1991 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1991 Nissan Maxima 3.0 V6 Gasoline from Czech Republic

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired320000 kilometres
Most recent distance385000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Miraculous car - best value for money

Faults:

No problems

General Comments:

Perfect and unbelievably fast car, with a lot of comfort, performance and good design. I have driven this car few times 24 hours nonstop for a 1600km distance, at 40 Degrees Celsius, and without any problem. It goes as fast, that many new BMW were very surprised, top speed proven is 240km/h, and acceleration is perfect. Winter starts in -20 degrees Celsius without any problem, with a 6 years old battery.

Car is rebuilt for LPG use, takes between 7-14 liters pro 100km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2005

1991 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance318728 miles

Summary:

I love my maxima!

Faults:

Very few things have gone wrong with my car. None were serious.

1 clutch replacement, but having almost 319,000 miles, I'd say that's pretty good.

Radio died. Replaced as a birthday present.

My digital clock works when it wants to.

Driver seat back broke, easily fixed.

Normal care, maintenance and up-keep of the car required.

General Comments:

Nissan did a very good job of designing a sedan that feels like a sports car. I love the comfort, handling, power and versatility of my maxima. At first glance of a proud mustang owner at a traffic light by my house, my car seemed easy to beat. Or so they thought. I had the last laugh as they were looking at my completely stock maxima's tail lights. Long live the 4DSC!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2005

1991 Nissan Maxima 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired422000 kilometres
Most recent distance441000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen 2CV

Summary:

A very reliable car

Faults:

Fuel lines, sump and gas tank and muffler all rusted out. But the car did spend it's life in Ontario and was 13 years old.

General Comments:

I bought this car to travel around Canada/US while on holiday for a year. Many things did not work, the cruise control, air conditioning, key-less entry on the door, but hey, with the age and the unbelievable amount of kilometres this car had traveled, it was a real beauty. I traveled 13000kms in this car when I owned it, and the engine never missed a beat. Even the auto transmission slipped from the day I bought it and it still covered all those kilometres. Totally reliable. Build quality was excellent, I would not hesitate to buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2005

1991 Nissan Maxima SE V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Most recent distance137000 miles

Summary:

One of the best cars to own

Faults:

Back electric windows stopped working at 100,000 miles, but was an easy fix.

General Comments:

This car has a fast take off and keeps me up with all the other traffic.

The sunroof and spoiler make this car look great for years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2004

1991 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carnissan maxima

Summary:

A reliable quick bargain

Faults:

The exhaust has a leak.

General Comments:

I love this car, it is reliable and quick.

I am planing to keep this car for at-least 4 more years, untill I buy a new maxima.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2003

1991 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104683 miles
Most recent distance108889 miles

Summary:

An attractive 4DSC with high reliability and low cost!

Faults:

Driver side window is off-track.

Front passenger window goes off track when car is not running.

Digital clock rarely works.

General Comments:

Although this car is slightly slow to start, once going it cruises and handles like a dream.

Automatic transmission shifts smoothly making for a comfortable ride.

4-wheel disc brakes slow this car to a stop with a tap of your foot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

1991 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 liter SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

One of the best cars I've ever owned

Faults:

At 126,000 the fuel line started to leak and 3 injectors blew out. Nissan are famous for blowing out fuel injectors, but factor Nissan injectors are still the cheapest believe it or not. the starter decided to stop kicking out at 150,000; thank god for manual transmissions. Paint chips around door trim and alloy rims flake easily. All in all the car has been very low maintenance.

General Comments:

It always starts no matter how cold it got in Minnesota; 60 below with no garage or block heater, always click vrrrmmmm.

Fun to drive and handles well.

The passenger seats in the car are comfortable. If your tall there is plenty of room, but it's not designed very well for tall people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

1991 Nissan Maxima Ti 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95500 kilometres
Most recent distance96100 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A great alternative to locally produced vehicles if you are after something a little different

Faults:

The air conditioning compressor has a leak. The dealer re-gassed it the day I picked it up, however it all leaked out the next day. They are repairing it under warranty, which is going to save me quite a few dollars. I believe they are going to replace the evaporator (behind the glove box) as well. Nothing else that I can fault (yet).

General Comments:

The car has great acceleration for it's size. The engine is smooth and punchy in an auto (shame that Australia didn't see any Maxima's with manual transmission).

Quick cornering demands a lot from the front suspension, which is a little soft, but I think that I'm expecting too much from a luxury sedan.

The car has a full service history and has been well maintained for it's age. No problems with electrics or interior.

Clarion factory speakers are OK, different to the Bose ones fitted in the US.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2002

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 21 reviews