1992 Nissan Pulsar Reviews

1992 Nissan Pulsar 2.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

A pocket rocket

Faults:

Turbo manifold gasket blew at 120,000 kilometres.

Gearbox became unreliable at 128,000 kilometres.

Tyre's wear very fast.

Extremely easy to break into (locked the keys in the car).

General Comments:

This car is very very fast and handles like its permanently stuck to the road.

Sounds awesome with an aftermarket exhaust.

Easy to drive.

However there are two major blind spots.

Gearbox feels stiff.

Very difficult to work on because of the lack of room in the compacted engine bay.

Looks awesome.

Has anti lock brakes and air conditioning.

Interior has a sporty/leisurely look about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

1992 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Street fighter turbo

Faults:

The most recent things that have gone wrong are: I had to have new brakes for the front & back, the hand brake needed sorting, and also a back rear off side caliper.

Now & then the ABS light keeps on coming on and off.

General Comments:

This is a beast from the east. 0-60 in 5.1 seconds, I call it a street fighter, it takes corner like there's no tomorrow. There are not many cars that can match the performances of a Pulsar. I love it when the turbo kicks in; it's like a mini version of a Skyline.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

1992 Nissan Pulsar SSS 2.0 lt from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 lt Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfetta GTV

Summary:

Pocket rocket - I love it

Faults:

Replaced front CV boots and steering rod boots at 50,000.

That's all folks!

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

I have improved the performance with cold air intake, pod filter, 4-2-1 headers, exhaust mods, better ignition components, advanced timing.

I have fitted strut braces (front & rear) ; new Koni shocks; thicker rear roll bar.

Improved brakes - new slotted rotors and ENDLESS pads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

1992 Nissan Pulsar sss 2.0 twin cam from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin cam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Quick young persons car

Faults:

Starter motor just failed

Air conditioner has seized

Clutch cable broke.

General Comments:

Great cruising car with ample power for the normal person.

Tyres can be very expensive to replace and wear out quick because of 'V' rating.

Back seat cramped for all, but children.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2002

17th Jul 2009, 06:19

A mate wants to drive it onto my Hilux. How much does it weigh?

1992 Nissan Pulsar SSS 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carNISSAN TRX

Faults:

Front rubber boots needs replacing

Loves tyres - especially those Bridgstone RE71's.

General Comments:

It is always fun to drive. You get in, and its saying to you, "OK let's go..."

Bought it as a demonstrator. Very few kilos per year. I change the oil every 4 months no matter who many kilos it does. I've fitted extractors, free-flow air filter, strut braces front and rear, stiffer reat bar and new shocks recently.

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

1992 Nissan Pulsar SSS 2.0 twin cam 16v from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin cam 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 kilometres
Most recent distance121000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Sherpa

Summary:

An absolute screamer that mum can drive to the shops

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, but it required a good service when I bought it, namely oil, plugs, filters etc.

Some *&$@$%%^ snapped the aerial off in the car park one day, so I now only have AM radio.

Wheel alignment.

General Comments:

This car is an absolute gem. A sports car in all but the number of doors, this little 5 door hatch is a total screamer on the road. Where to start...

The engine is the single best thing about this car. The SR20DE powered the Pulsar SSS and also the Silvia (Japan only). With twin camshaft, 16 valves and a redline at 7500rpm it puts out 105kw of power but also a big range of torque. Between 4-6000, this car pulls like a team of horses. And it sounds MAGNIFICENT! Add in low fuel usage (when you DON'T rev it all the time) and cheap parts, you have a great mix.

The gearbox is also a delight, nice and short, extremely precise, easy to use (even learners can use it), and durable. What can I say, I find myself changing gears just for the fun of it.

The handling is outstanding, it has firmer suspension and I believe it is a little lower than normal Pulsars. The steering is light-ish, but beautifully responsive and makes it easy to carve up the apex, or the old grandad in the Volvo 244.

It even looks good - front and rear spoiler, side skirts, foglights, sports steering wheel, alloy wheels etc are all standard. Some people modify their cars until you can hardly recognize the original, but I'm in love enough with this baby already. It will take most sports cars of its class and age (ie Integra, Prelude) from the lights and will carry 5 people in comfort.

As you may have guessed I think that this car is bloody unreal!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

15th Aug 2003, 01:01

I am loving it all! I own a '92 SSS and all of what has been said is so true!

I am lucky enough in that this is my first car! What an absolute hoot! An 18 year old girl having one of these beasts as her first car!

The steering is a treat, the way it handles is perfect and they look bloody good! What more could you want from a car?!

1992 Nissan Pulsar GTi Coupe 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla LX

Summary:

Perfect balance of performance and price

Faults:

CV boot covers needed replacing.

Brake pads replaced when I got it.

Transmission played up after 60000kms, but that was my fault, ran each gear to 7000+rpm ;)

Spoiler brake light stopped working around 30000kms.

High road noise.

General Comments:

Excelent car as long as the kms are low.

I thrashed it on a daily basis, and travelled about 400-500kms a week.

I got it with a modified exhaust which was surprisingly quiet.

Added a K&N panel type filter and a cold air feed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

28th Sep 2001, 21:55

Did the K&N filter add any noticeable power and do you think the after-market exhaust system has added any more power?

1992 Nissan Pulsar GTiR 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37410 miles
Most recent distance41345 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra 1.8 SRi

Summary:

The ultimate Japanese car

Faults:

Since purchasing this car as an import I have had no problems at all with the car.

This car is totally outrageous, I would recommend that if you have a spare £7,000 lying about that you go out and buy one of these mental machines.

The car is also supplied from the factory with a fairly high spec including air conditioning, umbrella holder, constant 4 wheel drive and lots of other goodies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews