1989 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SE6 3.0 from North America


Works pretty good for what you'd think


- Reverse lamp switch went out.

- Latch for tail gate went out/came off the tail gate itself.

- Head light adjustment brackets broke on both head lights

- High pitched whine from the engine just after idle at random times

- Oil sludge build up in oil pan

- Burns oil a little.

* Most of these problems are from the previous owner *

** I since then have fixed most of those problems **

General Comments:

I have owned the D21 I 2.4L, and bought this when it was in an accident. It is nice that this line of truck has so many smiler parts. I have a ton of stuff for this truck.

While it's not a fast truck. it gets around town and isn't too bad on gas for a V6. The truck is clearly a light duty pick up. since it doesn't have a rear bumper bar as well as a close box frame.

Overall this is a OK truck, and does a pretty good job of doing what I need it to do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2008

1989 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SE V6 from North America


Reliable, Reliable, Reliable, would buy one again any day


The original transmission was replaced around 150,000.

Engine threw a rod bearing at 260,000.

Starter at est 300,000.

Automatic Hub Broke around 300,000.

General Comments:

The original owner got 260,000 out of the first engine, and had a second installed when I purchased the vehicle.

Great size for a pickup, the extra cab gives enough storage.

V6 seems like the right amount of power, but doesn't get good mileage at all.

Maroon paint is faded and falling off, rust spots appearing in various sections of the vehicle.

Love it, ugly, but amazingly reliable for a vehicle with such high mileage.

Great 4X4 in the mud or snow.

Only one repair (starter) in the three and a half years I have owned the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

1989 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4 twin spark from North America




Handbrake never worked.

Speedometer broke down.

Rear shock to replace at 150 000km.

Rust everywhere.

Starter gave up at 170 000km.

General Comments:

I bought this truck for nothing and it has been simply amazing. I went from one ocean to another with this vehicle without any trouble. I have never seen something like that.

It is slow, ugly and rusty, but it works well and cheaply. The engine is a gift from God. It has always started without complaining in the Canadian winter even without block-heater. It runs great and I definitely recommend it for people looking for endurance. Nissan forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2004

1989 Nissan Hardbody Pickup VG30 from North America


Great first automobile for teens


The last owner said that the distributor cap would get moisture and not run, but I've had no problems.

General Comments:

Great engine.

Easy to work on (mine is a project vehicle).

Body rust easily in the areas where the roads are salted.

Not very many aftermarket parts for this model.

My truck is on www.cardomain.com/id/fireant666

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

1989 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Standard 2.4 to the floor from North America


The best bargain I could have got for what I paid


The fist thing that went wrong with it was the alternator went out, but I still managed to drive it for a couple of days with a jump in the morning.

Secondly, the clutch fork just snapped after the pivot ball broke off.

General Comments:

This is a great car for anything really, I went out in the blizzard, mudding, long trips etc...

The 2.4 engine in it has 8 spark plugs, which gives you the power you need.

This car also gives a great start in the winter.

A bad thing about it is that it rusts everywhere.

It can be easy to work on.

A good off-the-line car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

11th Mar 2010, 21:01

I have a single cab, hard body 89 Nissan 4x4 pickup, with the Z24 engine. The engine runs strong, it's just everything around it; horrible body rust, and I live in the south! It's got a 2 inch body lift with 3 inch suspension, with 33 inch Firestone Destinations, straight piped.

The truck runs strong, and will go anywhere I need it to. Until I have to put more money into it!

1989 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4 from North America


Great truck that will last forever


Had to replace the clutch, that's it.

General Comments:

This is a great truck. Runs great, handles like a car, and won't die.

It gets good gas mileage, I get about 27mpg with the Z24 engine.

Has lots of power. The 2.4 with 8 plugs really puts out the power. Can haul a box load with out even feeling it.

The inside is kind of plain, but it is well laid out. Seats are alright, lots of room up front. The king cab is mostly for storage, not for people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

1989 Nissan Hardbody Pickup from North America


The best Japanese 4x4 ever made. Period


It never has had any problems as long as I have owned it.

At least not mechanically, as the previous owner left it out for too long and rats chewed up wiring, and nested in my heater system.

General Comments:

This car is a blast to drive as it handles great and makes great power.

It also gets great fuel economy, which is good for a high school student with no money for gas.

The only thing that I don't like about it is the cramped interior and all the plastic they use in it.

Also, since mine is a bare-bones model, it has no tachometer.

As far as the body goes, I like it's aggressive looks. Nissan did this truck right.

As far as performance goes, it makes excellent power for a four-cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003