1992 Nissan Stanza Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1992 Nissan Stanza LX from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This Nissan was trouble from the day we purchased it used

Faults:

The distributor cap had to be replaced.

It started leaking oil badly.

It finally blew a rod.

General Comments:

This car started having problems from the day we got it. Every day my husband would come home with more bad news about the car's performance. It was a nightmare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2002

8th Aug 2002, 19:36

How was this vehicle maintained? I am currently running a 1984 Sentra and it gets 70 miles a day and has yet to let me down. I am a firm believer in preventative maintenance. I liked your review yet feel that more detail was needed regarding listing exactly what went wrong with your vehicle.

1992 Nissan Stanza SE from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance235000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Very good family car for the price

Faults:

Only two things: I had to replace a rear shock at 180 000km. I also had a problem with the fuel pump: some corrosion on the electrical contacts caused short-circuits (blown fuses). But since the fuel pump is very easy to access on this car, it was a snap to repair.

General Comments:

By far the best car I have ever had. At 235 000 km, it still doesn't burn a drop of oil between changes.

All accessories, including air conditioning, are still working.

I paid 7000$ CAN in 1996, and I'm sure I still could get at least 2000$ CAN for it. But it's not for sale: it still rides so well, I paid 1100$ CAN last summer for a new paint job.

I'm confident this car will go beyond 300 000 km easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2002

1992 Nissan Stanza SE ? from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission ? Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired166000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

An imposter posing as a great reliable car waiting to give you a serious headache

Faults:

Tranny suddenly went while driving normally up a hill. No warning, it just popped and now will not go into gear. Tranny needs replacing apparently.

Also, motor mounts are going and the engine is sagging.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

1992 Nissan Stanza SE 2.4 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A good, dependable, and sporty car!

Faults:

Only problem is a light skipping sometimes when driving at high RPM. Still haven't figured out the problem.

Other than that, no problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

This car has performed great and has never left me stranded. It's been all over the country and is still running strong. I have had no major mechanical problems while owning the car. Just your basic routine maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

15th May 2001, 08:20

I have a 1992 Nissan Stanza XE and I think it is a great car. The engine is smooth and the transmission shifts flawlessly (automatic). And Ferrari style exhaust note at high 5800 rpm just adds to the excitement.

30th May 2001, 21:38

I have a 92 Nissan Stanza 5-speed. It's the best car I've ever had. I haven't had a major problems with it yet. It has 225,000 miles and still running strong.

30th May 2002, 07:09

Hi I also live in Montreal.

My wife has owned a 1991 5 speed Stanza since 1993. Have also observed skipping problem at highway speed for many years. Problem was resolved in 1996 by changing a faulty speedometer. Problem resolved for a couple of years. Then skip reappeared. Was not speedometer this time - still allusive. Like the car's power, had low maintenance cost until 2000 - under $500 per year. After that tensioner for timing chain failed causing $2200 in engine repairs. Had it rustproof once when we purchased it in 1993. Only cosmetic rusting has occurred since. No structural rusting problems noted. Presently 220K kilometers and slight stiffness in shifting when engine reaches operating temperature. Will check that out.

6th Oct 2003, 13:34

I own a 1992 Nissan Stanza, (Standard Gear). I have had a very heavy skipping problem for the past 6 years. Since that time, I heard many solutions for this problem, including changing the fuel line, fuel pump, or speedometer.

I have, in addition to the skipping, also been without a speedometer for the past 5 years. So I will try changing it and see what happens. Wish me luck!!! :)

7th Oct 2004, 18:38

Hi I live in Mexico, I did have a 1992 Nissan stanza GXE 5 speed, black color, 2.4 engine, my car was beautiful, but the city where I live has a hot dry weather, that was scratching the paint with time passing, and I sold it, yeah, I sold it!,now I regret for that, I'm a really jerk!,I hope have another stanza GXE 5 speed, and, when that happens, I'll gonna make, the most powerful and beautiful stanza never made before.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 18 reviews