1997 Nissan Quest Reviews

1997 Nissan Quest GXE 3.0 liter from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Like the car, but not enough to re-build the engine

Faults:

My Nissan Quest burns oil at an alarming rate. Depending upon driving conditions, high speed is worst, it takes as much as one quart per 200 miles.

Compression tests revealed low compression of about 125 psi in all cylinders - wet/dry tests by shop concluded that it had worn rings. This is unacceptable for a costly, name brand Japanese car with < 100K miles.

No smoke is ever observed - the EGR system must recirculate the exhaust to the point where gases coming out are relatively clean. Catalytic converter probably red hot.

Fuel economy is bad. Best I have gotten is about 22-23; more typically 19-20 (all on highway) during steady 75 mph driving. This is unacceptable compared to other minivans like Dodge Caravan and Pontiac Montana.

General Comments:

I suspect the engine was run a lot in the past while very low on oil. The dipstick is almost impossible to read and requires a very trained technique of careful wiping and measuring several times. The only sure way to tell how much oil it has in it is to drain it and measure its volume, almost always down considerably. I put Motor Honey in it - helps some.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2004

20th Mar 2005, 02:46

Japanese on the outside, but all FORD on the inside. You pretty much got a Mercury Villager, except with the Nissan label.

2nd Apr 2005, 07:39

If the Quest and the Villager are twins, I thought it was made by Nissan.

2nd Apr 2005, 10:59

Yes, it is correct, that both the Quest and the Villager are made by Nissan, problems and all. The first comment is incorrect. Of course, the actual Ford minivans (i.e. the Windstar) are no gems by a long shot... I owned a '95. But, Nissan's are not immune to problems either. Any notions suggesting otherwise is just hype.

9th Feb 2006, 21:30

From what I've heard, the body and assembly was done by Ford in North America, but the engine and electronics were all Nissan. Usually the VG engines in the 19-00 generation minivans are bulletproof. (The newer 2004+ use the VQ)

8th Aug 2008, 13:06

I was wondering if anyone had the problem of being able to shift out of gear while the accessories (battery) is turned on??.. The manual specifically states that the transmission is designed to prevent that, but my van does it.

1997 Nissan Quest 3.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carToyota TOYOTA

Summary:

Reliable good handling van

Faults:

First of all the dealer is not good... big suprise there! Lucky I do my own work on my cars.

The front rotor on the driver side seems to be wobbly, not warped, but its okay until I replace it.

Not bad overall.

General Comments:

I like the way it drives and handles the road.

The only thing I don't like are the seats, they are somewhat narrow and hard, the back leg room could be more as it is a van and they could make them slide back more.

It is a great van and will last us many years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2004

1997 Nissan Quest XE 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Great van but beware!

Faults:

Steering problems rack and pinion changed.

Brakes 3 master cylinder changed.

Brakes still giving problems.

Dealer refused to cover the 3rd master cylinder, but did.

General Comments:

This is a great vehicle. Comfortable, I love the seating change overs, ie into table or bed.

But there is dark side, the brakes fail slowly, then after a month you have no brakes at all.

Even now the brakes are spongy.

The steering is the other major issue, I changed a rack and pinion already.

The dealers are at a loss with the brake problem, even Nissan's tech support can't find the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

21st Jan 2004, 11:01

Brakes...Brakes...Brakes! My 1999 Quest has been a great vehicle except for the brakes. First set lasted for 32,000 miles, 2nd set went for 16,000 miles, 3rd set (Nissan replaced at no charge...thanks) for 8,000 miles, 4th set went 15,000 miles, just put the 5th set on. Also, is there a set of tires out there that will get me more than 22,000 miles on them before needing to be replaced? No, I do not race this thing around on the short track.

10th Apr 2005, 19:02

Got a '97 Quest GXE. It got about 180,000 miles. It will start after jump starting the battery. Runs okay, but problem comes when I turned off the engine or turned the ac on, the van just quit running. Jump started it again, the van starts good, same thing happened again when I cut the engine and restart it again, or when it was still running, and I will turn the ac on, van will just quit.

Anyone got the same problem? Any input is highly appreciated. Thanks.

4th Oct 2005, 21:50

Looks like your battery is completely useless and the generator is pretty shot, too.

Change both.

1997 Nissan Quest XE 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39800 miles
Most recent distance41500 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Okay, if the brake problem gets solved. I have my doubts

Faults:

I have taken this van back to the dealer three times for squeaky brakes and a squeaky steering wheel. I just picked it up from the dealer earlier this afternoon, after they PROMISED to fix the squeaks, and the brakes still squeak. They tell me it is normal. Bologna.

General Comments:

Great van, except for the BRAKES!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

12th Feb 2001, 13:13

It can be normal because of the hard materials they use nowadays, the brake pads aren't made of asbestos anymore.

16th Feb 2001, 12:43

I had new pads put in my car, they squeak also. I just learned to live with it.

9th Mar 2005, 17:21

Get your cv boots, tie-rod ens, and steering boots checked and replaced, mine had squeaking, but after I replaced these, it stopped completely, also check you wheel bearings.

25th Mar 2005, 09:56

I am having problems with the truck door. I have replaced the mechanism that controls the door from locking and unlock ing 3 times and it will work for a few months then break down again. What can I do to permanently repair this problem.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews