2000 Nissan Primera SE 1.8 SE from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Apart from the turning circle - A brilliant car

Faults:

When we bought it the aircon didn't work properly - It was a bodge repair - that took about £150 to address.

General Comments:

This is a great car to own and drive - My only gripe is the turning circle of the car is absolutely terrible - I own a 1995 Nissan Primera and I could turn it on a 5p! the new version just can't do the same thing! Unbeliveable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2007

2000 Nissan Primera GXE 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A great all rounder

Faults:

Slight knock from front left suspension. Will get it checked out at next service.

General Comments:

I wanted a car that looked refined yet sporty and wouldn't cost the earth to purchase.

I love the looks of this car, I was impressed with the quality of the finish.

The seats are really comfortable too and the car is a delight to drive.

The GXE model comes with a high degree of equipment, eg air bags, cd/tape player, 6 speaker stereo.

I like the attention to detail that Nissan puts into their cars. You can rest you hand on the transmission whilst adjusting the volume, and the petrol flap has a clip to stop the fuel cap from rolling away when re-fueling.

However, some bad points are that I find the turning circle a little wide, and performance is a little average from stop.

Also I had expected the car to perform a little better in the fuel economy department, this is not helped by the fact that 98 octane premium grade fuel is required.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

17th Feb 2007, 16:15

Hi there I have got a 1999 Primera Gxe and after having 1 I really learned to enjoy it. it's comfortable economical (get around 650k's to a tank) and its peppy. I definitely agree they are great cars.

13th Aug 2007, 18:12

Hi there; my wife has a 2001 GXE.

We were told by the dealer to use 98 (octane gasoline), but on the Japanese car catalog website, it was stated to use 91. With 98, the performance was reduced and the fuel economy was poor, but with 91 the car feels better. It can do 672kms for a full tank on 91, and a shocking 451kms on 98, but it is a great car; much better than my 2004 Mondeo, which frequently has problems.

21st Oct 2013, 22:35

My review update for the above car:

Still going strong after 270,000 km. 13 years old.

Body is very good, no rust. No paint discolouration.

No major problems apart from usual wear and tear items below.

Don't want to sell this car because it's so reliable, good body, looks almost as good as new when it's cleaned and polished.

Gets serviced once a year. Never needs anything doing to the engine.

Air conditioning still works well.

Chain driven, so doesn't need cam belt re-doing.

However, here are the wear and tear items over the past 10 years. In my opinion it's needed very minimal repairs over this period.

Has gone through two starter motors.

Rear shock absorbers.

Power steering and auto transmission fluid re-flushed.

Needed part of the radiator repairing.

Seems to have re-occurring brake issues, brake pads wear, calipers need adjusting, rotors skimming or replacing etc etc.

Needed new car alarm zappers, as the old ones wore out.

31st Jul 2014, 23:16

Thanks for your comments, The car runs really bad on 91 though. And can't run on bio fuel blends such as Gull over here in NZ. However, it needs a minimum of 95, not 98.

19th Aug 2014, 04:29

Thanks for your comments, The car runs really bad on 91 though. And can't run on bio fuel blends such as Gull over here in NZ. However, it needs a minimum of 95, not 98.

21st Oct 2015, 03:01

Same car, 310,000km.

Still going.

Just had rocker cover gasket replaced.

Right front control arm replaced.

Transmission needs a service; will probably get it done next year.

Still like the car, looked at changing it, but they all drive like stodge, and the CVT gearboxes on the new cars are awful!!!