1989 Nissan Micra Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1989 Nissan Micra LS 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles

Summary:

Cheap no frills motoring, but ideally a first car only

Faults:

Bulbs throughout constantly blew.

Battery kept discharging and needed replacing.

General Comments:

Had very good first gear acceleration and good exhaust noise for a 1.0.

The cabin is made very light by the large windows.

The car is easy to drive and park, but the steering can become very heavy in tight turns.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

4th Oct 2002, 17:49

I have exactly the same model from the same year with roughly the same mileage on the clock, no problems whatsoever, a bit dull to look at, but runs like a dream and it is so easy to drive. Exceptionally reliable, it's never let me down yet. In the time I have had it I have not spent a penny on repairs.

1989 Nissan Micra GS 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

Do not Buy, they are awful

Faults:

Needed a new head gasket, o rings, oil was spitting into the waterways.

New hoses the oil that was spitting into the waterways was also spitting out into the engine bay and was softening the hoses, this used them to split.

New suspension, it was like jelly and caused the tires to wear on the inside edges, they went from brand new to illegal in 5 months.

General Comments:

The sound of the radio through the speakers is awful.

The parcel shelf rattles a lot.

The seats are generally uncomfortable.

It will only have some form of speed when it has been knocked down 2 gears to overtake or you have to thrash the hell out of it to go anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2002

25th Jul 2002, 16:30

Do Buy! They are great!

This person is complaining about their 1989 GS model and I have an LS model from the same year which was the cheapest model made. It is a great car, in 112,000 miles it has never let me down and it always starts first time. This person must have just had a bad one, maybe it was abused by the previous owner. As for the person saying it is slow, WHAT?!? My standard 1.0 has done as fast as the speedo will allow, 100+, isn't yours a 1.2?

19th Aug 2002, 15:53

I'm 18, and have a GS Nissan Micra (1989) as my first car. It's brilliant and never lets me down. It starts up first time every time, and I find it economical and also fun to drive. Plus, it looks smart and gets me where I want to go. I'd recommend it to anyone.

30th Apr 2009, 04:30

I have a nissan micra 1989 1.0 GS and iv had it a year... it is FANTASTIC!!! cheap to insure, cheap to run and tax. and I can razz my friends Merc A-class any day of the week. I mean really spread him all over the road. its quite a sight (Y) :D great car.

1989 Nissan Micra DX 1.0 petrol from Malta

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

An economical reliable car

Faults:

Nothing yet till now except some minor trouble in the electrical system.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable and economical.

However the car parts here in Malta are very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

1989 Nissan Micra LS 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance110242 miles

Summary:

It's fast and won't let you down

Faults:

A new starter motor at 90,000 miles.

Suffered one break down in it's life through a fault in the distributor cap. This problem was only a small problem and was fixed free of charge.

General Comments:

My first thoughts of a Micra were that it would be sloooooow and didn't have much style, but I bought it because it was cheap and cheap to run, and as a poor student, the running costs were the most important aspect I had to consider. In saying that, mine is a particularly attractive example of a car of this age with only a minor patch of rust on the front wheel arch. These cars have a surge of acceleration on start off. I have took mine to speeds of 90MPH with passengers in the rear. I never thought it would go so fast. It is parked outside every night in all weather conditions, summer and winter and has NEVER failed to start with the first turn of the key. It has suffered one breakdown which could be said is down to lack of maintenance on my part. Insurance and tax is cheap, seats are fairly comfortable and the cabin is spacious enough. The only complaint I have is that awful standard radio Nissan fitted, I have since took it out and fitted a decent one! In short, it is an excellent car. Someone has wrote on this website that their Micra, similar to mine doesn't go faster than 50mph, but I can assure you all cars will go faster than 50mph if you use the thing called a gearbox. Nissan Micra's 1983-93 have zero defects from my experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

9th May 2006, 09:24

One of the most underrated small cars: they are fast, smooth, very reliable, and you get 40 mpg. You will get one for £400 now and wave goodbye to all the saxos as they stare in amazement.

13th Jun 2006, 12:59

I have a Nissan 1.0L micra and I have reached 107 mph. I am currently trying to make it go faster...

2nd Aug 2007, 06:26

How did you get it to 107 mph? Was it down hill and what year and liter is it?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews