1990 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired163000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Great performance, poor to get parts for

Faults:

Carrier Bearing.

General Comments:

I love the truck. I would never buy another one however, because I can't find the right parts for it. The truck has been down 2 weeks now because the Nissan dealer cannot find the right carrier bearing for it. I have contacted Nissan regarding this, and they are unable to help me as well. Up until this point it has been a great vehicle. I have never had this problem with any other vehicle that I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

21st Feb 2004, 14:47

I know this is very late to comment on, but I just replaced my Carrier bearing on my 88 Nissan Se 4wd.

There were 2 model Designs.. A Japanese, and a US made Truck.

If your Vin# Started of with 1N6.. Then It's a US model. If your Vin Begins with JN6.. its Japanese.

There are 2 distinct differences indeed.

I heard from Nissan that they update the Parts Cd's Monthly, and sometimes catch an error here and there in the CD Parts Catalog. :)

I'm sure you solved your problem by now, but I figured Id comment anyway.

One thing, If you ever go into Nissan It helps tremendously to have your Vin # To find certain parts.

Take Care.

Jeff.

10th Mar 2004, 12:05

I have replaced the carrier bearing in my 1990 Nissan truck also. I took the bearing along with the driveshaft out myself. I then took the bearing to Fleet pride international, and they changed it with a new one. They had the aftermarket part in stock.

When I re-installed it, I made sure that I put anti-seize compound on the bolts that hold it into place. Unfortunaetly, the bearing ripped again about 4 months later. The bearing had a warranty for one year. Fleet pride replaced it at no charge. However, they said that if this happens again they will not replace it for free.

The new bearing is holding up fine, and I hope to get a lot of life out of it. I like my truck very much and have done a lot of customization to it. It is a very reliable vehicle.

A problem with the truck is that it is rotting from the inside out. I put a new paint job on it and the outside of the vehicle looks good. The inside of the truck, on the other hand, is a different story.

Steven Wood

Outside of Buffalo New York.

12th Aug 2007, 06:14

Hi all.

I've got a Nissan Terrano 1989/1990. It's on a G plate. This is an import from Australia.

Getting parts for this is making my head spin.

2 Vin plates on my Nissan.

1st one starts with 6j9p0

2nd starts with WBYD21

Any help on finding parts would be great.

Thanks

Spencer

1990 Nissan Hardbody Pickup King Cab i-24mpi from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission i-24mpi Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired19500 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

Low maintenance, fuel efficient, just powerful enough

Faults:

Power steering leak.

Starter fried.

Broken leaf.

General Comments:

This is my 6th Nissan pickup. My next will also be a Nissan.

If they didn't rust they would almost last forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

7th Dec 2001, 20:37

Best truck in the world, it goes and goes, never had any problems with it.

1990 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Shortbed 2.4 fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 fuel injected Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It is a beast!

Faults:

My timing chain guide broke.

Exhaust manifold cracked.

Brakes.

Clutch.

All at 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

I just got this truck, my cousin had it before me, he took it 4x4'in every weekend, and every thing works good after all he put it through. It has 31 inch tires on, it is a beast. I am going to put a lift on it, it already has Rancho RS5000, they are good shocks for the truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2000

1990 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 4-cyl, 2.4 L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4-cyl, 2.4 L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Reliable and affordable

Faults:

The engine is great. Keeps on running despite mostly stop-n-go driving. However, little things inside broke early & often. A/C control cable broke, passenger side window track broke while under warranty and dealer refused to fix it, and the paint began peeling after 4 years.

General Comments:

Great, reliable engine, solid gas mileage, disappointing interior quality, and poor dealer support. Good price, I paid $7,000 in 1990.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews