1987 Nissan Sentra XE Sport Coupe 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Very fun economic car

Faults:

The previous owner replaced the head gasket and did a bad job and I ended up having to replace the timing belt and tensioner. The clutch cable broke at around 190,000 miles. I replaced the tranny cause 5th gear went out and I also replaced the clutch then at about 180,000 miles. Recently the Tach died at about 220,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have done many mods to the interior of the car to make it more comfy to include power locks mirrors, and variable wipers and a different center console. All these mods have been from other Nissan's from junk yards. I have had little complaints with the car still get close to 33mpg on the hi-way and the high 20's in town. The interior is holding up real well except for one rear seat belt that dose not like to pull out. All in all a real good car for the 700 dollars I paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2006

1987 Nissan Sentra 4-Door Hatchback from North America

Summary:

Great around town car with good gas mileage

Faults:

Rear windshield wiper has never worked.

Hatch release has never worked.

Head gasket blew at 55,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought it in 2002 for $1,250 after it had been poorly stored for seven years. It needed new fuel lines and carburetor, but has run great ever since.

I sold it in 2004 and bought a Dodge Dakota. I've since sold the Dakota and was able to buy the Sentra back. 30 mpg beats 17 mpg any day.

As long as my knees hold out (I'm 6'3") I'll keep driving my Sentra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

1987 Nissan Sentra Sport Coupe XE 1.6L E16 from North America

Summary:

35mpg unique looks and great handling

Faults:

5th Gear failed along with the clutch and clutch cable at 200,000.

Timing belt tensioner failed at 180,000 miles, but I think it was due to poor work performed by the last owner.

All four struts are now bad and the rear springs have weakened this is a trate of the B12 Sentra 220,000 miles.

Normal to low wear and tear on interior.

General Comments:

This car is great handles well for a near 20 year old import, with minor mods it will handle as good as a Mustang GT.

I have done many factory upgrades from the Pulsar of the same year range.

I would recommend this car to anyone I enjoy driving it and modding it as it is a rarer car and cheap to improve I am currently searching for another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2005

19th Mar 2007, 14:31

If your car is a B12 Sentra, then it is the 1987-1990 model. The 1982-1986 Sentra was known as the B11.

1987 Nissan Sentra from North America

Summary:

My Sentra didn't like the broken timing belt

Faults:

The following was due to my own negligence! Inspection recommended I change timing belt (about $200 Can).

Timing belt broke at 180000km. Valve damage seized cylinder head.

Took out cylinder head myself and had it professionally rebuilt ($450)...no use! The car must have suffered some other trauma, because it burnt oil like crazy after replacing cylinder head.

General Comments:

I originally purchased the car used for $1500.

Probably the best car I ever had. Incredibly reliable even in the -30C to -40C Canadian winters without being plugged in.

Though, I still managed to get $500 for the car, I kick myself to this day for not taking car of a true gem!

That's the reason for the sad, blue face!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2004

1987 Nissan Sentra 1.6L from North America

Summary:

The best of all the rest

Faults:

I had to replace the alternator after 18 years of faithful use, @214000 miles.

I had to replace the LED in the distributor @ 214000 miles of faithful use.

General Comments:

This car has started every-time I have went to use it and has never ever let me down.

The gas mileage is up in the 40 mpg and it still does not use any oil between my faithful oil changes every 3000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2004

1987 Nissan Sentra XE 1.6 from North America

Summary:

The little car that just won't quit

Faults:

Front fenders are rusty.

General Comments:

I owned this 87 Sentra from the time it was new until 1996, when I gave it to my mother in law. Between 1996 and 2004 it was seriously neglected with rare oil changes, limited maintenance, etc. My mother in law passed away January of 2004 and the car was given back to me.

With a tune up, oil change and some minor work, the car runs like new. It always starts, it still shifts great, and has no problem keeping up with freeway speed traffic. Fuel economy is excellent at nearly 40mpg. I currently drive it 75 miles round trip to work a couple times a week for the economy.

I was afraid that I would be junking the car when I got it back, but it runs so good and is so dependable that I'll keep it around for a cheap spare until it does finally die-if it ever does. It has very few extras, but provides exceptional basic (and cheap) transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2004