2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec V from North America - Comments

25th Jul 2007, 01:04

Yes my trunk leaks too!!! I have a 2002 Nissan Sentra ser specV, and I'm hearing this knocking sound in my engine when I rev it; I dunno what it is. I'm thinking of getting an aftermarket header for it (to fix the header-cat thing).

30th Jul 2007, 15:15

I purchased a 2002 Nissan Sentra SER spec V over a year ago, and have had problems almost immediately. The first problem was with the computer. According the technician at the Nissan dealer the computer had malfunctioned and had to be replaced. They replaced the computer at no cost.

Not long after that the car would not start. We thought it was the battery so we replaced the battery. That didn’t help so I had it towed the shop. The mechanic told us that it was the crank sensor and replaced the crank sensor (no warranty).

We are now experiencing what the mechanic called “limp” mode. While the car is in motion the throttle goes to idle and has almost caused us be involved in a wreck several times. I now have the car scheduled to go back to the Nissan shop for evaluation. Oh yea by the way the mechanics cannot figure out why this is happening, they think throttle sensor, computer or even a ground.

So now I have to pay the mechanic to pull the code, which he cannot be sure if he can fix. No I will have to pay Nissan again to pull the code and repair. I love Nissan products, but I’m starting to have my doubts.

19th Aug 2007, 20:32

I am finding out now why this car has so many bad reviews. After looking at all of your reviews it has dawned on me that I didn't just buy a "lemon". I am having all of the same problems listed above, I have already gone through one engine that was replaced at 106 000 kms due to excessive oil consumption, and now with only 46 000 kms on the new engine it is still going through 2 quarts between oil changes. I am also experiencing what has been described above as stalling and power failure when the car should be idling. Has anyone found a fix for this? Why has Nissan ignored all of these reviews?

6th Sep 2007, 19:57

I have also encountered problems with stalling and power failure in my 2002 Sentra. It started three weeks ago (I have almost 65,000 miles on the car - good condition, regularly maintained) and I have brought it to two independent shops and the Nissan dealership twice. I brought it to the Nissan dealership for the first time three weeks ago and after leaving it there for a few days, they told me that they couldn't find a thing. I then went to pick up the car and drove it for a day and a half before the problems started again. After bringing it to another shop that also told me they couldn't figure the problem out, it was towed back to Nissan last week and has been there since. Two days ago they told me that the mass airflow sensor is to blame and they promised me the part would be delivered and replaced first thing today. Sad to say that I still don't have the car back as the part that was delivered today was "bad". Even sadder is that they did not call me right away to advise me of this problem, it was only until I called them about an hour before they closed to check in on the car that they let me know. They tell me they will get a new part in on Saturday - I'm keeping my fingers crossed. I have never had a problem with the Sentra until now, but it's safe to say I won't own another Nissan.

8th Sep 2007, 10:28

I own a 2002 Spec V and I also have had the same problem, but I found out that the two major problems causing the stalling and power loss are the mass airflow sensor and the throttle position sensor. I also replaced the header with an after market one; OBX Racing, 150 bucks. The car is running better than when I got it.

No other problems have come up.

Oh yeah, replacement of both sensors was very expansive as the car was no longer under warranty.

14th Sep 2007, 18:42

Hi people, I also am a Spec V owner, and have never had any problems with my baby. My car is mint, and daily I drive it hard; every gear redlines and she does me proud.

The problem is how you drive them.

1st Nov 2007, 18:19

I bought a 04 sentra ser spec v back in may. Two days after I got it I noticed the "service engine soon" light was on. I took it to the lot I got it from, they diagnosed it as an idle problem- the idle bounces around between 750 and 1250 rpm. Interstingly the light went off and the idle was normal for about day when I left the lights on and killed the battery and had to get a jump. This is the only problem I have had.

3rd Nov 2007, 11:31

I have a 1994 Nissan Sunny, and it has gone 290000km. It has the same engine, and I have fixed the transmission only once. It drives like a brand new car. I will part company with her with a heavy heart.

28th Nov 2007, 17:18

Most recent issue was supposedly my fuel pump making whining noise that started when cold temperatures began again. They replaced the fuel pump and cleaned injectors, and I still have a whine.

My SER Spec V is on the second engine. Engine one blew a head gasket and was replaced. Then they found the oil consumption problem and replaced the engine under warranty.

I have had one alternator go, starter motor, CD deck.

Light on new in dash head unit is out again. Some of my speakers cut out only when I listen to the in dash CD changer. The speakers are fine when I'm playing the single Cd deck or radio.

I blow headlight bulbs more frequently than I should, and I do handle them correctly upon installation.

My tailgate leaks. Weather stripping on the driver side lets a bit of water in as well.

My seat belt grommet comes off every time I have them replace it. The seat belt tensioners don't work right.

Sport cloth seats stain too easily, even with rain water that has run off my jacket. The side of the seat has worn badly.

Could my fuel pump problem actually be an electrical problem that is causing the fuel pump to fail? Could it be the ECM, which now has another recall on it?

Even my floor mats were recalled.

The thing is paid off and has 82,000 miles on it. Maybe 15,000 on engine 2. It is no longer under warranty. Am I playing Russian roulette with it at this point? I would really like a mid size truck as my next vehicle, and like the looks of the Frontier, but I don't know if I can do another Nissan. It's a shame cause I do enjoy driving my car, when it's not in the shop.

7th Jan 2008, 08:13

I bought a 2002 Nissan Sentra and it is by far the worst car I've ever owned. I bought it used, but certified from a respectable dealer, which shouldn't matter either way as Nissan's are supposed to be good cars. I currently have about 113,000 miles on it. Around 75,000, I had to replace the brakes, which is no big deal, as it's normal wear and tear. Since then, I've had the rotors replaced, brakes replaced (again), battery replaced, alternator replaced (twice) and I just recently had a head gasket replaced, which cost me $850. There are more repairs that I've had to have done, but I've lost count. This morning, the service engine light came on, again, and I have no idea why. I've put more money into this car than it's worth and I'm fed up. I'm having it looked at tomorrow, so we'll see what the damage is this time. I know for sure that I will never, ever purchase another Nissan.