1989 Nissan Micra Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1989 Nissan Micra GLX 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carNissan Not listed

Summary:

Could be a bargain buy

Faults:

Unpredictable power loss problem.

Engine does not cut, but suddenly loses power and sounds like misfiring.

Even if I get the revs up high and then release the clutch (or drop a gear with high revs) she will not move and seems to choke (nosedive).

This mysteriously disappears if I play with the revs and switch the car off and try again (play about for 5 min).

This problem occurs once a week, twice a day, very unpredictably. I might be expecting a lot from the year model. If similar problems arise, please advise.

General Comments:

I bought my Micra 3 months ago from two previous lady owners (mom and her daughter). Low mileage for year model. I definitely would be able to fill this space once I resolve my problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

19th Apr 2004, 03:37

I had a similar problem with my Metro it turned out to be the condenser (small silver thing inside the distributer) very cheap to replace think it cost about £5. Hope this helps.

24th Aug 2005, 12:13

Could also be blocked fuel lines (hence loss of power), and then suddenly becoming unblocked. Could be dirty petrol at your local petrol station, try a different petrol station, that might help.

1989 Nissan Micra k10 1.0 from Greece

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

A reliable small economy car with performance and comfort for those who like smart cars ; -)

Faults:

I have just replaced distributor.

Some noises from the plastic parts of the car's interior.

General Comments:

Fast accelerating for an one liter engine.

Good handling.

Big cabin although it's small size.

Cheap to run.

Fun to drive (i like the sound when I rev it up)

The seats don't keep you good at the corners.

I would like it more powerful and lowered with alloy wheels!

Parts for the car here are expensive for it's size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

11th Mar 2004, 04:28

I think the nissan micra is a very reliable car in which I find mechanically superb, I have an 86 k10 in which time very minor things have been done, the exterior looks brilliant with a body kit, which was fairly easy to fit, out of 10 I give this car 8.

1989 Nissan Micra GLX 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Cheap, cheerful runabout you can depend on

Faults:

Doors need a bit of a slam to shut.

Timing was out, resulting in reduced performance, increased fuel consumption and juddering... eventually this and a dodgy carb caused the car to stall when the accelerator wasn't being applied.

Installed new leads, plugs and distributor fixed a few problems with poor starts, uneven idling and misfiring. Even so it doesn't always like the cold or wet and needs a good kick of the accelerator to get going.

General Comments:

It's not glamourous, speedy or exciting. But it's reliable, robust and easy to drive.

Perfect for a city runabout, it's nippy and nimble. It goes 0-30 quite fast, and can handle up to 50 happily. Motorways (70 and above) mean twitchy handling, an uneven and noisy ride and a bit of terror. Nevertheless even with 1 litres of throbbing power it's managed 90mph and could have gone off the speedo at 100 if I didn't value my life as much and eased off the throttle.

If you need a car for shopping, or as a new driver's first car, it's perfectly suited - however long distance cross country runs are best left to something a bit more powerful and bigger.

DO: take it to the shops, drive a friend around, commute, drive around town and the backroads.

DON'T: take it on the motorway for a long trip, try to accelerate with five people in the car, go around a roundabout at more than 30mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

1989 Nissan Micra LS .74L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission .74L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

A great bargain for around town use

Faults:

The head gasket failed at 120000 km.

The power transistor failed at 100000 km.

The ignition has an intermittent "no spark" problem I am trying to fix. It is not the power transistor or coil assembly.

General Comments:

This has been a great little car.

I hope to fix this problem using used parts.

New part prices are outrageous.

The power transistor costs $175 CAD.

The car was rust proofed and now shows very little rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2002

16th Oct 2002, 16:47

A Nissan Micra in North America? Since when?!

22nd Jul 2004, 19:22

Nissan Micra has been in CANADA since the early eighties, but we only got the K10 model.

6th May 2008, 15:49

I am in Canada and recently bought a 1989 Nissan Micra for the low kilometers on it as well as the awesome shape it was in. Apparently owned by a driving school previously, this sweet little car is a must for any one looking for fuel efficiency and a no nonsense car. The cost of insurance, and gas has definitely had a positive impact on my wallet. I have been offered double for what I paid for it, even before I added a stereo and new tires! If you have one, keep it!!! I love my new little car!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews