2003 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2003 Nissan Maxima SE VQ30DE from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission VQ30DE Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Summary:

This car has been my dream car for many years... this is the perfect mix of sport and luxury

Faults:

Nothing so far, car is in perfect condition!

General Comments:

Great looking car, also one of the best looking Maxima models so far.

A bit on the costly side to maintain, moderate, but acceptable MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2007

2003 Nissan Maxima LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

The 2003 Maxima is a good looking and fast car with few mechanical problems so far

Faults:

Engine Service Light has come on probably due to low engine oil.

The dealer wanted $92 dollars to check and re-set the on-board computer.

When I suggested disconnecting the battery to re-set the Service Light, the deal stated that this could cause problems with my electronic timing and sun roof (I don't have a sunroof on my car).

I opted to not have the computer checked by the dealer and will disconnect the battery to re-set it.

General Comments:

The car is fast and gets decent gas mileage. The one big drawback on the car is the poor turn radius. My Nissan Frontier truck has a much better turn radius then my Maxima.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2007

2003 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

Extremely reliable Japanese car, Ver very fast and Good looking like me:-)

Faults:

Paint cracking on rear bumper (that's all)

General Comments:

This car is what I expected and more from the Nissan Maxima (Cefiro) line.

It is a combination of raw power and luxury. It feels exactly like a rocket on four wheels.

Just hit the gas pedal and the Beast roars (VQ35DE ENGINE) VVROOOOOMMM WHOOOOSSSHHHHH (0 TO 100KPH in 6.1 seconds...Automatic). My car is stock.I highly recommend this car since it is absolutely trouble free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2007

2003 Nissan Maxima SE Award Winning VQ35DE from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Award Winning VQ35DE Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance49850 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A Bang For the Buck and Awesome Blend of Luxury and Performance!

Faults:

The car needed an alignment when we first purchased it, but dealer took care of that under warranty. In addition, a rubber grommetwas missing from inside of car and caused a small water leak which was also taken care of under warranty. Besides that car has been trouble free!

General Comments:

Love everything about it. Power, style, room, handling, sporty looks, quality, reliability. This is our second Maxima and is just as beautiful as the last. The max just keeps on getting better and better as the years go by. Stock stereo suck... opt 4 the Bose. Cloth seats are of high quality and feel great. Love the sporty/aggressivelooks (rims, spoiler, headlight design) HID Xenon Headlamps are sweet! My Nissan SE-R Spec V handles better, but hey the Max is a lot bigger and heavier, but handles well for the class... looking to add the 2007 body style to our family. The VQ35DE engine is a blast! It has power and refinement, sounds good and is fuel efficient, and it's a Wards Top Ten Engine... I love the Car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2006

2003 Nissan Maxima ST 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Brilliant car

Faults:

The only thing that has had a fault since owning it is the fuel gauge.

General Comments:

This car has been brilliant to own, great to drive and lots of room. The instrument console is not as nice as say a 2003 Commodore or Fairmont, but it is still very functional. I only wish I had of spent the extra money for the TI with the climate air conditioning.

The 17 inch alloys make the car fairly heavy to steer at parking speeds, and the steering lock is far from great, especially when trying to park in small parking buildings.

A very safe, powerful, yet still economical car. Would happily purchase the next model up, as long as Nissan improved their customer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

7th Jun 2007, 00:11

I just purchased a 2002 (first registered 2003) Maxima ST-R with 38,000kms. It's an absolutely beautiful car. I have read a few comments about faulty fuel gauges, what was the cost in fixing/replacing this??

2003 Nissan Maxima SE 350 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 350 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance12800 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A cheap price to heaven

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my Nissan Maxima 2003.

General Comments:

I was very hesitant to buy a Nissan because I had heard that the costs of labor and parts are very high. After buying my Maxima, I am willing to pay extra for the labor and parts.

My Maxima is everything I wanted in a car. It is sporty, fun, luxurious, and still reasonably priced. As a new college graduate, I feel that I made the right decision to invest in a Nissan. Two thumbs up to my new Nissan Maxima 2003.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

28th Dec 2007, 23:45

Yes, I totally agree with you. Let me add that this model and year of the Maxima itself, has been the most reliable of them all. What are your thoughts on the 2004-present Maxima?

12th Jul 2008, 18:44

I bought my 2003 Maxima new and it has been terrific. To date only 1 return under extended warranty for replacement of front stabilizer supports.

Only complaint I have is that brakes only last 40,000km. Other than that it's a great car with excellent fuel economy and it goes like stink.

Mine was built in Japan, and I hear the newer American built Maximas are not as good, but I sure like mine. For a 5 year old car it still drives like new.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews