1994 Nissan Micra Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Nissan Micra L 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

Great little bundle of joy

Faults:

I Have experienced no problems. The only things that needed replacing were the bulbs and tires. Even these had a long life.

General Comments:

This car is a great little car. Considering it only has a 1.0 litre engine it is surprisingly swift. I can fly past all cars in it's class thanks to the power of the 16 valves.

Reliability to second to none. This is typical for Japanese cars.

Replacement parts are not as expensive as for other Japanese manufacturers, but are still a bit pricey. Fortunately this car will run and run.

Interior is a bit dull. It is functional, but not very exciting.

Styling of the outside "bubble" shape is not to every bodies satisfaction.

Not a single piece of rust, comparing to other manufactures cars of the same age that have visible rust.

Same battery since new. This is a 8 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2002

1994 Nissan Micra 1.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29899 miles
Most recent distance57019 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Reliable town car

Faults:

At the 39,000 mile service the car needed a new exhaust, new headlights, new rear brake cylinders, and a full service cost £570.

At the 48,000 mile service the car needed new tyres and wheel balance, total cost £250.

It developed a stalling problem, which the dealer was twice unable to put right.

General Comments:

My Micra was an excellent car in town. It was easy to park, good on fuel and cheap to tax.

The cars build quality was far superior to the Vauxhall I owned before.

However I needed to change the car because I do 18000 miles a year and it started to take its toll on the engine.

I would recommend the Nissan dealer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

1994 Nissan Micra LX 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

A leopard in a turtle shell

Faults:

Immobiliser failed (Nissan Anti Theft System) causing complete Engine Management System shut down until the immobiliser reset itself.

Not all the heater dials work (only on full).

Headlamp terminals melt.

General Comments:

From 0-60 miles per hour this Micra is quick, but I have found that it spins out a lot on corners.

However they do not have a lot of room left in the engine compartment for access to parts like the clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2001

20th Jan 2002, 13:10

In response to: "However they do not have a lot of room left in the engine compartment for access to parts like the clutch."

I wonder if your car had ABS? The ABS module sits directly over the clutch cable adjuster and it's a real struggle to undo the locknut when the cable gets too tight. The non-ABS car looks easier for access.

1994 Nissan Micra L Boston 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance38500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I wish my company car was a micra!

Faults:

A photocell that regulated the fuel injection needed replacing in 1998 just after the warranty ran out. The fault caused the car to lose power from time to time. The dealer couldn't figure out the fault and a trusty local mechanic managed to diagnose the problem.

Wear & tear - nothing other than the usual service stuff e.g. oil change.

General Comments:

I love my micra and even although I have a newer company car (top of range Corsa) I get my daughter to drive that rather than give up my baby!

Millie's paint work is, apart from the odd stone chip, immaculent.

For a 1.0 car its power, comfort and economy is excellent around town, although it can be a little sluggish on the motorway when fully laden. Only two things I wish it had - a clock and intermittent front wiper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

26th Apr 2003, 14:19

Hi,

I own a Micra LX 1.0 -91. It has a clock, but no intermittent front wiper. But I'm very happy with the car anyway, it's really reliable, cheap to own, easy to drive. Most of my friends think a car this small is crap, but you have to own a Micra to really realize it's advantages.

/R.P. Sweden.

1994 Nissan Micra Wave 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance56800 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Excellent reliable well made supermini

Faults:

Leaking oil seal and blocked washer jet replaced at the first service.

General Comments:

Excellent and very reliable car which has never let me down and has been very cheap to run.

Metallic paintwork is still as good as the day it was bought as are most other areas of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

1994 Nissan Micra LX 1.3 from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

I think it's one of the best cars I have had

Faults:

Rear brakes spill oil at 120,000.

General Comments:

I love this car. I have modified the outside, inside and engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2001

1994 Nissan Micra L 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carDatsun Sunny

Summary:

A very good car in its class

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great town car, very reliable, cheap running costs, easy to park and not too bad on the motorway considering its engine size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2000

1994 Nissan Micra SLX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Engine flooding- failure to start; Drop link on rear suspension needs replacing.

General Comments:

Good solid around town; modest comfort.

High motorway petrol consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 1999

1994 Nissan Micra Tropic 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Corking little engine, very light, stunning on the brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

12th Sep 2007, 06:16

I own a 1994 Nissan Micra and it's a great car when it goes! I have had to replace the exhaust, gearbox, clutch, brake pads and discs! I bought it with 68,000miles on the clock and a new clutch HAD already been fitted! I find there is always something worng with this car even though I've been assured I only spent £600 on it and have only spend around £500 repairing it! I have had over a years driving! I feel it isn't good for high speeds!

1994 Nissan Micra L 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Slight problems with the suspension but it was simply sorted out.

The gearbox failed last month but apparently this is common after about three years.

General Comments:

Great little car and performance seems to have got better with age.

Could do with more comfortable seats though for longer journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 1997

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 19 reviews