want to get revved up a bit before shifting. The clearance is helpful when doing outdoorsy trips, and you need to plow up the occasional unpaved road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2006

23rd Sep 2007, 19:40

Your "broken vent fan" is simply a bad blower resistor. cheap nissan part and maybe 30 min. of work will fix that. it happened to my 94 altima, 93.5 G20, and 98 frontier... must be a nissan quirk.

1999 Nissan Frontier XE 3.3 V6 from North America

Summary:

I think this is a very good truck

Faults:

I have only had two issues. The truck was recalled for a corroded connection at the fuel sending unit. The dealer was great to work with. The second issue is that the manual transmission seems to have trouble synchronizing. I tend to "short shift" and this transmission doesn't like it, it prefers to be revved up before shifting.

General Comments:

I have found this to be a very good truck. Besides the issues previously mentioned, the only other negative point that I can think of is the ride. It rides rougher than the K2500 Chevrolet pickup that I previously owned (that truck had 1 ton running gear). It gets about 20 mpg, dropping to 18-19 in the winter with our oxygenated gas and the cold weather in Utah. I suppose one other negative point is that when changing the oil, you must remove a skid plate. This only adds 10 minutes, but it does add to the hassle of the job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2004

1999 Nissan Frontier SE Off Road 4X4 from North America

Summary:

Very durable, but questionable reliability

Faults:

This truck has needed only two repairs since I bought it used 18 months ago.

At approximately 28,000 miles, the air conditioning compressor failed. The truck continued to run without it, so I was not stranded when it failed. The repair was very expensive at nearly $900.

At approximately 48,000 miles the fuel pump failed, and the contact plate in the gas tank wall where the electronic wires go through melted. The mechanic had never seen this happen before, and he was certified Nissan mechanic who had worked on them for many, many years.

The fuel pump failed when I was over 100 miles from home, so the break-down created a difficult situation. That is, I had to find a tow truck, a suitable mechanic, a ride back home, etc. There was also a big delay in getting the contact plate. I was without the truck for an entire week. The repair cost approximately $800.

The only other complaint that I have is that the paint is starting to turn chalky. For a vehicle that is only 5 years old, this is unacceptable.

Other than that, the truck has needed no repairs in the 18 months that I've owned it. I plan to keep it for several years. If nothing else goes wrong with it during that time, I will be satisfied that it is reliable.

If one more big repair is needed like the two described above, I will sell it. I would probably look for a Toyota to replace it under those circumstances.

General Comments:

Overall, I like this truck. I got a fantastic deal on it when I purchased it. It is black with alloy wheels, but otherwise plain without looking cheap or stripped down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

1999 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner 3.3L V6 from North America

Summary:

A great first truck I'll probably have forever

Faults:

One of the battery terminals became loose and prevented me from starting the truck... $1.99 for a new one at Auto-Zone.

My passenger side window handle rattles when there's a lot of bass... nothing to drown out the sound though.

General Comments:

Although the clutch is a little sticky, I've never had any problems with it.

The truck is easy to clean because it's simple on the inside and not too bad on the outside either.

I like the ground clearance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

1999 Nissan Frontier SE 3.3 V6 from North America

Summary:

You get a little more than what you pay for

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Just as good as a Tacoma, cheaper too! Out-performs my friend's Tacoma, which surprised both of us. I like the simple engineering, less to go wrong. Decent power and handling, good offroading (wild country BF Goodrich's put on at around 15000).

If you want a compact pick-up, find one of these a year or two used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2001

25th Dec 2003, 21:43

My Nissan's 4x4 is broken. What could cause the auto locking hub for a four wheel drive to make a clicking noise and then get stuck in four wheel drive?

25th Jul 2016, 22:16

Just take it apart and rebuild it. I've done it a few times on mine since I drive through rivers a lot (6" lift with 33" tires). You don't even have to remove the wheel. Just unscrew the allen bolts holding the hub on. Take it apart and clean all the filth out. Pack with new grease and reinstall.