2001 Nissan Pulsar Q Hatch 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Good value, solid small/med car

Faults:

Only faulty central locking actuators in all four doors. Involved a couple of visits to the dealer to rectify because fault was intermittent.

General Comments:

Dealer servicing has been fantastic and reasonably priced.

Would have liked lumber support for the drivers seat. Nissan added to the car when it was updated in 2003.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

21st Oct 2010, 00:59

My vehicle has been recalled numerous times. The paintwork is chipping away, despite the vehicle being garaged all its life and only used as a second family car. Seems to be a problem with this model vehicle.

17th Aug 2012, 04:53

I have owned one the same for the past 12 years, and have not had central locking problems as some have.

Definitely had problems with 3 panels around the rear of the hatch with paint peeling and chipping off.

Never had a more than reliable car, done 230,000 klms and still running strong. Serviced every 5000 klms myself, the only repairs done were radiator cleaned at 200,000 klm and new front brake pads (disks also, as I can't get the old ones machined here). That is it; absolutely nothing else.

I definitely love the Pulsar. The only thing is that the indicator stalk is on the LHS of the steering wheel (European design thing, which takes time to get used to). The sedan is normal, but didn't come with 4 wheel disks or dual airbags at the time.

2001 model didn't have ABS either, but later models had ABS.

If they still made the N16 pulsar Q hatch new, I would definitely buy another one.

16th Aug 2014, 09:00

I am really happy with the performance of my Nissan Pulsar 2001, however I have HUGE issues with the paintwork. There are a number of areas including the roof where the paint is simply peeling off back to bare metal. Need to investigate what can be done to fix this problem. Love the car, but crying over the paintwork.

2001 Nissan Pulsar ST 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

All round great package

Faults:

When we picked up the car there was a dint in the right door, Nissan fixed it immediately before we took ownership of the car.

Severe brake shudder at 29000, the brake had apparently warped while it was sitting in the hot Australian sun, Was Machined under Nissan warranty.

Nothing Else!!!

General Comments:

This car since we took ownership has been an absolute dream to drive.

The 1.8 motor is strong, and good in the city and around town.

We can average about 650 to 700kms on a 55 liter tank!!! along the highway and a little bit of city driving.

The seat are firm, yet very comfortable on long drives.

The cars is a little gem, radio and speaker system are fantastic for being a standard factory kit.

When my parents bought this car I was very uneasy about a pulsar, but since owning and driving it, my view has totally changed on the manufacture.

If you want a good car with good performance and feature for a great price, you gotta get yourself one of these.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2003

2001 Nissan Pulsar Q 1.8 Efi from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A real head turner!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I love Nissan Pulsar's. Regretfully my last Pulsar, a 1990 model, was written off in a car accident.

But I love my new one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2003

21st Jan 2014, 04:52

Hi there.

I recently bought a Nissan Pulsar 2001 1.8 Q series. The check engine light turned on. Has anyone had this problem? And how did you go about fixing it? Cheers.

2001 Nissan Pulsar ST 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A mini rice rocket

Faults:

Nothing, apart from the stock tires wearing out, but I do lots of burnouts!

General Comments:

This is a very nice car to scream around in or to cruise along the highway.

At first glance, it looks like a fairly ordinary grocery-getter, but on a Saturday night it's often seen smoking off old Falcons, hotted up Gemini's, Corollas and other such vehicles.

It has a simple, but nice interior, great air conditioning, low road noise and is great on fuel. I have thrashed it around for hours at a time, pulled in for fuel only to find I can't fit $10.00 in the tank after-wards.

My only complaint with this car (from a hoon's point of view) is that it is sprung too softly and is a little too high off the road, sometimes causing it to whip out the rear end under brakes and can generally give a feeling of instability at higher speeds. And, as mentioned before the stock tires are rubbish. Otherwise this is a great car and I would definitely buy another!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003