2003 Nissan Maxima GLE from North America - Comments

8th Jul 2003, 16:29

The IS300 has at least 210 hp.

3rd Aug 2003, 20:54

I disagree that the car is in the top ten. I have always driven Mercedes, and currently own several. I have one that I bought new 20 years ago that is just short of the one million mile mark, it has never been rebuilt. I also have a Mercedes 560 with 252,000 on it, with no work done. I don't believe the Maxima would even compare by a long shot.

-just my two cents.

6th Sep 2003, 20:50

The Mercedes Benz owner was definitely talking about old Mercedes Benz as the new generation is plagued with a variety of problems-sunroofs that will not close, remote doors and trunks that will not open in the most expensive classes 500 and 600 series. The MB SUV had outside door trims falling off as it was driven out of the assembly plant. Try to purchase a MB under $30K. The cheapest model will not outperform the latest Nissan Maxima. All MB has left is its name. Rolls Royce if you want the ultimate luxury; BMW for performance; and Lexus for reliability.

15th Sep 2003, 00:07

The two Mercedes I used for the example were an '83 240D, and a '91 560SEL. I stated that I own several (7 Mercedes to be exact) I agree completely that the new cheaper Mercedes do leave something to be desired. However, I have a new S600 and a new G500 (the best Mercedes has to offer) each of them have less than 10,000 miles and so far there has been nothing go wrong. It has been 5 years since I bought a new one, so I hope not to be disappointed. I also agree that Rolls are the most comfortable, I use them myself as weekend cars. I do completely disagree that Lexus are reliable. I have a friend who bought her LS400 (or something like that) new one year ago and she is in the process of filing it under the Lemon Law - enough said. She went with me to the Mercedes dealership when I bought the two new ones, and ended up buying one herself.

19th Oct 2003, 01:47

The top ten list is for vehicles under $50,000. Most mercedes aren't covered in that area.

18th Jan 2005, 10:14

The reviewer didn't say the car was rated in the top ten. The reviewer said the "engine" was rated in the top ten. I've never owned a Nissan (considering a '05) so this isn't a subjective statement. It's true about the engine, just look on the internet.

5th Mar 2005, 05:16

The VW 1.8T was in the 10 best engines list too. Its easy to find the people who had that engine fail.

2nd Sep 2005, 09:01

The fact of the matter is the Nissan VQ engine is on the Ward's 10 Best Engines list for cars priced below $52,500 for the 11th straight year by Ward's Communications, Inc. Whether it's the VQ30DE (3.0) or VQ35DE (3.5) they still are on the top 10 list.

22nd Oct 2006, 22:32

Thanks for saying that I thought I was gonna read another review arguing about Rolls Royce or a Benz. Most true automotive enthusiast know that the VQ engine is and has been 1 of the ten best. That Benz guy is not and auto enthusiest he's a Mercedes enthusiast, and sounds kinda pompous also.

23rd Oct 2006, 19:29

Great review.. I recently just bought a 2003 Maxima GLE after having a 1997 Maxima SE with over 130 k on it, the engines are greatin both Nissan and Honda, they are very reliable cars.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site