1995 Nissan Pulsar LX Sedan 1.6L from Australia and New Zealand


Best value for money yet


Persistent rumbling/creaking/groaning noise from left-hand rear of the car that isn't wheel bearing related.

General Comments:

What can I say? This is by far and away the best car I have ever owned (4th vehicle) since obtaining my licence 13 years ago. The Pulsar I own is the very first of the N15 series, which is a fair bit larger and more appealing, I think, than the N14 it replaced.

After having countless problems with my old XF falcon prior to owning this vehicle I found this car a complete contrast in every conceivable way.

It has never once let me down. All maintenance I have had is purely preventative (ie. replacing fluids at correct intervals, battery, brake pads etc)

For a 1600cc engine it really is a superb performer (86kW with variable valve timing) and pulls strong and hard right through the rev range (redline 7000rpm).

The steering is just light enough to provide enough feedback as to what the front wheels are doing and it handles extremely well.

After doing nearly 100K since my ownership, it has worn exceptionally well given that I don't always just putt around! Oil consumption is basically nil between changes and the motor still performs as well as the day I bought it. The interior fabrics are easy to keep clean although I do use floor mats and quality sheepskin car seat covers for extra protection. The two-pack paint has remained lustrous and hasn't succumbed to the severe Australian sun as long as it is kept clean and waxed occasionally.

The only modification are the fitment of 14" alloy wheels with reasonably low profile high performance tyres which offer just that little extra traction and better handling characteristics. I have also had a quality dark window tint added for that extra touch of class (to match the charcoal grey colour) and once again to help combat the harsh Australian summers.

I have owned one other Nissan before (a 1984 Sunny sedan) which was also faultlessly reliable. Given this, I would have no hesitation in recommending or purchasing other Nissan vehicles in the future.

I know my current Pulsar certainly gets the thumbs-up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2003

10th Oct 2006, 08:02

Hey hey - me again. I STILL have the car. Just clocked over 250,000 trouble free kilometres. What an amazing car! Fixed the rumble with new gas shocks and springs. The only other things its needed were a starter motor and a clutch. That's it; apart from consumables (tyres, brake pads, battery etc). Still doesn't use really any oil and performs as well today as when I bought it over 7 years ago. Keep them regularly serviced and they will look after you.

No rust except a tiny spot I caught in the high level brake light in the boot and some paint fade evident on the roof now.

It's a shame it'll eventually wear out cause I'd keep it forever otherwise.

26th Oct 2006, 14:51

I just want to say that I love my 1984 Pulsar. It has way over 800,000 miles on it and does dirt roads and mountains great. Most people do not believe how old it is. One problem that I am having is with my brakes. I have to get some new rotors, for the 1st time. They have never been turned. Is this unusual? They seem to be using up brake pads this last five years. Excuse my ignorance on this subject. I do live in the mountains, but I use my gears instead of braking all of the time. My one owner car has been great! But, I am getting too old to sleep in it any more. It will always be ground sleeping from now on, rain or not.

12th Aug 2009, 14:31

How comfortable can one sleep in it? Can the back seats be pulled down to make long space for sleeping in the back?



1995 Nissan Pulsar LX 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand


Deceiving little car. Goes like stink; and goes and goes and goes..


Water leaks through the wind-screen on the passenger side. Attributable to replacement windscreen not being properly sealed.

Slight rumbling from the rear brake drums.

General Comments:

Excellent car both for performance, economy and comfort.

1.6 litre manual pulls extremely well - especially above 3,000 RPM.

Alloy wheels and low profile tyres have improved road holding and cornering ability.

Cabin is dark with mostly black trim; but I like it! Seat fabric is durable.

Car looks kinda ordinary. Nothing stand-outish about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

14th Apr 2006, 23:13

Update 15/4/2006.

I am the person who wrote the original review and still has the car. It now has 240,000 kilometres on it and continues to provide faultless motoring. Uses hardly any oil, starts first time and is still very economical. Mind you, I service it religiously every 10,000 and always use a fully synthetic motor oil.

It has since had a new starter motor and clutch (the others simply wore out!) and new gas shocks and springs which incidentally fixed the rear rumble at about 150,000. I have just had the injectors removed and cleaned, a new muffler and a couple of small oil weeps from the transmission taken care of in the last service to keep it in tip top condition. The paint on the roof is just now starting to fade a little even with regular waxing. After 11 years that isn't bad considering it’s a dark colour and the Australian sun is pretty unforgiving. I also found a very small lick of rust in the boot high level brake light which I dealt with.

I think I'll retire her soon (she's been my loyal work vehicle for 7 years now) and upgrade to something newer.

Definitely got my money's worth out of the car ($13,000 when I bought it) and can recommend them to anyone looking for a cheap reliable enjoyable form of transport!