1987 Nissan Sentra GXL 4 Cylinder from North America

Summary:

Good car, comfortable, and semi-reliable

Faults:

When I bought it, it had a bad tire an that got replace, but then since that one got replaced an the other front one didn't it pulls to the left. An now it keeps trying to stall right after you start it. It starts and then it stalls unless you put it into gear and start off right away. Not too bad of a problem though.

General Comments:

It's good car for the most part. I put a brand new stereo in it and it's handled that pretty well. I just have the speakers in the back, but they work awesome. For the most part it's a pretty good car. If I had a choice I would probably buy it again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2004

1987 Nissan Sentra XE Hatchback 1.7L from North America

Summary:

The best car I've ever owned

Faults:

Failed smog a couple of times; after replacing oxygen sensor, was up to tip-top condition.

5th gear went out at 105k miles.

General Comments:

This was by far the BEST car I have ever owned. It was my first car which I purchased in 12/1990 for $6224.25. I couldn't have asked for a better car.

All I had to do was put gas in it, give it an oil change every 8-10k miles (!) and it did the rest.

I wish I never gave this car away - it was in decent condition when I parted from it. It has 165k miles on it and could have probably gone another 50-75k miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

27th May 2004, 08:58

I too Own one of these cars. I agree that it was the best car I have ever owned. It currently rolled over onto 200K miles. And its still Kicking. It's a GREAT car!

29th Jan 2005, 11:25

I also have a Sentra 160 GL the car is reliable, but the gearbox problems are making it difficult to maintain it on the road. 5th gear bail out every 50 000 if not the housing of the gearbox breaks where it holds the back mounting.I live in south Africa

20th Apr 2005, 15:25

I own a 87' Sentra and it sure is reliable. It has over 900k miles, never replaced the clutch or fixed the trans and the car still wants more road. It has it's problems, despite being very old... it still runs and handles great.

1987 Nissan Sentra Hatchback 1.6L from North America

Summary:

The car that got away from me

Faults:

The spring in the ignition broke so I had to turn the key back manually after starting the vehicle.

The brakes barely worked when I sold it.

The rear fluid squirter was missing when I bought the vehicle.

The passenger side window mechanism broke and I had to prop it up with a zip tie.

The front struts were in horrible shape.

The vehicle had a bad oil leak.

General Comments:

I am actually regretting having sold that car. It had its problems, but it was actually a great car.

I sold the vehicle before I had the opportunity to drive it in the snow, so I don't know how it handles in the winter.

I got amazing gas mileage with that vehicle, roughly 35mpg and about 300 miles out of 3/4 of a tank.

The car didn't have a lot of starting power or speed when going up hills.

The car had only minor problems which could have easily been fixed, but I was too stupid to do so.

It had an amazing amount of space in the back. I fit a lot of my belongings into the back of it. I was even able to take my boss's laundry into town (there was a lot of it).

It could turn circles around a lot of others cars.

Given the chance, the car probably could have lasted me for another 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

1987 Nissan Sentra Sport Coupe 1.6 L4 from North America

Summary:

Maybe just a lemon

Faults:

Replaced Motor at 90k, when I got it.

Since then.

Replaced Flywheel 3 Times.

Replaced Transmission twice.

Speedometer broke.

Headlights burnt out.

Power Steering Unit Broke.

The seats sides are falling off.

Seatbelt clips both broke.

Replaced Front Pads and Disc's.

Shocks and Struts all-around had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The Car feels extremely nimble.

Ever since I have purchased the car, it had 90,000 km on it. I have had continuously put money into it. Every week something new goes. Possibly it was a lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2003

29th Mar 2004, 23:24

Replaced Flywheel 3 Times.

Replaced Transmission twice.

Speedometer broke.

Sounds like you either can't drive a manual car, or you are just really abusive/rough on the car. The only way for the flywheel to be screwed up is overheating it, which only happens when you slip the clutch all the time.