1998 Nissan Serena Reviews

1998 Nissan Serena Wagon 2.0 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres

Summary:

This Nissan Serena wagon has been great so far, very happy

Faults:

Nothing so far, it's been a great wagon. No problems.

General Comments:

This Wagon gets up and goes if you put your foot down. It handles really well in all conditions, it's comfortable and very well appointed inside.

I carry works of art in the back, plenty of room for carrying all sorts of gear, plenty of room for the family with comfort in the back.

My only complaint is getting hold of a service manual for this 2.0 ltr diesel turbo Serena wagon import.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th March, 2010

21st Mar 2010, 04:17

Having owned one of these vans in the past, I would recommend not straining the motor ie putting your foot down and revving the hell out of the motor.

Due to their weight, these vans are underpowered and most diesels tend to die between 150000 and 200000 kms, due to overheating and wear, which leads to a blown head gasket and cracked head.

Do yourself a favour and 1. Replace oil and radiator fluid regularly and 2. Don't strain the motor unnecessarily!!

1998 Nissan Serena Excursion 2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2 Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good family car

Faults:

The timing chain has snapped. I am trying to find someone who has had the same problem as it is proving very expensive. The dealership have confirmed this is rare in such low mileage.

General Comments:

The gear box is stiff, I struggle to get into first gear when pulling up at junctions.

The rear sliding doors are stiff. My teenage children struggle to shut them.

The stitching in the rear seats came undone and I had to sew them up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

13th Dec 2012, 11:30

I have had the Serena and the Vanette, and they have both been the same. WD-40 the gearbox rods, leave them a couple of days, this will work the old grease out, and then re-grease the rods. Don't be shy; you grease them up as far as you can. Stuff the grease on all the joints. This worked for me on the Serena, but the Vanette stayed a little stiff. They are quite stiff anyway unfortunately ;)

1998 Nissan Serena 2.0 Auto 2.0 Auto from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Auto Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance39000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

A true Multi-Purpose Vehicle for a normal man in the street

Faults:

Not at this moment.

General Comments:

Bad things: The cabin is very noisy due to the mid-mounted engine. You can even feel the heat from the bottom of front seats. Sound insulation is also very bad. The car is too heavy for a 2 liter engine. Acceleration is very poor. The car is also too high if compared to other MPV's causing it to be very unstable during windy day. Petrol consumption is high (8.6 km/liter). The suspension system is very bouncy.

Good things: Cheapest MPV in town in the same category. Suitable for big family. Middle row passenger seats are comfortable if compared to saloons. Large leg room and head room if compared to saloons. It can even fit a bicycle if the third row seats are folded. The kids like the large windows very much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

1998 Nissan Serena occasion 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good looking van

Faults:

New battery at 71.000 miles.

Split exhaust system at 73.000 miles.

Burst radiator at 75.000.

General Comments:

This vehicle is great with the 8 seats, the kids and bags go in great for the holidays. However, it is very slow and just want's to slide acoss the road. A bit of wind and you don't need the weather man to tell you. Mid mounted engine allows you to keep a check on any unwanted noise, you can hear it all. It looks good and is good for parking, I like my Serena, but has too many down falls on some important needs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2002

10th Jun 2003, 10:22

I recently purchased a 98 Serena and I think it quite a bargain, given it shortfall such as noise and speed it has a comfortable cockpit compared to the tow-nace, lite ace however it tends to move sluggish at time overall I think it's a good vehicle.

I really would like to find a manual (English) for my my Serena 1998, 2000cc, Deisel.

1998 Nissan Serena GX 2.3 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

You get what you pay for!

Faults:

Nothing! As anticipated this boring M.P.V has proved to be 100% reliable.

General Comments:

If you're stone deaf and have a fear of speed, then this is the vehicle for you!

Like most van based M.P.V's the Serena is a compromise, sure it's going to be ultra reliable. It's going to take 8 people and the dog! And all their luggage and it won't moan once, but you will!

Once you get used to the wheels locking up in wet, icy (and dry) conditions it becomes apparent it's the only bit of fun you're going to have with the Serena!

One more thing, stay away from hills!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

5th Dec 2010, 13:21

I owned a Serena, and I definitely wouldn't say it was "100% boringly reliable", it was reliable, but I didn't find it boring.

The engine is a pig to service, with checking oil and water only possible by taking up the passenger seat. The rear brake pipes are very prone to rotting, and could do with being better protection from the road sludge and water.

I would give it a smiley face though.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews