1987 Nissan Micra Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Nissan Micra GL 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Probably one of the cheapest cars ever to run

Faults:

Occasionally the car dies, and then almost immediately starts again. Looking at how the loom has been mangled, it's owner abuse rather than an intrinsic fault!

Considering it's a C-plate the rust on the main body is much better than my E-plate Fiesta. However the door has a severe dose of rot!

General Comments:

It does handle particularly sweetly, the steering is heavy and not very precise. This is made worse by the worst steering wheel in history, thin and rock hard.

The seats are also not very supportive.

So why do I like it? Simply because it costs so little to run, and is very simple to work on (unlike more modern Nissans!) Much more than 60mph is straining the poor old thing now, but on a run keeping to 55mph, 60mpg is possible!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2001

1987 Nissan Micra Collette 1.0 petrol unleaded from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol unleaded Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

A nice motor for young drivers or those with very little money

Faults:

I had an earth leakage from my battery that took absolutely ages to find. It was some wiring under the dashboard which was really hard to get to.

General Comments:

A great little car, really suited to first time drivers and students.

The seats are a little uncomfortable, but if you move around enough, you will find a fairly comfortable position.

It's a really cheap car to run, and will do about 30-40 miles per gallon. When you consider that the tank will hold 8.8 gallons, you've got good value.

The visibility is excellent for such a small car, there's plenty of room to see what's going on around you.

For such a small engine, it accelerates quite quickly, and will travel along without too many problems at 60+ miles per hour.

Problem: That bloody steering wheel! It makes me think that Nissan ran out of normal sized ones when they were building the Micra's, so they nicked a few lorry wheels! The thing is huge, thin, and really hard to grip. If you should slip and let go of it at high speed, you've got no chance! That's why I replaced mine with a normal size one, which is easy to grip.

Overall, a great, cheap to run little car, they look pretty good customised too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2001

28th Dec 2004, 06:57

Hi could you tell me where you got your replacement steering wheel.

Thanks.

1987 Nissan Micra Collette 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54200 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Would make a good girly shopping car if the boot was bigger, but that is all it is fit for

Faults:

Major electrical problems.

Water inside when it rained.

The most uncomfortable car I have ever owned.

Upholstery is not suitable for sitting on, should just be ornamental.

General Comments:

Awful.

It's seriously underpowered and no good in a hilly area. Did not like going over 50 very much, but would cruise all day at that.

Reasonable fuel consumption only because it does not go very fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

2nd Feb 2001, 16:30

Our '89 LS Micra will cruise easily at 85MPH so if yours doesn't like going over 50 then you've got a problem. I think you've bought the unlucky one, because ours doesn't leak and is fairly comfortable, however the gearbox is bad due to a crap service at Lex, but that's about it. No rust.

1987 Nissan Micra LX 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Only suitable for first time and old drivers

Faults:

Door hinges were replaced due to wear and tear. All the previous owners were women so they must have been doing something right.

General Comments:

A great little car for first time and old drivers. Surprisingly reliable on cold mornings but avoid if you have a family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2000

1987 Nissan Micra L (Mirage) 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10

Faults:

In three years ownership

General 'wear and tear':

- 3 exhausts

- 4 shock absorbers

- 2 (or 3?) sets of brake pads

- 1 clutch

- set of tyres

- about a dozen light bulbs

Other:

- Cambelt snapped resulting in

- failed repair - £380

- new engine - £800

- Recurring misfire/lack of power/missing problem for last 18 months which has yet to be identified.

General Comments:

It's a right pile.

Granted, it was eight years old when I bought it and a lot of the wear and tear stuff was to be expected or can be put down to crappy parts. Perhaps the engine problem could have been prevented by replacing the cambelt on purchase (I highly recommend this to anyone buying one) but I do feel I can justifiably blame the damned thing for all my problems in life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 1998

23rd Apr 2001, 08:45

You must be doing something wrong. My '87 SGL (basically the same vehicle) has done 120,000 miles. I replace the cam belt every 40000 - quite a simple job.

Problems? I have just replaced the distributor cap following poor running.

Other costs? the usual consumables - points, plugs, tyres etc. I'm still on the 2nd battery.

Not fast or sexy, or too comfortable as a back seat passenger, but good & reliable.

Lesson from a previous Datsun Micra - if the water pump bearings start playing up, change it quickly or it will slip the cam belt, with the usual results.

30th Sep 2001, 16:20

We've had Datsuns/Nissans for years with very little trouble.

9th Feb 2007, 19:42

I would be interested in knowing what kind of trailer, large or otherwise, one can pull with a Micra?

Previous poster please enlighten.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews