2003 Nissan Navara D22 2.5 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Surprisingly powerful diesel has been a brilliant performer

Faults:

Replaced driver's seatbelt.

Rear spring shackle bushes.

General Comments:

The Navara has been brilliant work vehicle, no problems as yet. Was bought ex lease with a full service history, and since then have replaced oil every 5000km and filter every 10,000km.

Powerful diesel engine great for towing. Good fuel economy.

The ride is quite bumpy when empty, but does improve with more weight in the back.

Rear seating is quite cramped (I have a double cab version), but is adequate for 2 adults if not too tall.

Fairly ordinary sound from the factory stereo.

The paint work does seem to mark fairly easily, as some other reviewers have commented.

The Navara still serves me very well, and over the last 80,000km I have had to spend practically no money, other than routine servicing costs.

No hesitation in recommending to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2011

5th May 2014, 05:25

Have now got 250,000km on the Navara. Still been very reliable with only very minor problems (broken battery hold down, loose trim on rear bumper). Have also worn a hole in the driver's side seat from entering and exiting the car. Quoted $80 to repair.

2003 Nissan Navara 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nissan should recall these models

Faults:

Was really pleased with the pickup, but I heard last week on Watchdog on the BBC, that there were problems with engines built between 2002 and 2006; the con-rod could snap, as a number of faulty ones had been cast and were not strong enough.

I decided to contact Nissan; they informed me that only 3% built during that period could be faulty, and that mine should be OK, but they were extending the warranty on the car.

Little did I expect, that today while traveling at 55mph with no warning, the engine went bang and oil was spilling all over the road. Nissan tells me they will replace engine if the con-rod has snapped.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2008

2006 Nissan Navara Double Cab 2.5 diesel from South Africa

Summary:

I will most likely buy Toyota next

Faults:

The rear ride height is uneven, the ride height in the left is 15mm lower than the right. The dealer does not have an explanation, they replaced the leaf springs, but it did not solve the problem. The leaf springs are not adjustable.

The paint is of poor quality and has started fading after 6 months.

General Comments:

None.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

2003 Nissan Navara STR 3.0 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

Virtually nothing.

General Comments:

Original suspension was dreadful and unbalanced front to rear. Unless heavily loaded it had a lot of trouble on corrugated roads and corners. I replaced the suspension with after-market equipment and now it is much better.

This is a dual-cab, but rear, but there's not much room for rear seat passengers who are better off with very short legs. Excellent fuel echonomy, better than 10 liters/100km. Air conditioning has no trouble with very hot days (45C).

Low gear is too high for serious off-road work, but vehicle is still very capable in the rough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

2002 Nissan Navara Space Cab 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent tow truck, easy too drive but uncomfortable

Faults:

Differential/rear wheel bearings make slight grinding noise when going around corners under power.

Steering wheel loose.

General Comments:

Got the car as a tow truck for my business. It does tow anything and does the job perfectly. Plenty of torque.

Handles OK. Choppy ride and I find the seats a little uncomfortable on long trips. Light and precise controls.

Paint marks very easily.

Good economy from a large truck about 25mpg when towing. I would recommend one for towing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2005

2005 Nissan Navara 2.5 Di from Romania

Summary:

Excellent work car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The best car I've ever had.

The ride comfort is horrible, but this car will get you wherever you want to go.

The suspension holds the road very well, it doesn't under steer at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2005

1998 Nissan Navara DX 2.4 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Buy One

Faults:

This car has been fautless since we bought it, we put the 36 000km on it in 4 months.

Needs some shock absorbers though.

General Comments:

The 36 000 km were put on it in 4 months, that was a couple of years ago, the car is hardly driven now as we have a company car.

As you can see with the full marks this is an excellent work Ute/ family car (it's a Dual cab).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

7th Jan 2006, 21:25

A repair/service manual for my '98 3.2 diesel dual-cab narvara. I cannot find one apart from factory manual. Can anyone help?