1986 Nissan Micra Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1986 Nissan Micra DX 988cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 988cc Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic, cheap little "Super-mini"

Faults:

Vacuum tubes deteriorated at 73500 miles. Replaced easily and quickly.

Choke problems (at one point she was running on the choke all the time resulting in a very thirsty engine!)

Exhaust has gone once while I have owned her and three times before that.

Very squeaky and irritating windscreen-wiper which has resisted every attempt to be silenced!

Timing needs adjustment at every service.

General Comments:

Fantastic little runabout!

Heating system is excellent... she heats up to normal temperature from cold in around 4 minutes (7 minutes in winter)

For a small engine, she has quite a kick. She cruises happily at 70mph, but get fussy when asked to do anything more.

Fuel economy is ridiculously cheap! She will give 60+ mpg on long straight runs at high speeds and approx. 30 mpg around town.

Interior equipment is very sparse, but this should mean less to go wrong, shouldn't it?

One small thing... the heating vents on the dashboard are an awkward shape and fail to hold an 'in-car air-freshener' securely.

Known as "The Boneshaker" to my mum and Gran, she is really fun to drive! And as someone as so rightly said "like a Go-Cart"!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

1986 Nissan Micra GL 1.0 from Germany

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired202000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

A small, reliable car, also suitable for longer rides

Faults:

Fuel filter was cloaked, shock absorber had to be replaced, brakes needed repair.

General Comments:

This car is really a reliable car, it ran over 220.000 kilometres, but still does a fabulous job. The gasoline-consumption is very small (about 5 litres per 100 km!!!). This car has also very comfortable seats and a good heating-system.

The Micra is easy to handle and may be driven fast around curves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

1986 Nissan Micra DX 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

A reliable bargain and great fun

Faults:

Nothing yet, but will require an MOT very soon.

Paintwork fading.

Outer sills have been welded prior to owning.

General Comments:

This car is fairly quick for its engine size. At 30 - 45 MPH, a superb little engine.

Petrol seems to last quite a long time, even with my 'learner' fiance. Insurance is very low.

Lots of space for 2 up front (I'm 6ft) and good leg room for 2 passengers. A small boot as a compromise.

Nowhere to rest your arms whilst driving!!!

Interior and equipment a little sparse, but that does mean less to go wrong.

Great to drive, just like a go-kart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

1986 Nissan Micra Collette 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Good car for a new driver

Faults:

Needed a new exhaust, but that's due to the age of the car.

General Comments:

Cheap to run.

Very cheap to insure.

Low tax.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1986 Nissan Micra Collette 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired114494 miles
Most recent distance131567 miles

Summary:

Fabulous, reliable first time car!

Faults:

Nothing major. I had to have a new exhaust fitted but that was only expected due to it's age!

Overall it has been brilliant and very reliable!

General Comments:

It has been a brilliant car and really easy to drive. It was ideal for my first car. I drove my family's Citroen Saxo for a while but much prefer the handling of the Micra. I don't agree with the other review that someone has written at all! I think it must depend on how well people look after their cars in the first place!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

1986 Nissan Micra Collette Puny from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission Puny Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles

Summary:

Run in the opposite direction as fast as you can

Faults:

Everything. Mostly electrics and weather proofing, leaks. I had it for 9 months and it spent 4 of those in the garage being 'fixed'. I had to return the car and dump it outside the dealer, and threaten legal action before I got my money back. They saw sense before I contacted my lawyer.

General Comments:

This car is awful. I hated it, it's the crappest car ever built. Don't buy one, don't even think of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

13th Feb 2001, 14:40

Strange. There's been nothing wrong with our 1988 Micra in the eight years we've owned it. I'll agree the new Nissans aren't as good as the old Datsun cars, but I think they're still better than most that you can buy today.

12th Jun 2001, 09:08

I had one of these years ago when it was still quite new and I had no end of trouble with it. I was very disappointed as I was led to believe they were quite good. I never bought another one and stayed with Ford from then on with no problem at all.

30th Sep 2001, 16:18

Our Nissan Micra's alright, can't think why you criticise them, (although a decent stereo wouldn't go a miss)!

14th Feb 2006, 05:30

A bad Micra? Impossible! The Micra (1986) I drove as a company car (sorry, I cannot mention the business as I am still working there!) up to only a few years ago accumulated over 350,000 kilometers, was driven very hard (sometimes up to 130 Km/h) by four different employees, 9 hours a day (continuously), every day, in all weather, for over 11 years. It was maintained by the book, never required any major repairs, never broke down on the job, and when it was finally retired, a gentleman bought it for use in his clockworks business, and is still seen from time to time in town, still going. (1986 Micra 4-door hatchback, 1200 engine (I think), and 3-speed automatic.) Would I buy one for myself? Definitely!

1986 Nissan Micra LX 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Very cheap and reliable run-about

Faults:

At 110k the engine blew. New engine fitted (£600).

Alternator packed in at 135k.

Oil pressure switch at 132k.

Intermittent driver's side speaker.

General Comments:

Don't buy this car if you intend on doing a lot of 70mph travel, the economy goes from 45-50 mpg to 23 mpg. Very noisy at and over 70mph (still quite noisy there too).

Gearbox still going but becoming a bit 'grisly'.

Don't be put off by rusty panels as they just bolt on and are easy to find.

Predictable and linear handling. No surprises.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 13 reviews