2004 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2004 Nissan Sentra SER Spec V 2.5 Liter from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter Manual
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carmazda B4000

Summary:

Its quick and nimble, fun all around!

Faults:

So far I have not had any problems with my car, I have only owned it for about 8 months now. within the last month when I have been driving and approaching a stop light I will push in the clutch and when the car idles down it will sometimes die. I have no idea what causes this problem, it will start right back up and drive fine afterwards. no Check Engine light has come on. and also I noticed that when I started to use synthetic oil it eats about 1 quart of oil every 3000 miles or so. I don't have any major concerns yet. I love the car its great!

General Comments:

I love everything about this car! inside and out its perfect!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2006

2004 Nissan Sentra 1.8S from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles

Summary:

Car has been reliable, good economy sedan

Faults:

Left front headlight bulb assembly is broken causing the light to go out. I fixed it with some wire ties.

General Comments:

The 1.8S Sentra is an Econobox. Frankly, so are the SER and SpecV... only with some extra stuff to slightly improve performance.

I bought the Sentra for my daily commute and because it was inexpensive. I drive 110 miles roundtrip each day. The car has proven reliable through the first 50K miles, hopefully it will remain so. Fuel economy on the highway is consistent at 34 mpg, the manual shift probably helps.

The car is pretty light (about 2500 pounds) so it's fairly nimble around the turns. That combined with the stick shift makes the car relatively quick for an entry level, economy sedan. Cabin is fairly noisy. The car's suspension is surprisingly poor given how much you feel the bumps. Interior is cheap looking. Reasonably good trunk space.

Not a performance car though I'm sure some people are dumping money into it adding pointless modifications. Good family / stuff hauler at low price. Cheap interior makes it baby friendly. Invisible car, nobody will notice you going down the highway.

I'd recommend it to families on a budget, college students, and individuals like me that prefer to spend their money on second and third cars / toys and leave the winter slop commuting to something inexpensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

4th Oct 2007, 10:29

I agree. I'm 18 years old and this is my 5th car, I think its actually a great car, not as nice as my others, but its newer and when I bought it it had 54000 miles on it, and with my 110 mile a day commute to work its up to 58500 in just a month!

13th Jul 2008, 23:58

I have a 2004 Sentra 1.8S. The car is fairly good except that it hesitatingly starts many times and I'm averaging only 20.5 mpg in the city. Maybe a tune-up will improve gas mileage somewhat. I'm concerned though what it will cost me to replace a fuel pump on this vehicle.

2004 Nissan Sentra spec-v qr25de from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission qr25de Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Very enjoyable if you like to DRIVE, very quick for the price if you take charge

Faults:

Headlights, foglights were aimed high. At 30K miles, rattles developed in driver side front door, somewhere in the back, front anti-sway bar rubber bushing failed.

General Comments:

A bit hard to get to know, from a performance standpoint, as it's charachteristics are different at different speeds. Continues to trash cars that are far more expensive if you don't mind taking a strong hand--

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2005

2004 Nissan Sentra 1.8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance2400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

This car sucks

Faults:

Bought my Sentra in Aug. of 2004.

After 2000 miles, I noticed an issue with it trying to stall. I took it to the dealer 3 times, and they kept telling me that they could not find anything wrong.

Finally the fourth time I took it in, they finally agreed that it was a known issue with the fuel pumps and they replaced it.

Now 2 weeks later it would not go anywhere when I put it in drive. This time they tell me it is the throttle casing, and it is going to take a week to fix. What is going with Nissan? I thought it was going to be a good car. I will think again next time I go to get one.

General Comments:

The dealers seam to be trying to cover up the issues. The only reason the dealer gave me a rent a car is because they know I was selected for a survey on the last job they did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th September, 2005

12th Sep 2005, 13:10

Hi, I have never heard of a dealer doing that to any body. all I know is that I have a 2002 Nissan Sentra GXE. I bought it at 27000 miles on it. and now I have 88000. I have never had to replace any thing on the car.

14th Oct 2005, 09:43

I had a 1995 Nissan Sentra that went 130,000 miles with no major repairs (in fact, I was able to sell it and it is still going strong). Based on that experience I bought a 2004 Nissan Sentra. I am having a similar stalling problem to what you described. When I brought it to the dealer for a recall with another problem, they also mentioned a known fuel pump issue. That said, I later received a call that said they were replacing my starter as a fix for the problem. I'm concerned that I also am being misled as I don't think the starter was responsible. Dealership has had my car since Tues, it is Fri and I still have yet to hear if the work on my car is done. I believe this is the last Nissan for me.

23rd Feb 2007, 22:27

Hey Sentra owners, they are made in Mexico, what do you expect??

20th Apr 2007, 09:33

I also had a 2004 Nissan Sentra that was nothing but a hunk of junk. As for the comment about the dealer trying to cover something up, if you read up on this stuff, Nissan dealers have been known to do this (as most dealers probably do). We have a Nissan dealership in North Georgia that is notorious for this type of thing.

3rd May 2007, 09:45

This disturbing trend in Nissan dealerships isn't new news. My father purchased a "new" Nissan Altima in 1996. We were told that the car was brand new, yet after just a few weeks we discovered signs of previous wear. As it turns out, that particular vehicle was the "demo" that they let people test drive and poke and prod; yet they sold it to us indicating that it was a "brand new, straight-out-of-the-factory" car.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 27 reviews