1996 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1996 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Best car I will ever own

Faults:

A car ran into my maxima, other than that, nothing went wrong with it ever.

General Comments:

Best car I will ever own. I cried when I lost it due to someone hitting me. I walked away without a scratch. Fast, Fun, roomy, maintanence free almost. Beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2007

1996 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired205 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

This is an incredible car for the money

Faults:

I had the starter replaced last year at 37,000 miles.

I have replaced the battery twice.

General Comments:

I believe the Maxima (starting with the 810) is the most solid line of cars ever built.

Fun/cost factor is is incredibly high.

The older body styles will not turn heads, but the newest style is gorgeous.

I'm having so much fun with this car, I have a hard time thinking about ever selling it, even to upgrade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

1996 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance194000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Definitely will have more Maxima's in my future

Faults:

The check engine light came on due to an Oxygen sensor being bad, I had it replaced. I have also had a new starter installed. Otherwise, just general maintenance done--new tires, new brakes (kind of pricey at $350)

General Comments:

I loved this car! I put 130,000+ miles on it in about 4 years. I drove the car fairly hard, but it still performed just as well on it's last day as the day I purchased it. The car was fast and I was very sad to have totaled it in an unfortunate accident. I will definitely be purchasing another Maxima sometime soon as I could not justify spending the thousands of dollars it would have been to fix my Maxima since it had 194,000 miles. I would highly recommend a Maxima to anyone who is thinking of buying one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2006

1996 Nissan Maxima LS VQ30 (3L V6 DOHC) from Mexico

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission VQ30 (3L V6 DOHC) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Worth having, but mechanics can easily mess it up

Faults:

Several oil leaks required an engine-out job.

The horns are worn out.

The power steering pump required repair.

The Bose stereo display is faulty.

General Comments:

This is, overall, the most satisfying car to drive of a long string of cars I've owned. It is deceptively fast, handles reasonably well and can easily be improved to handle better. The stereo system is excellent except for the (typical) display panel fault. All the luxury items were in good order on the car when I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2006

17th Feb 2006, 13:48

The Bose unit is very expensive to replace, mine went bad and even the dealer recommended not to buy a new one (~ $1200). If you replace it with an off brand you will also have to change the speakers. You can try to locate a used one that would be some what cheaper. To take the unit out is a pain also unless you know exactly what you are doing.

1st Mar 2006, 20:15

I've since discovered there's an excellent forum for the model, with help for fixing pretty much everything. The car seems totally reliable.

3rd Mar 2006, 13:05

Could you please leave the link to the site, so I can learn to work on mine too. Thanks.

5th May 2006, 11:17

What is a Maxima LS? The only trims are GLE, GXE and SE. Also, a helpful website for those interested in fixing and modding their Maximas is Maxima.org.

1996 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

A fantastic, luxurious, reliable car

Faults:

Struts/shocks needed replacement at 90k miles.

Front brakes lasted about 70k miles before needing replacement.

Starter failed at 115k miles (not uncommon on these cars).

General Comments:

This is a fantastic car, I cannot begin to tell you how reliable, comfortable, fun, and beautiful this car is, even after nine years! The only time this car has ever left me stranded was when the starter failed, but it did give me some warning signs (which I ignored), it didn't just die abruptly. Like most car dealers, the service is not amazing or cheap, but the car rarely ever needs anything aside from fluid changes. At 127k miles, it has very few rattles, the paint and other finishes have held up well. I highly suggest looking into a 95-99 model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 28 reviews