1988 Nissan Pintara Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1988 Nissan Pintara 2.4 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired148500 kilometres
Most recent distance150200 kilometres
Previous carMazda 929

Summary:

Good Car

Faults:

Transmission slips and leaks.

Speedometer works on and off.

Back drivers side door won't close properly.

General Comments:

I'm pretty happy with my Pintara it is fairly economical and reliable.

Its not the quickest car, but good enough for what I need.

I would recommend one for a first car because they're cheap and easy to get parts for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2005

18th Feb 2012, 21:55

The 1988 Pintara will overheat (inherent design fault) & the dual fire spark system will cost you heaps... I was under the impression this dual fire spark system was discontinued after it was first used in 1988, as it was found to be an absolute disgrace to the reliability of the Nissan brand.

1988 Nissan Pintara EXE 2.0L Unleaded petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Unleaded petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired147930 kilometres
Most recent distance148250 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Very nice to drive. Will just keep going

Faults:

Only just bought it so hard to tell so far, but...

Gear Box a little clunky.

Front seat head rests can be a slight blind spot when reversing

Air Conditioning needs a service

Radio and speakers need replacing.

General Comments:

Very impressed by it so far. It is very economical (about 500 or so k's to a tank) and it has a fair bit of zip left in it. The one I bought is in excellent condition now and I hear they keep going strong for many years and kilometers, so I look forward to a long life with it. It is a big car, but it doesn't feel like it when you drive it. The power steering helps this. It is comfortable. Very functional, ideal for a family, but still looks good enough for young people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2002

19th Jun 2002, 18:05

Hi, you commented on needing to replace the stereo and speakers, well I am in the middle of doing that now, accept I am unsure of how to remove the old head deck. Do I need to remove most of the dash just to get to the stereo?

Thanks two_fiver@hotmail.com.

28th Aug 2005, 21:26

Hi I have just bought a 1989 Nissan Pintara, very good condition, but I have a problem The tail lights don't work and the dash light as well. I have checked the fuses and bulbs, but they are OK. has any one had this problem,could you help with any ideas, I am worried it might be something big. I don't know much about cars and have little money for big repairs, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. other wise it drives well and is very comfortable.Thanks.

23rd Sep 2010, 23:19

I've had my 1988 Nissan Pintara EXE for 6 years now.

It has an inherent problem with the dual fire spark plug system, & is always in need of a tune up ($$$). Nissan stopped the dual fire spark plug system in the very next model, so I'd suggest to anyone who is listening, DO NOT BUY A 1988 NISSAN PINTARA.

Ps - Does anyone know of a way to convert the dual fire spark plug system into a more reliable system?

jffro4210@live.com.au

11th Apr 2013, 20:53

Take out your ash tray and there will be two screws. Just screw them out and the head unit will pop off.

1988 Nissan Pintara 2.0L petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Torana

Summary:

A good, solid, economical and well-designed car

Faults:

Radiator developed a leak.

New brake disc pads required, but this is normal wear and tear.

Driver's side mirror electrics have failed.

General Comments:

Very lively engine with a well matched 5 speed gearbox.

The power steering is precise and accurate.

The ride is comfortable and the general handling is OK.

The body and paint are in excellent condition.

It is a pleasant car to drive, both in the city and country, with plenty of power and quite well optioned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2001

18th Feb 2012, 21:40

I bought a 1988 Nissan Pintara GXE 2.0 - Soon realised an inherent flaw with the twin fire plug system. The aforementioned spark plug system was discontinued in the very next model (1989) & was never used again... Save yourself the $$$ & trouble - DO NOT purchase the 1988 Nissan Pintara unless it's running an upgraded plug & electronics system... Engine mounts have a tendency to crack; other than that, it's a decent car from 1989 onwards.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews