1990 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1990 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude '87

Summary:

A fun car until you pay for the problems

Faults:

Fuel pump.

Two starters (that's right, two!).

Speedometer totally fubar.

Odometer stopped.

Loud.

Heater broke.

General Comments:

Don't get me wrong, this is one of the most comfortable cars I have ever ridden in. I loved it until I started paying for all of the problems I had. I recommend this car to only people that have a good mechanic because parts can be VERY expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2001

4th Mar 2006, 14:00

I had the heater problem on my Maxima, turns out it was the heater control valve that was getting stuck putting out cold air even when you adjust it back to hot with the slider bar on the controls. U can replace the valve for about 150$ or just manually adjust the valve under the hood and not mess with the slider bar control in the winter. Give it a try, it might work.

1990 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cierra

Summary:

Fast, comfortable, sedan

Faults:

Front wheel bearings.

2 fuel injectors.

Air intake tempature sensor causing the engine to quit unexplainably, took a while to figure out the problem.

Dealer cost for the part was $450.00. Found one at the junkyard for $50.00.

General Comments:

Can be expensive to repair at the dealer. Find other sources.

It has to be the greatest driving car on the road with 176K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

21st Oct 2002, 09:25

Thanks for your web-site! My 1990 Nissan Maxi ma keeps cutting off with me as I'm driving down the highway. First it starts sputtering, then the RP M's rev to about 4 RP M's, the engine light comes on, and it dies. It will start back up, but is difficult. It has been in the shop for going on three weeks now and they have not been able to correct the problem. They replaced the throttle, but then a few days later it was back to doing the same thing, AGAIN!! Help if anyone can!! I love my car!! It sounds like the fuel injectors as you said, but they've checked that and they are OK. However, they did not check the air intake temperature sensor, hopefully that will be it!

1990 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired141286 miles
Most recent distance154168 miles

Summary:

Best four door sports car

Faults:

The digital clock doesn't work and the antenna will not extend fully.

General Comments:

I have had the car up to 119mph and still had pedal room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

27th May 2001, 07:27

Fast Car, man. Good comments. I have had my 90 Max up to 110 and it was running as smooth as ever with much petal room!

GO MAX, a great car, but you must spend to maintain it, like any good car... expect it.

1990 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from Japan

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired112113 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles

Summary:

A fast, comfortable, sexy car!

Faults:

The Bose cassette player works sometimes but that is no longer an issue because I took it out and put in an in-dash CD receiver, the digital clock doesn't work, and the cruise control doesn't work but I never use that damn thing anyway (who does?).

General Comments:

This is a great car to own if you are in the market for a used car. I bought mine for $5,700 and even though it is 10 years old and had over 112K miles on it when I bought it, it runs great and is a great car to race with. This car beat a 1994 Camaro and a 2000 Prelude in a drag-race. So, in short, the car is a luxury sedan with balls.

The bose sound system bumps loud and has great sound quality. On another note there will never be complaining that there is no room in this car. All passengers have tremendous room in the front and back seats. The trunk room is huge too. One time I managed to fit 4 of my friends in the trunk all at once, then I closed it (ha ha).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2000

1990 Nissan Maxima M 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

Nice car but not worth the expense

Faults:

Cam belt (expected), plastic radiator tanks burst, water pump replaced, digital clock broken, power antenna failed, brake master cylinder failed, steering shaft boots split, cruise control failed, windscreen seals have perished, upper door trim rubber strips perished, minor rust in door.

General Comments:

Way overpriced parts due to full importation to Aust. Try $536AUS dollars for a genuine digital clock. Thats about $332US!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2000

21st Aug 2002, 08:09

I agreed that they are an expensive car when it comes to maintenance. I have spent nearly as much fixing my car in the 4 years I have owned it, as the purchase price.

The electronic windows have been the last straw - it recently cost $652 to replace the regulator in the electric window panel and my front passenger window stills goes down by itself in the rain!

I have had the windows fixed numerous times, not to mention the brakes (calipers and discs), CV boots, master brake cylinder, alternator.. the list is endless. I am now about to sell it as it has a terrible shudder (I think coming from the transmission) which I can't seem to get fixed.

Bye bye Maxima. You've been a great car, but I am broke...

1st Feb 2005, 12:32

Well, I assume you folks at least got more than 70,000 miles out of it? I am not so lucky = (

1990 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

Replaced front ball joint, air conditioning marginal, the clear coat finish this model year was very poor.

General Comments:

This has been a great car. Totally reliable and fun to drive (manual transmission).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 1999

18th Jan 2001, 15:54

I bought my 1990 Maxima 5 years ago, now have 122,000 miles on it and it runs flawlessly.

Yes, of course the digital clock only works when I'm in a bad mood, and the power antenna stopped retracting last year, but, what an awesome car. I take a 700 mile trip every other weekend up the Columbia River Gorge to Eastern Oregon, and with a good set of Michelins, the only way to travel. Even on snow and ice!

Ken

15th Feb 2001, 10:58

I have an SE 5 speed Maxima and I have put 100,000 kilometers on it in the past year.

The only thing I've changed is the tires, alterator, and heater fan. This is the best car ever made (maybe beside the new ones) and I am planning on buying a new Pathfinder or a 2001 SE Maxima. I love Nissan!!

1990 Nissan Maxima SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Timing belt (high mileage), brakes, horn fuse, antenna doesn't extend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 41 reviews