2003 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2003 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance11300 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

A Lear jet in automotive form

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car pulls like a locomotive, unstoppable power.

The interior is pure art, very well put together.

Driving this car is not unlike flying a jet. The interior is quiet, with a very pleasing exhaust note.

The Bose stereo is decent, but underpowered for the price. I wish I would have gotten the "base" stereo and upgraded that.

Brakes are strong, and the ABS has a very natural feel to it. There are discs on all four wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

16th Mar 2006, 08:50

How many horsepower does an '03 Maxima have? Would it beat my GTP ('00), with a 3.4" SC pulley, custom exhaust, and K&N Filtercharger kit? I'm just curious, because I hear all the time how quick these late model Maxima's are, but I have never had the opportunity to race one. I'm being told all the time that a stock Nissan Maxima will spank my modified GTP, and I'm just wondering if it is true. Any information would be helpful.

27th Feb 2008, 02:39

VQ35 Max will handily outperform any GTP, modified or not.

26th Mar 2008, 16:23

I own a 2003 Maxima SE and my previous car was a Buick Regal GS. The Regal GS has the same engine as the GTP (240 HP Supercharged). They are virtually the same stock wise. Both in the 6.3-6.6 0-60 range, and both in the 14's for 1/4 mile. I think that off the line the GTP/GS is a bit quicker, but after 35 MPH the maxima is better. When factoring overall quality, gas mileage and the fact that you can still put regular unleaded in it, I favor the Maxima as the better car.

2003 Nissan Maxima SE 6 cylinders from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinders Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Good performance, but cheaply put together

Faults:

I was very excited when I got the 2003 Nissan Maxima, but the car quickly disappointed me in it's cheap quality and poor assembly. After about 3000 miles, the car began to have weird clicking noises in the engine area. Performance is not affected at this point, but when the car accelerates, the engine noise resembles as it something is loose with the engine compartment. Took it to service, but nothing was found. Weird noises also began to appear from the center console area when the car hits a bump. The car is very cheaply put together and the plastic pieces do not gel well as various noises are everywhere.

General Comments:

I would not recommend any Nissan vehicles to anyone since this cheap parts and assembly problem exists on not just the Maxima line. I previously owned a Altima and it had the same problem. My father also owned an Altima and it was the same problem. Nissan Maxima is fairly priced for this market segment, but the quality lacks far behind it's competitors. Even the Camry V6 is better in quality. I am sorry that I purchased my 2003 Nissan Maxima. I should have spent $5000 more to get the Infiniti G35 or the Audi A4 which all felt more "solid". I guess this is the last time that I cheap out in getting a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

25th Oct 2003, 06:35

I wish I had such a problem! Chose a VW Jetta and have had major engine failure! At least the Maxima runs when new!

7th Jan 2004, 10:59

I bought a Max SE 03' in May and have a problem with it driving straight. I feel it constantly pulling from one way to other based on the crown on the road. At no point can I hold the wheel straight and the car goes straight. I have to move it back and forth just slightly, the steering wheel, to stay in the lane.

I've brought it back to the dealer several times and they tell me the alignment is straight, nothing they can do. Has anyone else had a similar problem like this?

Thanks, Adam.

2003 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance7452 miles

Summary:

Power+Luxury=Nissan Maxima

Faults:

Only one thing has gone wrong with this car. The sub-woofer blew out is the first month or two, and that is about all.

General Comments:

This car has the most power I have seen in any car in it's class. Those cars would include the BMW 3 class, and the Lexus IS300. My friend has an IS300, it's power is not as great b/c the maxima has 255 HP, and the IS300 has around 115 HP. The Maxima's engine is in the top 10 engine's in the world so it is very unlikely for it to breakdown before 100,000 miles or even more.

This car's fun factor and power are superb for the cost of the price. the seats, and headrest are very comfortable, I have never sat in a car with any more comfortable seats or headrest. I test drove the all-new Honda Accord, its one of the nicest Accord I have seen (in power and luxury) but the Maxima is 10 times more better then the Accord or the Camry.

There is only one thing I regret about buying the Nissan Maxima GLE, its the fact that I should have gotten the SE, it has chrome rims, and a nicer stock spoiler. otherwise the Maxima which ever one it is (GLX, GLE or SE)a great for every single penny you spend on a Nissan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2003

4th Jun 2003, 16:42

I agree with everything you said, I just want you to change the horsepower you stated about the IS300. I don't think you meant to put 115hp.

4th Jul 2003, 09:26

Yeah, I agree with the guy talking about the IS300 it's got a little more horsepower that that, but other wise great review! :-)

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews