2000 Nissan Primera SE 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

One of Nissan's best

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car was leased to me for only a couple of years a long while back, but I managed to clock up a decent mileage in it. Nothing went wrong as expected with a nearly new car. Knew someone who had one long term (over 10 years) and nothing major went wrong other than general maintenance like oil changes and so on.

The 2000 model Primera was a slight update from the long running famous 90's model that was well known to be a good handling car, and this one was just as sharp to drive. Excellent road holding, and the 2.0 engine gave good performance while doing nearly 40 MPG.

Very comfortable to be in; the ride was slightly firm if I'm being really picky, but that was my only complaint. Light blue with alloy wheels and a good spec (electric windows, etc) on this Active model. One good looking car and when you still see some about to day it's hard to believe they are around 15 years old; still seems very modern and fresh.

In conclusion I would have another Primera in a heartbeat, but they did not make this one for long and updated it in 2002 I think to an all new model that was a drastic change cosmetically, which I did not like, but was apparently also a decent car. Would love another even today, Nissan should make the Primera again with a throwback to the 90s styling cues. The family saloon/hatchback is still going strong, so why did they discontinue the Primera back in 2006? Come on Nissan, make another!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2016

31st Oct 2016, 20:35

Just a quick note on my review, it was the SE spec not Activ (it was quite a while ago I had this car!) The 2.0 engine was not available on Activ spec if I recall. Mind you, it doesn't really matter, both are good engines and very similar in performance and interior options, really the only Primeras to avoid are the basic 1.6 S models.

2000 Nissan Primera S 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not reliable

Faults:

I do not like this car. It always breaks down and there is a breeze through the door handle.

General Comments:

Don't like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2009

16th Nov 2011, 10:14

Not a good review above.

Nissan Primera is a fantastic car!!

2000 Nissan Primera G-V 2.0 Neo VVL from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Nice car

Faults:

Well besides CVs, suspension arms, and brakes, it's quite hungry for tyres due to 200bhp attacking the front wheels; damn, I wish it had an LSD.

General Comments:

I got this car with a weird gearbox, CVT, never heard of it, but I was amazed, it revs straight to the engine's peak power; you look at the tach, and nothing's happening, and then check the speedo and you're passing 100-110-120.

This car has a black top version of the sr20, called sr20ve; amazing motor, spins past 5000rpm with the Tiptronic gears, and it goes berserk!

Acceleration off the line is superb, 0-100 is dealt with in under 8 seconds.

Seats are very nice, tinted windows, 4 airbags, half leather seats are quite European like.

I'm happy with this car, not many visits to the AA with this.

In 2002 I thought I was a handful with this Primera Wagon, now they're everywhere, every 10 cars, you count, 2-5 are Primeras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2008

2000 Nissan Primera Sport 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent all rounder

Faults:

Car was a bit sluggish when bought, but a new airflow sensor cured it. £300 from Nissan and £38.50 on eBay!

General Comments:

I've owned over 200 cars, and this is one of the best!

Very quiet and smooth on the road, and easy on fuel.

If you want a good car for little money, buy one and not a Laguna, Mondeo or Vectra!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2008

25th Jan 2010, 07:21

I love the Sport Primera, it's durable in Africa.

10th Oct 2010, 15:04

I recommend getting an original Bosch MAF (airflow meter). The ones on eBay don't work very well in my experience.

Original ones can be purchased reasonably cheaply, as they are refurbished and available on an exchange basis for about £80.

Some cars had a Hitachi MAF, which is much more reliable.

Bosch ones start to deteriorate at 60,000 miles, and the engine light comes on. This may fool you into thinking the oxygen sensor is faulty, but these are very reliable.

When fitting a new MAF, it may take the car a little while to settle down again, due to the car's computer adapting to the new values.