1988 Nissan Pathfinder 2.4 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


An affordable great 4x4


The battery did not last long due to a faulty alternator.

Faulty electrics. The lights and window wipers don't work all the time.

Smashed windscreen.

General Comments:

Very reliable all round.

Not enough power for the petrol it uses. A little sluggish uphills. Will get at the most 500 kilometers on a tank of fuel. Only a 4 cylinder motor.

Drives very well on and off road.

Space for your camping equipment with enough space for yourself and your missus to sleep in the back in-case its pissing down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

1988 Nissan Pathfinder XE 3.0L V6 from North America


A great vehicle for off-road use and around-town driving..


Rear axle seal on driver's side started leaking a small amount of gear oil on the brake shoes on one side. Axle seal and brake replacement is necessary. Work will be done by owner.

The transmission started to go out after some heavy off-road use once, but a fluid change, aftermarket transmission coolers and friction modifier additive resolved that problem. An aftermarket transmission cooler is highly recommended, as the stock cooler tends to clog up after a while. This is a leading cause of automatic transmission failures in Nissan Pathfinders.

The driver's side window regulator cable broke while offroading once, it was replaced at home with a regulator from the junkyard for $10. Easy fix.

Right hand cam seal was leaking a bit at 133,000 miles, both cam seals were replaced along with the timing belt, water pump and misc other things.

General Comments:

It has a nicely laid out dash and interior. The exterior looks great even after 15 years. Interior parts still look like new.

Very useful, generally easy to work on, and parts aren't that hard to find. Aftermarket support is lacking, but there are places to look for performance items and offroad accessories such as lift kits and heavier duty suspension components.

The steering system is prone to failing/needing replacement parts with off-road abuse/hard use, this is another known weak point of both Pathfinders and Hardbody pickups. Aftermarket steering systems are slowly becoming available from off-road specialist companies.

The engine is somewhat lacking in power (145 HP for the 1987-1989 3.0 V6 models, 154 HP for 1990-1995 V6 models), but otherwise is considered bulletproof. Regular maintenance and tune-ups will keep this engine running well past 200,000 miles with ease. A mechanic was once heard saying "This engine still looks like new inside" after tearing down a 150,000 mile 3.0 V6.

Remember to change the timing belt every 60,000 miles! A broken timing belt will result in a broken engine. Very expensive to fix if the belt breaks.

Auto transmissions are very expensive to replace or rebuild as well. Fluid changes should be done regularly, as well as adding an aftermarket transmission cooler, because the stock cooler tends to clog up and cause the transmission to overheat. Overheated transmissions don't last long, that's a fact.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2003

1988 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0L from North America


It's old, has many miles, but looks to run for many years and miles


Frankly, not much. Obviously we bought it with a ton of miles on it. But we were able to meet the prior owner. He had all the service and repair records. He could account for every lube, oil and oil change, plus all the standard, scheduled manufacturer service requirements. Lube, oil and filter service occurred on the average every 4,500 miles. When something needed to be fixed, he did it. So the vehicle is in very good condition. It does not need oil added between schedule oil servicing. So we find it without any minor or major problems!

General Comments:

Due to the above mentioned meticulous maintenance of this particular vehicle, it runs as new. It is very reliable and solid. All transfer operations (4 wheel drive and 5 speed transmission) work flawlessly. We are very thankful for this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2003

1st May 2007, 20:45

NISSAN PATHFINDER = the best SUV ever made.

When I was 4 years old, my dad went out and bought a brand new 1988 nissan pathfinder SE. when I first saw the truck, I fell in love. Then he told me, "this will be yours one day." After 160k and 12 years later, it was mine. As a 16-year-old-hormone-full-crazy "I don't care attitude," I literally put that thing to every test imaginable. I would launch the truck 8-10ft in the air, drive it through 3ft deep water, "try to get it stuck" in snow, mud, etc and it had never failed me (0ccationally I was successful in getting it stuck). It really impressed me when I was launching the truck over a 4ft hill and I was not aware that there was a sewer pipe sticking straight out of the ground. I was traveling 40mph, jump the truck, then in mid-air, the rear axle caught the pipe and we came to a dead stop. I thought she was done, but NOPE! I just had a buddy tow me off of it and we kept off-roading! it never burnt oil, or leaked fluids. the only problem was that the A/C compressor went out on us. If I could afford the gas prices, I would greatly consider another '88 pathfinder. it was the meanest looking truck with the brush guard and rear-spare tire cage; especially with some meaty tires on it. sold it because the exhaust system literally rusted and broke off, at the header, where they bend. cheapest parts= $800.00. so I sold it in 1 day at the grocery parking lot for 1,000. ps: a slight drawback from the old pathfinders-- they are rust buckets.

My parents recently purchased a '06 LE pathfinder. WOW is all I have to say. it is VERY powerful. I can't wait to see the '08 pathfinders. there will be an optional v8 (from the armada/titan) ; not that it needs it at all.

However, if I could give nissan a few tips:

1. bring back the 2dr pathfinder or make it a 2dr xterra. nissan needs to bring it back to the basics with a shorter wheel base truck that can better rival the wranglers.

2. the hardbody style was the most classic/timeless/tough pathfinder appearance; they need to get more aggressive with the styling. (i know they have the xterra for that now-a-days, but lets make the SE off-road ed. a little more "beefy."

3. get rid of the 3rd. its too small and that is what the armada is for.

4. GIVE ME A DIESEL!!! (with a turbo)

1988 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0 six cylinder from North America


Drives like a car and tough as nails


To date I have performed the following:

Replaced the radiator.

Replaced the air conditioning system.

Replaced all the shocks with gas filled.

Replaced the brakes.

General Comments:

This vehicle is in very nice condition.

The interior looks to be in showroom condition.

The vehicle drives very well and maybe better than some of the newer ones that I have driven lately.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

1988 Nissan Pathfinder SE 3.0 V6 from North America


Built to last and strong as a tank


My transmission blew at 136,000 miles. I had it rebuilt, which didn't last long. I then bought a used factory transmission and replaced it.

The rear end just went out. I'm still looking for parts for it.

General Comments:

These trucks are built to last.

If it just had a bullet proof drive-train it would be perfect.

My truck has been through the worst winters and hottest summers and always comes out charging hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2001

16th May 2001, 07:04

I have to agree, my 1987 Terrano 2.7 non turbo diesel did the same thing to me, blew the manual transmission at 175,000kms, put in a second hand unit which lasted 25,000kms. Had my box fully rebuilt and its still great. Tyre wear is only real gripe, wheel alignment helps but still need to replace tyres at around 30,000kms. Just hitting 225,000kms and all it needs to keep it humming is regular oil and filter changes.

1988 Nissan Pathfinder XE 3.0 gas from North America


Great truck in cold weather, started in -40 temp without plugging in


Since I have had the Pathfinder I have replaced the timing belt, injectors, brakes, and tires once.

General Comments:

I have been very happy with my SUV. Today I plan to buy a 1993 2wd extended cab pickup. I have bought and sold Datsun Z cars to put myself through school. Nissan is an excellent product, the only gripe I have is the dealerships rake you over the coals, in parts and labor I have yet to use their services.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2000