2012 Nissan Navara Standard 2.5 turbo diesel from Malaysia

Summary:

Bad

Faults:

Power steering oil leak, engine oil leak at drain hole, flywheel broken, suspension noise despite change the absorber mounting.

General Comments:

Not reliable, high maintenance cost, and the low body is not suitable for off road use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2015

4th Oct 2015, 07:35

You don't even say how it drives, off road handling, fuel economy etc. I know of people with similar models, but they are quite happy with their ride. Your car must be a lemon.

9th Jan 2019, 13:54

I have been driving my D40 since Feb 2012. Almost 7 years now.

1. What I have done:

a. Body lift 2.5 inches.

b. Suspension lift approximately 1.5 inches + OEM spring lift.

c. 33” or 35” tires.

d. Regularly a medium to medium hardcore off-road in a tropical environment.

2. Here are what I have gone through:

a. Turbo fan cracked because I wrongly fitted a K&N air filter (not oiled). Hence dust entered and damaged the turbine blade (not the manufacturer’s fault).

b. Speed sensor faulted ONCE and lost 4 wheel engagement. Will be restored after the mud has dried.

c. Alternator bearing (finally the wear and tear issue) broke and the flywheel dislodged - replaced 2 bearings, 1 shaft and belting.

Other than that, absolutely nothing. It has the power and torque. Suspension is the best in its class. Off road performance is excellent.

I have driven my D40 to Cambodia from Kuala Lumpur (2500 km one way) on 4 occasions and twice to Phnom Penh.

Numerous trips to Thailand.

100s of genuine hard medium to occasional hardcore off-roading.

It outperforms all other models.

Thanks.

2003 Nissan Navara D22 2.5 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Surprisingly powerful diesel has been a brilliant performer

Faults:

Replaced driver's seatbelt.

Rear spring shackle bushes.

General Comments:

The Navara has been brilliant work vehicle, no problems as yet. Was bought ex lease with a full service history, and since then have replaced oil every 5000km and filter every 10,000km.

Powerful diesel engine great for towing. Good fuel economy.

The ride is quite bumpy when empty, but does improve with more weight in the back.

Rear seating is quite cramped (I have a double cab version), but is adequate for 2 adults if not too tall.

Fairly ordinary sound from the factory stereo.

The paint work does seem to mark fairly easily, as some other reviewers have commented.

The Navara still serves me very well, and over the last 80,000km I have had to spend practically no money, other than routine servicing costs.

No hesitation in recommending to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2011

5th May 2014, 05:25

Have now got 250,000km on the Navara. Still been very reliable with only very minor problems (broken battery hold down, loose trim on rear bumper). Have also worn a hole in the driver's side seat from entering and exiting the car. Quoted $80 to repair.

2003 Nissan Navara 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nissan should recall these models

Faults:

Was really pleased with the pickup, but I heard last week on Watchdog on the BBC, that there were problems with engines built between 2002 and 2006; the con-rod could snap, as a number of faulty ones had been cast and were not strong enough.

I decided to contact Nissan; they informed me that only 3% built during that period could be faulty, and that mine should be OK, but they were extending the warranty on the car.

Little did I expect, that today while traveling at 55mph with no warning, the engine went bang and oil was spilling all over the road. Nissan tells me they will replace engine if the con-rod has snapped.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2008

2006 Nissan Navara Double Cab 2.5 diesel from South Africa

Summary:

I will most likely buy Toyota next

Faults:

The rear ride height is uneven, the ride height in the left is 15mm lower than the right. The dealer does not have an explanation, they replaced the leaf springs, but it did not solve the problem. The leaf springs are not adjustable.

The paint is of poor quality and has started fading after 6 months.

General Comments:

None.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

2nd Mar 2019, 11:38

My 2007 Nissan Navara D40 purchased in 2013 with 85,000 miles on clock, required:

Clutch £1400.

New wheels (recall).

Timing chain £2300; this should have been carried out on a recall. Limited to 5 years only. I was told by Nissan that if it wasn't requested it wasn't done.

Welding to under rear end carriage (recall) + resealing. Some had broken across the back axle area. I was told this was a check up. BUT I have been a welder for over 40 years, I kind of noticed. I hope this will be printed.

Otherwise a great motor.