1999 Nissan Skyline Reviews

1999 Nissan Skyline GT-R 33 V spec 2.6 Lt twin turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.6 Lt twin turbo Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

Car of the decade

Faults:

The car recently suffered from a miss-fire at 7200 rpm, but this has been solved by putting a set of cold-running protected tip plugs. These were £40.00 each (needed 6).

General Comments:

Pure driving pleasure.

These cars are like drugs; you just keep coming back for more.

The best performing and handling super car for the money, I should know I also own a 996 and still the skyline wins every day!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

5th Apr 2006, 20:46

Yes, I own a 2001 Mustang Bullitt edition GT, and lately I've been looking for one of the Japanese super-cars (Supra, Skyline,3000GT VR4,RX-7, and 300zx TT) I have a hard time picking one that I can afford, in fact I'm not even sure I can by a skyline in America, for under 80,000$ I was wondering if you had any insight on how and where I could attain a Skyline, or if I can't is the supra TT as good as people say?

3rd Jun 2012, 08:47

A Toyota Supra is a bit thirsty on fuel and a bit heavy, but if you don't mind that, it's an awesome car!

1999 Nissan Skyline GTR Vspec 2 V6 Twin turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Very nice car

Faults:

Turbo blew at 90000 Km.

Gages are in Japanses

General Comments:

I love this car and would not sell it for all the money in the world.

Not worth bringing the car from Japan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

9th Sep 2004, 01:17

The skyline GTR-v spec is really excellent. The best Japanese auto that I have seen drag. It has the luxury and sport in one monster machine. Since it blew the turbo at 90000 it doesn't mean that it ain't worth it. For myself, I think it can't be beaten unless your running a euro vehicle.

1999 Nissan Skyline GT-R 2.6 twin turbo from Thailand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.6 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired106 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carFerrari F355 F1

Summary:

Godzilla!!!

Faults:

None mechanically. The front bumper is pushed down by the wind at high speed (270 km/h is common for me), it's now sitting about 1 cm lower.

General Comments:

Great car. I have added a few aftermarket parts to gain more power. And now it has 377.5 hp to the wheels. This is achieved without playing with ECU or boost control at all, just exhaust, front pipe, air intake, no cat, and big intercooler. Very impressive handling, but the ride is too rough for Thai streets. The brakes are a bit weak for a car this heavy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

7th Jun 2001, 03:45

Two questions - how much did it cost (cars are very over priced in Thailand) and where did you get the money?

15th Dec 2001, 17:36

It's a deity's car. I have never seen the super car like this before.

Greater than Ferrari and Lamborghini.

30th Jul 2003, 05:57

Next question is are you sure you actually owned one, as they come with Brembo disc's and the GT-T has highly uprated brakes as well. One other question, I love Skylines, they are the nicest cars I have had the pleasure to drive, but why the hell would you go from a Ferrari 355 F1 to a £60'000 car??? That makes no sense. If you had the money to buy a Ferrari, surely you could also buy the Skyline too???

17th Feb 2004, 05:06

I owned a GTR R34 V-Spec 1999. I can afford a Ferrari, but would rather buy another 2 GTRs. Seriously, you don't know how good this car is until you have the pleasure of driving in it. The other comparable performance car is the Porsche 911 Twin, but we are talking about twice the price for like.5 sec from 0-100. I was at the lights next to a beautiful yellow F355 Spyder Convertible and guess which car the padestrian was checking out??? Give you a clue, not the bright yellow Ferrari, but the dark mysterious beast next to it. I rest my case on that experience alone.

19th Mar 2004, 18:55

Good to know someones doing it!

16th May 2004, 18:30

DANG, that thing is FAST.

5th Apr 2006, 17:20

Aren't these beauty beasts illegal in the u.s?

8th May 2008, 17:41

No they are legal in the US but I think importing them is a lot harder than the UK.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 3 reviews