1988 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Z24i from North America


A excellent vehicle


My Exhaust Gas Regulator valve went out at 209,000 miles.

My Clutch went out at 208,485 miles.

My engine just went out at 210,058 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is the best vehicle I have ever owned. It never quits and always gets me to my destinations. I guess that after 210,000 miles the engine was bound to go out, but what a ride!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2003

14th May 2005, 08:48

I agree with you; my nissan 1988 pickup just went out as well the water got mixed with the oil. BUt my truck already had 300,000 miles on it (orignal engine). but they are going to do an overhaul on it anyways.

24th May 2009, 08:54

After 21 great years I finally had to put my best friend to sleep. Over 450,000 miles and hardly any problems at all. It's been through mud, sand, and harsh Canadian winters, and never once did it get stuck. 88 Nissan 4x4 by far the best truck ever made.

1988 Nissan Hardbody Pickup E 2.4L from North America


A durable long lasting vehicle


Replaced front brake rotors at approx. 175,000 Km.

The fuel pump went at 200,000 Km.

The tail gate rattles pretty bad over even minor bumps.

General Comments:

I bought the truck fixed up, and it has been running flawlessly since I purchased it.

It's very durable, takes a licking and keeps on ticking.

The manual shifter is a little stiff in the morning and on cold mornings, but once the vehicle gets moving, it works fine.

Cheap interior with decent ergonomics.

The gas mileage isn't as good as I had expected, but I heard the Z24 engine is harder on fuel than the base engine.

With no weight in the back of the truck and wide tires, the thing is useless in the snow, but starts easily on cold mornings.

Cheap and easy to fix and modify with a design that still looks sharp today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

7th Oct 2002, 20:04

Yes I have noticed that the fuel pump does start to give out after about 200 000 k\m. but I am starting to think that it is more or less the relay. It seems to run fine and on the odd time the truck will die and not start. So I have to wait a few min. and then go back and it works then. But all in all I do find that thr Nissan Hardbody is an all around solid truck!!!

16th Mar 2004, 08:40

I wrote this review. Here is an update: Nothing else has went wrong with it. I'm at 268,000 km now. I've taken it for 35C road trips for hours and hours, as well as driven in minus 30c snowstorms through the mountains and it hasn't given me a single problem yet! Wooohoo Nissan!

1988 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4 from North America


Babe magnet... not!


Brake rotors at 80K.

Fuel pump at 130K.

General Comments:

Very reliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

1988 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Standard E 2.4i from North America


Unlike most vehicles today, this 1988 Nissan truck has been a terrific value


Idler pulley (I tightened it too much).

Water pump began leaking at 150,000 miles.

Heater core began leaking at 160,000 miles.

Faint rattling from front end at 100,000 miles.

Factory radio replaced under warranty after one year then replaced with aftermarket unit at two years.

Original clutch almost completely worn out at 178,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is my baby. I love it! It isn't fast, it isn't big, it doesn't have the appeal of an F250 with a Power Stroke diesel, but I love it anyway. It hauls lots of stuff, it gets me to work and back, and it looks decent enough to go cruising in. And the original paint still looks great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2000