1993 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1993 Nissan Sentra XE 1.6L in-line 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L in-line 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles

Summary:

An efficient car that is quite fun to drive

Faults:

The only problem with my Sentra is that the idling has become somewhat unreliable.

General Comments:

The Sentra is an excellent bargain for anyone who wants an economy car that is also pleasing to drive.

Reliability is above average, with only the expected part replacements.

The 1.6L 4 cylinder is a peppy little engine that has both performance and efficiency.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2001

1993 Nissan Sentra EX 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

My next used car will be a Nissan

Faults:

My alternator needed to be replaced in 1998.

My starter went in 1999.

I just found that oil pan gasket is leaking slightly (2001).

General Comments:

This has been the best car I have ever owned, when it comes to reliability and performance.

The car is still responsive and has good engine acceleration, even with 205,000 miles on it.

I have owned the car since 1994 and intend to see if I can get 1,000,000 miles out of it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2001

5th Jan 2003, 09:37

I am looking at a 1993 Sentra with 147,000 miles on it - has had a/c renovated to handle new type anti-freeze - -new brakes, alternator - - debating due to mileage -

1993 Nissan Sentra XE 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It is good if you buy it new

Faults:

Since I bought it, had to replace the alternator after about 3 months of owning the car. Had to be a Nissan part because the engine and battery light stay on if you don't use a Nissan alternator - $400.00.

Then at 106,000 miles I had to put front brakes on, and also the CV boots were rotted and I had to replace those in the front. Total cost $700.00 by Midas.

Right now car is leaking oil from the back of the pan it looks like. Not sure what that is going to cost me.

Next time I will buy my Nissan brand new. I think Honda make a better car for now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

12th Jun 2001, 19:19

Are you sure it's your oil pan? That's what I thought, but it was the pulley seal that had to be changed.

C.V. boots cost me 100$ each side.

I have a 92 Sentra.

30th Aug 2001, 19:05

Are you guys talking about CV joints, or just the boots? CV joints should only cost around $100-150 each to replace. The boots should cost significantly less than that! Well, Midas is the king of rip offs, all that he touches on your car turns to gold - in his pocket!

1993 Nissan Sentra SE-R 2.0 liter 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter 4-cylinder
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

- Just fixed a broken engine mount that made the car groan when in gear and not accelerating.

- Car has trouble finding idle on cold mornings.

- Some rust spots on paint.

- Moldings around doors and windows come loose a lot.

- Radio knobs are temperamental; fresh/recirc air control sticks.

- Brakes squeak (although that's probably my fault).

Engine and transmission have generally been great.

General Comments:

65,000 miles on the car.

Very fun to drive, reliable, a little aggravating but no worse than any other 6-year-old non-garage-kept car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 1999

8th Apr 2001, 22:55

I need information about the 1993 Nissan Sentra b13 XE sensor specifications. Could somebody please tell where I can find this information (on the web if possible)?

11th Jul 2002, 22:30

Don't you be talking about the sentra!

I have a 93 Sentra with 138,000 miles on it and counting.. I drive the car about 700 miles/week and it's the ONLY car under my household that I truly trust... I also own a 1996 Pontiac Grand AM GT (with the Quad 4...) and the clutch slave cylinder already busted.. and of course the genius engineers at GM had to install it inside the transmission so you have to take it out to replace it.. among a list of problems of course... conclusion - never buy a GM!

...in any case this review is about the Sentra...

So far I've replaced common and expected things such as the alternator and water pump... I replaced the struts only because I wanted to... the AC is still stock with absolutely no leaks or problems.. the 1.6L engine from Nissan is a marble when it comes to reliability.. A truly incredible car.

1993 Nissan Sentra XE from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

I have had no major problems with my car since my drive off the lot and I bought it used (23,000 miles in like '95 or '96). She's still running good.

General Comments:

I would recommend the Nissan, mostly any make, to those interested. It's a reliable car. If I get the chance, I plan to buy another Nissan. It's been great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

10th Jan 2013, 03:45

I own a 1993 Nissan Sentra SE. This is by far the best car I have ever owned. This car has never let me down, and I have owned it for 18 years with minimal parts replaced. They just do not make cars like this anymore.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 35 reviews