2009 Nissan Frontier SE from North America

General Comments:

The tranny went at 102000 and carried a price tag of $3000 to fix. Don't buy.

It was also horrible on gas; my new full size Tundra gets about the same mileage, and it isn't even that great on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2013

2009 Nissan Frontier SE 4.0L V6 from North America

Summary:

Pretty good so far

Faults:

Watch out for the back paneling around the tires. Rocks spit up frequently and cause chips to this area. They have a protective piece covering part of this area, but does little to stop problem.

General Comments:

I have the 2wd and kind of wish I had gotten 4wd.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2009

17th Nov 2010, 13:36

I had the same problem, ended up having to put line-x on the body to stop the rocks. It's working good so far. Nissan will not do anything about it, but apparently some people have had luck getting compensation.

27th Mar 2012, 11:58

I had the same issue. Some cheap "eBay" running boards have all but stopped it.

2009 Nissan Frontier NP 300 2.5 TDCRI from Ecuador

Summary:

Love my spartan and ecological truck!

Faults:

Nothing!

Only screws missing since day 1 in cabin (dealer solved it the same day).

This version seems to be the working unit for other countries, in mine is sold as dual purpose.

General Comments:

The reason I choose this truck was -sincerely- because at the moment was the most ecological and low car. footprint vehicle.

Performs nice, turbo gets softly and you just need to reach 1800 rpm and the car moves awesome with very low fuel consumption.

Rear seat the least comfortable, but prize performance and suspension -in my opinion- the best of the series.

When 4wd..ing this truck is gorgeous.

What I can't understand is that technology is only under the hood and chassis, so the basic equipment inside the cabin and model seems to be in its last days!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2009

26th Jul 2010, 12:18

My Frontier reached with high performance to 42000km (July '10) but the company that has the monopoly of Nissan-Renault in this country is trying hard to ruin this make!

They overcharge on spares ($42 for an extra key or $47 for a diesel fuel filter), they give bad service and they make the client finally pay expensive services, non competitive with other brands official services.

I have to be "married" with them for the other 58k or at least 2 extra years to maintain the warranty.

12th Sep 2010, 22:19

At 44500 km a whistle can be heard when the truck's engine is idle. Seems it's the water pump, and for sure a spare part is needed!

Let's see the expenses!

8th Jan 2013, 14:20

Now this truck is at 140000 Km!

Nothing wrong, and this is a real WORKHORSE!

Only expensive spares and frequent filter changes due to bad quality diesel in my country.

I'd love to buy a new one, just the same!