Nissan Presea Reviews

1990 Nissan Presea 1.8 ct II from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.8 ct II Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Newport

Summary:

Wish they still made them!!!

Faults:

Replaced the alternator once.

Replaced belt pulleys twice.

Replaced front strut twice.

Plastic A/C vents all bubbled and melted in the harsh NZ sun.

Required oversize springs and shocks, as the road clearance was down to 90mm without passengers!

Carb badly needs rebuilding (yes, it has a carburetor...).

General Comments:

I call it The Mighty Presea. 23 years old and still looks and runs great! Better looking than the newer Presea models, too!

Only real maintenance costs have been age-related (belts, hoses, brakes, tyres).

Not a spot of rust on it.

Always starts instantly and has never stalled. Runs well even with the dodgy carb (not good fuel economy), handles well and takes a beating!

Sits too low to the ground, and the roof is too low for me, but I'm probably just too big for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2013

18th May 2013, 01:50

I was unfair on the running costs, it's actually more like a 7/10 except for fuel economy (which is just 10k/l, gotta fix that carb). I've spent very little on it over 8 years!

1992 Nissan Presea CT II 1.6 from Singapore

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance227000 kilometres
Previous carNissan NIL

Summary:

Very reliable and low maintenance!

Faults:

Failure on the water pump.

General Comments:

This car still gives very good mileage

70% Highway/ 30%City - 12.5-14km/l

Highway - 14.5-16km/l

City - 11-13km/l.

When I first got the car the fuel consumption was very bad, below 9km/l, but after I did some maintenance by replacing the clutch plate and had the car tune up. it improved. Then I installed the grounding cables and did changed the standard spark plug cable to 8mm spark plug. And the mileage keep on going up! I also increased my type pressure by 10% to gain an extra km!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2005

1991 Nissan Presea R10 Blackstar 2.0P (sr20) from St. Vincent & the Grenadines

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0P (sr20) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 kilometres
Most recent distance114000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A high powered speed demon

Faults:

Viscous limited slip transmission gears started to slip and had to be replaced.

Changed the alternator after 75,000km.

Brake rotors were worn and had to be replaced at 100,000km.

Tires wear from the inside, even after alignment.

The air condition vents have melted.

General Comments:

Because of the limited slip differential, it handles in and out of the corners like a dream with little or no over-steer.

The sr20 engine is crazy, it has a really fast take off and burns mean rubber when shifting.

I have to get some 17" rims to change out the 15" that are on there right now, and also a Brembo brake upgrade as well as performance suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

1992 Nissan Presea CT II 1.8i from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8i Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Most recent distance184000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

A nice, sporty little sedan with a time-lasting design

Faults:

Nothing in particular, other than what one would expect from regular wear & tear. I have so far replaced the following and these were all carried out after 110000km; brake booster and disc's/calipers, a/c compressor, alternator, shock absorbers, steering stabilizer, radiator and front and rear engine mountings.

General Comments:

Lovely car with nice lines and a distinctive, different from the rest look. Engine is reliable and the 1.8 litre provides more than adequate power, even with 4 people in the car. With regards to handling, I have upgraded the shock absorbers to KONI and have also discarded the original 13" alloys in favour of racing 16" rims with 205/45 tires which provide for confident handling. Ride is not as comfortable though! Other positives include a very sporty dashboard layout and a host of advanced features, even for now!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2003

1992 Nissan Presea CT II 1.6 Auto from Singapore

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Auto Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A good, stylish and reliable car

Faults:

Nothing much went wrong, except for my clutch pads, due to wear and tear.

Interior panels were melted due to the hot weather here. Too expensive to replace them as you got to get them from the dealer itself.

General Comments:

Great car to own as its already quite stylish without a body kit.

Very comfortable leather seats.

Lowered suspensions make it a very reliable car for cornering.

However, the wheel covers spoil the whole look of the car, so I changed it into sport rims with 205 tires. Performs great with rainy days.

Slightly tinted windows add to its sporty look.

Definitely a car worth buying. Its just a pity that Nissan discontinued with this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

24th Feb 2003, 04:51

How much did you get it for?

22nd Oct 2006, 02:41

I have a 94 model Presea, but fuel consumption is pretty bad... It's auto and I get about 8 kmpl.. I've had two manual Preseas before and they were great.. But I hear that I can get more than 10 kmpl even from automatic transmission... What must I do to improve it's fuel efficiency?

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews