1987 Nissan Micra Reviews

1987 Nissan Micra L 1.0L petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0L petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Summary:

Great little car

Faults:

Very little. Had a new clutch. Some exhaust repairs. New shock absorbers.

General Comments:

Had 11 years of reliability. Not made for long journeys, but I still drove it on 500 mile round trips regularly. Eventually got rid of it due to arrival of child and need for something bigger. Sold it to a friend for £300 and it lasted another 4 years or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2007

1987 Nissan Micra SGL 988 cc from UK and Ireland

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 988 cc Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance48850 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A great town car, very reliable and cheap to run!

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I'm 6'2" and am quite happy driving this small car.

Always starts first turn of the key.

Automatic gearbox is performing very well. Engine is very quiet on tick-over, and there's no vibration.

Wife and kids love the car.

It's a bit sluggish, and was not designed for long distance motorway driving.

This car is superb for town driving, and I'm getting about 35 - 40 per gallon of unleaded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2004

1987 Nissan Micra Colette 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

A great little car!

Faults:

New clutch/gearbox required at 75000 miles.

Slight rust caused by water leak - easily treated.

General Comments:

A fantastic little car, never caused more than a moments trouble, even the gearbox was cheap to replace.

The car never failed to start first time or complete a journey, regularly returning 45+ mpg.

Most of the components were the original, gearbox only needed replacement due to lots of town/city trips.

Servicing and insurance was cheap, and replacement parts were readily available at good prices.

Surprisingly comfortable on long journeys thanks to fairly tall gearing.

Engine ran as sweet as a nut due to regular servicing and oil/filter changes every 3-4000 miles.

The main problem I have with the car is that I don't own it anymore!! It was a mistake to change it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

1987 Nissan Micra L 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Low cost extremely reliable car to own

Faults:

New engine after 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very sparse equipment in this model.

Surprisingly comfortable to drive, I used to do two trips of 200 miles a week without stops.

Very frugal on fuel 50 mpg average even at 75mph motorway trips.

Extremely reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

1987 Nissan Micra GL 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carnissan micra

Summary:

Read this before you buy!

Faults:

Worn piston rings. In the mpg fuel figures, consider and the mpg of oil!

Faulty Carb. Never keeps idle at cold, even after adjustments.

Suspension is so bad; even after replacing it. Don't carry eggs in this car.

Engine throws oil in carb. from the upper hoses... so prepare to change a lot of air filters.

General Comments:

Nissan Micra is the car that I wouldn't recommend even to my worst enemy. I had two at the past and both of them had exactly the same problem.

Micra engines wear out quick and the 1.0 lt seems underpowered even for that small car. Don't be blinded from the fuel economy they claim... this applies only when the car are new. Believe me that most 1.3 cars are more economic than that in town.

Some lad wrote in his review that for reliability he gives it 9/10.???Interesting...maybe I am unlucky and all the other people I know that they lost their money because the engine will never pass MOT (due to smoke) are unlucky.

Conclusion: If you search for a small reliable car, avoid Micras. There are so many other at the same price that will last longer... Sorry Micra owners... but after 1000 spend on these, the only thing that stays to remind me it... is the Haynes manual:) )

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st April, 2002

18th Feb 2005, 20:21

Just for reference, the Micra is available with a 1.o engine in europe and japan. this is the most common engine, there are very few 1.2's.

I drive a 1990 1.0, and it has never let me down. fuel economy is brilliant, better than my previous 1997 seat ibiza!!!

1987 Nissan Micra GL 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance238000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Probably the best car that I'll ever buy!

Faults:

Original clutch went at 228,000 km (142,000 miles).

Cannot remember ever changing the battery.

Tyres get a little bit worn, due to a worn wheel bearing.

The front spoiler caught on a pothole, denting the wing, which has since rusted over the arch.

The rear number plate bulbs seem to blow quite a lot (probably due to slamming the hatch down).

General Comments:

One previous owner, who garaged it every day for 5 years.

Very nippy little car at 30mph in traffic. Doesn't really like doing 60mph+ anymore, though it will do it.

Very economical. Got 55MPG+ out of it every week over the summer. Will happily do 30mph in fifth gear, which helps the fuel economy.

In the 10 years that I've had this car, apart from the welding needed for the dented wing, it's only ever failed its MOT test on bulbs and emissions, both of which were sorted by the MOT testers at no charge.

I get in this car, and never even doubt for one minute that its going to start or get me to where I want to go.

I service the car 'about once per year', and have replaced the cam belt twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

18th Oct 2001, 05:03

There are better cars for the money, buy smart.

28th Oct 2001, 17:11

I paid about £2800 for the car back in Feb 1992. That makes the depreciation costs about £300 per year.

With the only additional costs being normal service costs, new tyres, etc., I don't think that that is too bad at all.

What exactly are you hinting at?

27th Nov 2001, 12:54

I have been learning to drive in a 1989 Micra and have found it to be a really super car. For a 1.0L engine, it has power (considerably better than the Corsa which I also learnt in), it is reliable, smooth, and the driving position is excellent. Could do with a cushion in the Corsa and I'm 5"11!

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews