2006 Nissan Maxima 3.5 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Nothing; has been serviced regularly at a Nissan Dealer.

General Comments:

I have towed a caravan regularly with this car, and am more than happy with its towing ability. The CVT transmission is ideal for towing. The performance is good, transmission shifting very smooth, with fantastic engine braking feature when changing / slowing down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2011

2006 Nissan Maxima SE 2.5 from North America

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Transmission bangs into drive after backing up to a stop.

Also the transmission bangs from 2nd gear to 3rd gear, or from 3rd gear to 2nd gear, after the car is warmed up.

The wonderful interior certainly doesn't offset the miserable transmission in these vehicles.

General Comments:

There are many examples online and from service techs that back up the fact that this is a terrible transmission.

Many of these transmissions begin failing at approx. 65,000 miles, and Nissan will offer no help. I don't get it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2010

16th May 2014, 20:55

This very same transmission (made by Aisin) has been used in Volvo models, such as the V70 and S60. The issue is that Aisin suggested it's maintenance free for the life time, which was totally wrong. This transmission needs fluid replacement every about 30k miles. It's rather expensive, but if it's not done, the solenoids inside the transmission will get clogged with particles from the friction discs, and will cause shifting issues. Those transmissions need a specific fluid. Now, the good news is, on a transmission that has shifting issues, if it's done early, replacing the solenoids (about $300 in parts off Ebay and 3 hours job without having to remove the transmission from the vehicle) will probably cure the issue. As for the dealers, they will never do this job, asking instead for a complete transmission replacement, at indecent prices.

2006 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 6 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

It had a shimmy and vibration when I first bought it. Multiple trips to the dealer did not repair it. But a new set a Michelin tires fixed that.

Now that it has over 138,000 miles, it is starting to jump a little between 1st and second gear. I have not ever serviced anything except general maintenance, new brakes, and oil changes. So I am not disappointed that this is starting now.

The turning radius is worse than my husband's Ford 350 Econoline van!! So, getting into a parking space can be a several point turn...

General Comments:

I love the ride and appearance of my car!

It hauls so fast, it will put your head against the head rest when you tromp on the gas.

I have navigation, which I will never go without in another purchase!

My husbands 1999 Nisan Maxima SE has 245,000, and is still running like a champ, with no major problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2010

26th Aug 2011, 01:33

1999 is coincidentally when Nissan was saved from bankruptcy by Carlos Ghosn / Renault.

2000 is coincidentally when Nissan started making junk cars en masse. The Maxima went from bulletproof to disposable within one year. Just look at the reviews of 2000 (and newer) Maximas..

Hang on to that '99 as long as you can. That thing will run for another 10+ years if you treat it right. I just bought a 1994 in 2011 and it runs like new with 200k miles on the clock. I test drove a '91 with more miles, and it was running great too.

2006 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Summary:

Hate that I bought it

Faults:

The transmission is going. I have to get it replaced to the tune of 3500 USD. I hate I chose this car. I keep up with all maintenance recommendations and this is what I get. Nissan sucks. They should do a recall as many owners of the Maxima 04-06 have had the same problems.

General Comments:

The car is nice to look at.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2009

30th Aug 2009, 16:25

Can't you give some more details? There's nothing here...

16th Dec 2009, 00:39

Go find a 97. It has the best reviews on here for Maximas.

20th Mar 2011, 10:38

I'm a very happy 1997 Max owner, and from the sounds of it, I will keep looking after my boy until the wheels fall off. My Max is the little engine that could - there just isn't anything I can do to annoy it. It is a solid, reliable, affordable car that knows how to GO! I second going out and finding a 97 Max!

6th Dec 2014, 05:41

If you find a '97 Max that hasn't been abused or subject to road salt, you can't go wrong with them. They can be quirky at times, but are amazing cars. I'm only getting rid of mine because the road salt is eating it from the bottom up, starting with the radiator mount and wheel wells. Otherwise I think the car would outlast me.

2006 Nissan Maxima SL 3.5 from North America

Faults:

The transmission is jerking, and I've had a heat shield problem fixed numerous times and it is still recurring. Probably my first and last Nissan also.

General Comments:

Beautiful and comfortable. Turns heads and I love it. Other than the issues I'm having mechanically.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2009

2006 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Nissan has to be about the worst car company I have ever dealt with. Brought my car back many times for the shimmy and vibration. They could not fix it. They get your money and run. They don't care about the customer, and won't admit that there is an engineering problem with the Maxima.

The car was designed with too much aluminum in the front end, so what you have is a harmonic vibration.

The lemon law is a joke. Your car has to be on the brink of destruction to get it awarded (been down this road).

I am now having problems with the CD player skipping due to the laser being off, probably from the vibration in the car. I have changed the rims, tires etc.

First and last Nissan for me. Should have gone with the Honda.

General Comments:

Oh before I forget... the fragile parts on the car; the metal on the car is horrible and dents very easily. Try to change the air filter and the tabs snap off.. need I say more..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2008