1996 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1996 Nissan Maxima GLE from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance100300 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

This car is not worth the money and hassle for the repairs

Faults:

I have probably spent more on car repairs than payments since I bought my car 17 months ago.

I have had the alternator, starter, and O2 sensors replaced twice.

I just got the drive axles, front shocks/struts, and both strut mounts replaced. I still need to get the back struts replaced. Just today alone I spent $515 on my car and still don't have everything fixed on it.

I have had my front brakes fixed twice, most recently in August and they already sound horrible (it's November).

It also bents and scratches very easily. I am very careful with where I part my car, and I still have several dings on both sides in the front doors.

General Comments:

My car is very comfortable and nice, but it's not worth how much money I am pumping into it. If I didn't owe more than it was worth I would be rid of it in a flash.

I can't wait to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

24th Jul 2004, 01:55

I think this review is bad. I have a GLE and had no problems what so ever. Maybe your car was a lemon, but there are always a few. And as far as your rotors going, I think that may have been a result of not changing your brake bads leading to metal scraping against metal. I love my 96 GLE and apparently so does everyone else according to reviews on this site...

1996 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

The only car for a conservative, sophisticated, not to high class, space oriented man

Faults:

One minor rear tire hum at speeds above 40 MPH.

General Comments:

Best car I've driven in my life!!!

Accelerates very well.

Handles the road nicely, and traction diminishes little, if not at all in torrential rain. Great, quiet ride, especially with some Goodyear Regatta 2's on the baby.

Lots of space; Front and rear very comfortable.

Bose stereo is better than my home shelf system.

Easy controls for the stereo, air conditioner, and cruise.

One major disappointment is: the paint scratches way too easily, it feels too soft and it's losing it's original look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1996 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2222
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Four door sports car

Faults:

Gas tank recall.

Oil valve.

Nothing major

General Comments:

My family loves this car (we have a total of 10 Nissans, 4 of which are Maximas). The only shortfall is the UGLY rear end. The car has been terrific. The engine is a scream. Leaves cars that cost much more in the dust. And it's not a cop magnet.

The only minor complaint is the rear end. Too gittery. The OEM Bridgestones were awful, but now that I've put Goodyear GTII's, the ride is greatly improved. Regular maintenance and steady washing of Chicago road salt have made me love this car all the more. I only wish it looked more like the second generation Maxima ('89-94). I would recommend it so much that my next sedan will be a Maxima just like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2001

4th Mar 2005, 16:43

I don't care what Nissan says, it is NOT a sports car!

26th Nov 2010, 22:22

^ You're right ^

It's a four door sports car.

1996 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous carNissan NX2000

Summary:

Affordable, reliable, high performance, and a lot of fun

Faults:

Limited-slip differential lost its fluid and needed repair.

General Comments:

I highly recommend this car if you are looking for a high-performance sedan that is available with a manual transmission, and is quite affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2000

3rd Sep 2002, 10:05

I would agree. This car has the looks and power of automobiles priced five to ten thousand dollars more. It's very good on gas and has the just the right amount of torque to get you out of a tight spot. The best tires for this car were the Goodyear Eagle RSA, but they run around $180ea. However, as long as you keep "H" rated tires on board, you should not have a problem. I have 190K miles and the engine looks as though I bought it last week. No oil leaks, dust, etc. However, the leather-wrapped steering & shift knob are not that durable and will peel/scratch after about 2-3 years. The driver's seating surface is very flat and does not contour to the lower body. This lack of driver support is extremely evident during longer drives over 2 hours in duration. Another very common problem I've seen with the '95-96 Maxima is the back window regulators. The regulator that lifts the back windows up and down is made partly of plastic and will break around the 3rd year. The repair is approx. $180/per window. Very good car and well worth the money, especially when compared with competitors.

1996 Nissan Maxima GL from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing. I was hit while stopped at a traffic light by a drunken driver and had to have substantial repairs as a result. That was one year ago and I have not had any problems following the repairs. The body is still tight -- no drifting or air noises. The car protected me in a 30+ mph impact.

General Comments:

This is probably the best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1996 Nissan Maxima LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10

Faults:

The key lock on passenger door pushed in about an inch. Absolutely nothing else wrong in 40k miles, very reliable.

General Comments:

Strong smooth engine. Good handling but too much body roll. Pretty good comfort and ride. Good rear leg room. Steering wheel is too far away if you put the seat back all the way - needs a telescope.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

11th Nov 2004, 14:12

I have a '96, and agree with your comments about the steering wheel. It's too far away for me after I set the seat for proper legroom. And the front seats are too flat and don't hold you in very well when rounding corners.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 28 reviews